Jump to content
IGNORED

2015 WGC Cadillac Match Play Inside the Ropes Pics and Videos


Note: This thread is 2276 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

That's really not much of a sample size.

Well those are his "Match Play" stats...which are all I'm referring to.

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Replies 185
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Popular Posts

GROUP 1 Rory McIlroy def. Jason Dufner, 5 & 4 Dufner matched McIlroy's birdie on the first hole Wednesday but that's about the only positive thing that happened for the American

Maybe it's me and I've missed something extraordinary but how does Anirban Lahiri get to 34 in the world? Something must be screwy with the OWGR.

Front nine 1st Hole 2nd Hole

Well those are his "Match Play" stats...which are all I'm referring to.

I understand.  I'm just not sure we can draw too many conclusions from such a small sample size.

Link to post
Share on other sites

RYDER CUP EXPERIENCE Years Played: 2012 Total Matches: 4 Career Ryder Cup Record (W-L-H): 3-1-0 Singles (W-L-H): 0-1-0 Foursomes (W-L-H): 2-0-0 Fourballs (W-L-H): 1-0-0 Total Points Won: 3 Total Points Won Point %: .75 There it is. Well, most play isn't match play on the tour. WGC, Ryder and Presidents. It's a special beast and Keegan's record is not a winning one on his own. Dump him.
Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

But I agree that Jiminez didn't need to tell Pepsi to shut up. It seemed body language was showing Jiminez was trying to settle it but Keegan was still heated. Didn't help that Keegan had just lost either...of course he didn't have a playing partner to help him win...was one on one...so Keegan should be used to losing.
Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

If they're going to keep the same format for next year, the biggest piece of advice I would give them is to re-seed after the first round. This Match Play is so unbalanced right now it's not right. You've got one side filled with stars and the other side filled with duds. McIlroy should not be playing Matsuyama in one match while friggin Leishman is playing Grace or whoever the heck he's playing. They need to re-seed based on WGR.

This is the typical tennis schedule (despite from the group matches). If all the highest seed players won their group, it would be seed nr 1 vs seed nr 16, seed nr 2 against seed nr 15, seed nr 3 against seed nr 14 etc etc. Re-seeding (basically because of some good results of lower seeds) would be one of the unfairest things you could do in my opinion.

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

The weekend is here, as predicted the final 16 majority made up of players from outside the USA, 11-5 still predict that one of the European guys will take the spoils. Dark horse will be Hideki Matsuyama, his back nine have been outstanding, Rory will need to be on his game. Two others to watch will be Paul Casey and Louis Ooshtuisen both have good match play records.

Link to post
Share on other sites

I actually played a round with Keegan's caddy. Really nice guy. A bit surprised that he seems to have lost his cool. But then again, if anyone tells me to shut up, I'll lose my cool too. But as someone said, Jimenez's first language being NOT English might have something to do with his use/choice of the word without that being the intent.
Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Bradley just lost my respect. They both could have handled things better but Keegan really crossed the line when he took the threatening, in your face stance. Big baby and a poor loser. Miguel should have popped him in the chops.
Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Many seem to miss the point that the perhaps the caddy should have just remained zipped.

Two tour pro's are trashing it out, a professional caddy would know best to remain a bystander, unless his boss came to blows, of course.

Not saying what Jimenez did was classy by any means, but....for a guy whose first language isn't English, maybe 'shut up' was the best way he could say 'hey, you stay out of this one, pal'

Just sayin....

Ray

Link to post
Share on other sites

Many seem to miss the point that the perhaps the caddy should have just remained zipped.

Two tour pro's are trashing it out, a professional caddy would know best to remain a bystander, unless his boss came to blows, of course.

Not saying what Jimenez did was classy by any means, but....for a guy whose first language isn't English, maybe 'shut up' was the best way he could say 'hey, you stay out of this one, pal'

Just sayin....

Ray

Agree. The caddy should have zero to say in the matter. There is a rules official and Keegan to do the talking. And I also agree that its possible MAJ just didn't come up with the right choice of words due to his limited English vocabulary. But for whatever the reasons..........they both parties come off looking like jerks.

Link to post
Share on other sites

Agree. The caddy should have zero to say in the matter. There is a rules official and Keegan to do the talking. And I also agree that its possible MAJ just didn't come up with the right choice of words due to his limited English vocabulary. But for whatever the reasons..........they both parties come off looking like jerks.

Agree with all that. Bradley and Hale came off as bigger jerks IMO because of the way they acted after the round when Jiminez was trying to talk to them. Very, very poor sportsmanship in my opinion.

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Let look at the Keegan Bradly and Miguel Jimenez Incident.(This is from a view of playing golf for over 50 years and know just a little about protocol on the Course)

1. First Bradley caddie had no right to step in on the conversation between the players on the drop( caddies are caddies they carry the bag full stop)

2. Miguel had every right to question the drop even with a official present and giving a ruling.

3 The discussion should be between the players and official, caddies need to remain in the back ground and not put there 2 cents worth in. (Caddies are payed employees not rule officials)

4. Bradley need to realise in match play your opponent has the right to question a decision by officials and also give his interpretation of what he thinks is correct even if his view is incorrect. In the end the official rule will stand but a constructive discussion is valid.

5.Bradley attitude defiantly need to be questioned, and his caddie need to take stock of his actions,* some* younger people today have no peer respect.

My view, this type of incident has no place in the game of golf.

Link to post
Share on other sites

  • Moderator

Quote:

Originally Posted by MSDOGS1976

Agree. The caddy should have zero to say in the matter. There is a rules official and Keegan to do the talking. And I also agree that its possible MAJ just didn't come up with the right choice of words due to his limited English vocabulary. But for whatever the reasons..........they both parties come off looking like jerks.

Agree with all that. Bradley and Hale came off as bigger jerks IMO because of the way they acted after the round when Jiminez was trying to talk to them. Very, very poor sportsmanship in my opinion.


Bradley regretted it and stated so.  But MAJ instigated it and I thought handled it poorly to start. He came off as arrogant.  I saw it live.  I think he was doing a bit of gamesmanship and it got out of hand.

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

It's natural to act defensive when another person tells you or your caddy to shutup. Miguel was in the wrong for saying that, Keegan shouldn't have got in his face and his caddy should've stayed out of the entire thing. Of course MAJ is allowed to challenge his opponents drop or have input but you just don't see it very often. All in all it made for some excitement and Todd Lewis from GC looked like he was a kid at a candy shop talking about it. Kinda wish Todd Lewis would've been punched out if it were going to blows...
Link to post
Share on other sites

Note: This thread is 2276 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • Support TST Affiliates

    TourStriker PlaneMate
    Golfer's Journal
    Whoop
    SuperSpeed
    FlightScope Mevo
    Use the code "iacas" for 10% off Mevo and the code "iacasjun21" for 10% off SuperSpeed.
  • Posts

    • If I am understanding this correctly, I've been able to, for over two and a half years now, move stones in bunkers, as long as doing so doesn't move my ball, same as I can do on the fairway or in the rough?   I either missed this entirely or forgot about it.   
    • It was explained to me that they wanted people to remove stones, but not to give them so much freedom that they  could just go messing about willy nilly and moving their ball. So, what they came up with did that.
    • Previously the LR caused a stone to be treated like a MO in all respects. Now the rule doesn't.  Why not?  Why shouldn't the Rule simply deem a stone in a bunker as either a LI or treat it by Rule as one? A safety conscious player could incur a penalty for being safe about a stone but not a walnut. 
    • This argument is like saying that someone who wins the first two games in a best of three competition hasn't won because there were two rounds and not three.
  • Today's Birthdays

    1. 3putt71
      3putt71
      (64 years old)
    2. cdutra40
      cdutra40
      (22 years old)
    3. Doovy
      Doovy
      (27 years old)
    4. JLeeWildcat9
      JLeeWildcat9
      (35 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...