IGNORED

Dropping the Driver

Opoponax

After my 15+ year hiatus from the game, I decided that when I started playing that I was finally going to learn how to hit driver. My game has steadily improved, but over the past three weeks/rounds, I've kept track of my shots when a hole goes wrong. For example, I'll write down "T" on the scorecard when my tee shot goes awry. I'll write down "A7" for a bad approach shot with a 7 iron, etc. 

I've now gathered enough "T's" to absolutely confirm that the driver is 75% of my woes. I may duff a shot with an iron and I may skull a wedge over a green, but only very rarely is one of those shots catastrophic to the hole (e.g., leads to a triple bogey). But when it comes to using driver, nearly every lost ball can be attributed to a spirit crushing slice or pull OB. 

Then there's my 7 wood. I don't know why I hit it so well. Maybe it fits my eye, my swing---whatever. It's the most rock solid reliable club in the bag and I can hit it 200-210 pretty reliably (and why does my F&$#*(g driver only go 230???). And I hit my 5 wood off the deck just as far, if not consistently farther than driver (and much more reliably). 

I want to just leave my driver home next time I go out, but it feels like accepting defeat. I also bought the damn thing just 5 weeks ago (Callaway ST Max) and so yeah... there's that. 

Anyone else play without a driver? 

Edited by Opoponax
Grammar

They call it golf because the other four-letter words were taken. – Ray Floyd

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

If it is causing the much issued, then it could be a good idea to take it out of the bag until you learn how to hit the driver better. You could start a My Swing thread and post your driver swing. 

• Thumbs Up 1

Matt Dougherty, P.E.
 fasdfa dfdsaf 

What's in My Bag
Driver; :pxg: 0311 Gen 5,  3-Wood: 
:titleist: 917h3 ,  Hybrid:  :titleist: 915 2-Hybrid,  Irons: Sub 70 TAIII Fordged