Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
iacas

2015 Masters Discussion Thread

Note: This thread is 1645 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

1,928 posts / 57959 viewsLast Reply

Recommended Posts

Want to hide this ad? Register for free today!

Woods is on the 5th hole.  Not much of a source I guess.


How dare you doubt someone who says he has a "well connected" source at Augusta !!! B-)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Nearly Tiger with one at the eighth, too

I joked while watching that it was probably a microcosm of the Jack / Tiger debate for a lot of people. Jack gets it and Tiger is juuuuuuuuust short.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

http://www.masters.com/en_US/scores/par3contest/

Final scores of the Par 3.  Looks like Streelman beat Villegas in a playoff. It shows Villegas with an X on the third playoff hole, so I don't know if he just conceded or tanked it or what??

Also, Villegas had TWO holes in one today!!  Nice! :beer:

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Pressure hitting a shot at The Masters: 1

Niall Horan singer with One-Direction who performs in front of millions: 0

Golf wins, Golf is hard

I guarantee there is pressure.  I've performed in front of hundreds and was nervous as hell.  You just get in the groove once the show starts.  Friends of mine have performed in front of 80,000.

That being said, Golf is harder! :-D

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

http://www.masters.com/en_US/scores/par3contest/

Final scores of the Par 3.  Looks like Streelman beat Villegas in a playoff. It shows Villegas with an X on the third playoff hole, so I don't know if he just conceded or tanked it or what??

Also, Villegas had TWO holes in one today!!  Nice!

He hit it in the water on the 8th hole.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

The Masters.com website has some magnificent photos of each hole and flyovers.

A great resource, especially if you are a newcomer to our game. :-)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The Masters.com website has some magnificent photos of each hole and flyovers.

A great resource, especially if you are a newcomer to our game. :-)

Wow, that is magnificent!  Thanks!

I've known about and used the website for a few years now ... but almost exclusively to watch coverage of the tournament on Thursday and Friday.  I have not perused enough, obviously.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I have had a few people ask me, so…

I promise to try not to get Tiger Woods DQed or a two-stroke penalty this year as I did a few years ago.

But I'm only promising to try .

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I have had a few people ask me, so… I promise to try not to get Tiger Woods DQed or a two-stroke penalty this year as I did a few years ago. But I'm only promising to try .

Erik, that day I could have shanked you with a sharpened prison issue toothbrush after that stunt of yours...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I have had a few people ask me, so… I promise to try not to get Tiger Woods DQed or a two-stroke penalty this year as I did a few years ago. But I'm only promising to try .

There is an article on golf.com saying it was David Eger. And GolfDigest. Was there another transgression?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have had a few people ask me, so…

I promise to try not to get Tiger Woods DQed or a two-stroke penalty this year as I did a few years ago.

But I'm only promising to try.

Did you call in a violation?

Or did you try to get him DQed for getting advice by yelling "Get in the hole!"?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

There is an article on golf.com saying it was David Eger. And GolfDigest.

Was there another transgression?

David Eger called during play. He was responsible for the initial "ruling" that occurred without consulting Tiger.

I was the one responsible for the addition of the two-stroke penalty when Tiger admitted to having dropped behind intentionally.

Timeline:

  1. Tiger hits flagstick.
  2. Eger calls.
  3. Rules officials supposedly make "no penalty" ruling without talking to Tiger.
  4. Tiger talks in post-round interview.
  5. I tweet/Facebook/message/call some people. First person to do it.
  6. It gains steam. Admittedly I helped a bit with that. I wanted Tiger to win, but not by getting away with something.
  7. Nantz and Nobilo mention the growing controversy in their nightly recap.
  8. Tiger's called back to the course early Saturday and is assessed a two-stroke penalty.

Did you call in a violation?

No. I tweeted it. Posted it to Facebook. And shared the link with a few people, including some golf writers, some rules officials working at Augusta, and… let's just say it went from there.

This is all verifiable, but… it's also old news now. Those who remember it having happened have asked me not to do it again this year. I'll try. :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I love the Live from the Masters commercial with that pretty ass music and recent year highlights.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

David Eger called during play. He was responsible for the initial "ruling" that occurred without consulting Tiger.

I was the one responsible for the addition of the two-stroke penalty when Tiger admitted to having dropped behind intentionally.

Timeline:

Tiger hits flagstick.

Eger calls.

Rules officials supposedly make "no penalty" ruling without talking to Tiger.

Tiger talks in post-round interview.

I tweet/Facebook/message/call some people. First person to do it.

It gains steam. Admittedly I helped a bit with that. I wanted Tiger to win, but not by getting away with something.

Nantz and Nobilo mention the growing controversy in their nightly recap.

Tiger's called back to the course early Saturday and is assessed a two-stroke penalty.

No. I tweeted it. Posted it to Facebook. And shared the link with a few people, including some golf writers, some rules officials working at Augusta, and… let's just say it went from there.

This is all verifiable, but… it's also old news now. Those who remember it having happened have asked me not to do it again this year. I'll try. :)

That's funny; that thread, I believe, was how I found this site and lurked for a while.

So you're responsible for two calamities!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

It was actually in the live chat. I remember it vividly. I thought he was gonna get DQed entirely.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades


Thanks for clearing that up, Erik. I wasn't aware of the full chronology. Interesting. :-)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Note: This thread is 1645 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  



×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...