26 posts / 1707 viewsLast Reply

Hi everyone, my first post on the site so please be gentle!!!  I've been struggling with consistency for years, good ball striking one minute and a complete novice hacking and shanking the next, so had a lesson a few weeks ago where after some work on backswing and posture it was pointed out that I'm not getting my weight onto my front leg after impact.   We altered my set up a touch with more weight on my lead leg at address and the results have been staggering, straight or slight draw iron shots out of the middle of the club and after 3 weeks playing and practice my iron and hybrid play is much improved and far more consistent.  However I'm still struggling to get my weight forward when using my driver and distance has dropped off in past 6 months.  I've a couple of questions to ask

1. Does anyone else set up with more weight on left side at address and how does it work for you?

2. How can I get my weight transferred with my driver, would narrowing my stance help?

thanks

Geraint

Want to hide this ad? Register for free today!

Hi,

Welcome to TST.  We're glad to have you.

I definitely favor my front side and have gotten down as low as 12.2 doing so.  "Weight forward" at impact is certainly a commonality among all good swings, and I'm just now aiming to work towards fixing it. 

I'm not sure how much I can help you with the driver piece.  Do you want to make a "My swing" thread with video?  Either I, or probably someone who knows more than I do, could try to help you from there. 

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Even though it is still extremely important I’d say that the driver is one of the clubs that benefits the least from getting the weight forward at impact.

Edited by Grizvok

On 6/15/2019 at 6:55 AM, Grizvok said:

Even though it is still extremely important I’d say that the driver is one of the clubs that benefits the least from getting the weight forward at impact.