IGNORED

Playing Golf with Progressive Focus Glasses

NuclearMike
Note: This thread is 3855 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

A little background:  I gave up golf for personal reasons about 12 years ago and came back to the game three years back.  When I left I was playing to a 10 and wore single vision glasses.  I got no-line bifocals during my time away and didn't think anything of it when I started playing again.  Ever since my return I've had trouble hitting my irons on the sweet spot, but I hit my longer clubs (Hybrids, 3W, and Driver) really well, especially when compared to the irons.  I had a thought a couple of weeks while at the range ago that maybe since I'm focusing on the back of the ball at address using different parts of the lens for the longer vs. shorter clubs that somehow my perception of ball position using the lower part of the lens might be slightly skewed, causing me to hit a lot of irons toward the toe instead of on the sweet spot.  I pulled out my old single vision glasses (the prescription is still good), went to the range, and found that I continued to hit my longer clubs well but experienced a vast improvement in contact with my irons.  I searched "bifocals" on the forums and didn't find that anyone else had made any comments about playing golf with them.  Has anyone else had any similar experiences?  I'm playing tomorrow morning and can't wait to see what happens!

I can't wear mine and play golf.  I just rough it with distance vision glasses.  I can read the score card if I lift my glasses up.

Scott

Titleist, Edel, Scotty Cameron Putter, Snell - AimPoint - Evolvr - MirrorVision

My Swing Thread

boogielicious - Adjective describing the perfect surf wave

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

• Administrator