IGNORED

Irons for a 6-handicapper...

Note: This thread is 2732 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Hi guys,

I'm a 6-handicap (floating between 5 and 6 for a few years now) although being honest my long game is more like a 8/9-handicap. I've been using Callaway Big Bertha irons for about 10 years (big chunky heads on them) and am looking to buy some second-hand irons. I've always had an eye for Titleist irons - anyone have a recommendation? I hit a 5-iron 175, hit the ball pretty consistently so I don't think I need the heads I have at the moment. Would appreciate any advice!

Thanks

Check out the MB 710,712 & 714's. They are not new so you should be able to get them at a fair price.  I hit the 712's while out looking for some Mizunos and liked them.

Driver: :callaway: Diablo
Woods: :callaway: Big Bertha 2 & 4
Irons: Miura MC 102's 3 - PW & Mizuno MP 67's 3 - W
Wedges: :mizuno: MP-R12 52* & 58*
Putters: :ping: WRX Ti4

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Titl AP2s... are great sticks. You shouldn't have trouble finding a gently used set. BTW, checkout last years Callaway XR Pros or APEX Pros. Not chunky and a super hot face.  

Vishal S.

Another AP-2 vote.  Great sticks.

In David's bag....

Driver: Titleist 910 D-3;  9.5* Diamana Kai'li
3-Wood: Titleist 910F;  15* Diamana Kai'li
Hybrids: Titleist 910H 19* and 21* Diamana Kai'li
Irons: Titleist 695cb 5-Pw

Wedges: Scratch 51-11 TNC grind, Vokey SM-5's;  56-14 F grind and 60-11 K grind
Putter: Scotty Cameron Kombi S
Ball: ProV1

I love and highly recommend my AP2's but it seems like you might be a better fit for AP1's for your long game.

"My ball is on top of a rock in the hazard, do I get some sort of relief?"

I'm happy with my AP-2 714 irons.  I'm using the KBS Tour shaft, it launches a little higher than the Dynamic Golf shafts did when I tried them.