@dennyjones - Kind of rules question, but also a common practice and Grint question regarding casual play...
I entered a 45 yesterday that included a 5 on hole 12 that was played outside the rules of golf. The par 4 had a handicap of 14 and my course HC for nine is 7. That's where I came up with par +1 for the score.
(For the record, I hate doing this because it doesn't make any sense. It just feels like I'm either not understanding the steps, or I'm cheating, or at the very least vanity capping. I should have gone back to the tee and played the hole correctly, but I think this is what folks do to maintain place of play and keep an accurate HC.)
For stroke play, I wrote a 9 on my scorecard because I'd hit my first tee shot right and then hit a provisional that looked to be in play. My partner and I found the 2nd tee shot but it was just beyond the out of bounds marker. I decided to play it Instead of going back to the tee and added another two strokes meaning I was laying 5 at that point.
On casual rounds, do you ever play a hole outside the rules of golf for the purpose of pace of play and then follow this procedure? If so, how do you enter that into Grint? I believe you use your phone so I'm not sure how that works. The Grint also has a feature that allows you to submit a photo of your scorecard.