IGNORED

Losing the (U.S. Open) Course vs. Courses We Play

millsan1
Note: This thread is 2129 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

I am new to the sport, so please excuse me if this questions is out of bounds.  I believe it belongs in this forum.

Like many, I watched the US Open.  Caught a lot of Thur and Friday and all Saturday and Sunday.

As we all know, some players and fans, etc were complaining about course conditions on Saturday being too hard and Sunday being too easy.

My question is a simple one.  Why do the pros, who make a very comfortable living playing a game, deserve to have extra special perfect conditions to play the game?

When any of us go out and play a round, or a league or a tournament, we expect that we will have to play the course as it is in front of us.  I assume the vast majority of us are playing for fun, a couple bucks and a little prestige at best.

I have a little BS 9 hole course by me that I love to play.  One of the greens is horrible.  Hole always uphill, in the corner, with a serious downhill slope.  If you miss by more than 6", the ball is going to run at least 20 feet away.  And you know what?  I play the hole.  It is what it is.

Edited by millsan1

Always remember, the same country that invented golf and called it a game, invented bag pipes and called it music.

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

There's a big difference between playing the course as it's set up on an everyday round, and when the USGA changes the course to increase difficulty for the players. Sometimes they go overboard, like they did on Saturday. There shouldn't even be a debate about that as they admitted the course got away from them and they regretted at least one pin position.

KICK THE FLIP!!

In the bag:
:srixon: Z355

:callaway: XR16 3 Wood
:tmade: Aeroburner 19* 3 hybrid