Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
That is Good

Any whiffers here?

19 posts in this topic

I'm a whiffer, not very often, but when it happens I count the stroke.

My whiffs take place when my backswing or vision is restricted by some sort of vegetation at ground level or low hanging tree branches. It stinks, but I count it.

Recently I witnessed a player in our group (he's in the rough with nothing in the way) take a couple of practice swings, then steps up to the ball; grounds the club; hesitates before taking a swing and whiffs.

Without missing a beat, he takes two more real quick practice swings and then hits the ball.

Scores are announced as we walk off the green and he neglected to include his whiff as a stroke.

He knows better. I do not understand.

My partner saw it happen also, we let it slide and still won our match.

So anyways... I'm a counting whiffer!

How about you... do you know any whiffers?

Have you ever whiffed & if so, do you count it?

And if you have the courage to admit you do not count it, please explain why.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Sign up (or log in) today! It's free (and you won't see this ad anymore)!

Sign up (or log in) today! It's free (and you won't see this ad anymore)!

If you are intending to strike the ball, and you miss, it is definitely a stroke, and needs to be counted. I don't remember the last time I have ever whiffed at a shot. It must have been when I first started playing or I had way too many beers on the course that day ;) My wife still whiffs at the ball occasionally. She would probably like to not count the stroke, but I make her. The wife and I play in organized couples scrambles a few times a year. I'll hit my tee shot and then we move up to the ladies tees for hers. On occasion she will swing 'for the fences' and miss completely. At that point, I tell her to just pick up, as that already counts as 1, and we are playing my ball no matter what (as long as its in play). You don't have to count a stroke if you accidentally strike the ball on a practice swing, but a whiff counts as a stroke if you are trying to hit it.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I've never swung and completely missed but there have been plenty of times that would have been an improvement over the shot I hit.

I have accidentally hit the ball with a practice swing enough to move it. In fact I've done that several times until I finally learned to stay away from the ball with practice swings. On the tee it doesn't make much difference because it doesn't count as a stroke but I've also done it on chip shots where it was a one stroke penalty I and had to replace the ball.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I haven't totally missed as an adult, but one time I did swing and hit the too of the ball driving the tee straight into the ground with the ball just sitting on top!
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I can't remember the last time I whiffed it was probably 15-16 years ago but I'd guess the majority of people at some point have whiffed. Everyone at one point was a beginner and had the struggles that beginners have when they start playing. Now there are the few who just naturally pick up the game quickly and may not have experienced the pain as much as the majority of people starting out.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Never whiffed ever love any game where you strike another object so have always had good hand eye. Although I have hit every bad swing in the book. Very first round on a proper course hit 4 high cuts in a row over the trees and out of bounds. Also hit some shanks for a short bit. I detest thinning it I would rather hit it fat because I can't stand that horrible feeling in your hands when you catch the leading edge.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I've whiffed a couple times in recent memory. It's happened in the midst of a very bad round when nothing is working. Embarrassing for sure, but I counted the strokes.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yes, count the stroke.  My last whiff was attempting to hit a ball in the back of a steep walled bunker.  Had to hit almost vertically to contact the ball and hopefully scoot it into a better spot in the bunker.  Hit the ground which deflected the club and the rest was history (and 1 more stroke).  Like the OP, my whiffs occur when attempting a difficult shot with an obstructed swing.  In tournament play I usually go the conservative route and take a drop, hit sideways, etc ...  There are times during casual play that I just have to see if I can pull the shot off.

Which brings us to the next issue, when a competitor whiffs and refuses to acknowledge it.  The OP described the classic process: careful preparation, couple of tentative practice swings, settle in over the ball, make a violent swing missing everything, then proceed like THAT was just another practice swing.  I typically will ask, after the competitor finally hits the ball, "What just happened there?"  The honest ones say they whiffed before I have to ask the question or answer that they whiffed.  Others act like "What do you mean" and I just shrug my shoulders and move on.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I have slid wedges completely under a ball before. Just happened last week. Sucked because it led to a double.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

If by "whiff", you mean take a full swing and never even touch the ball, then the answer is yes....

......just about every time I hit a shot out of a green-side bunker.   And yep, I count the stroke.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I can hit it fat, can top the ball, but not whiff. Once tried to hit a drive 400 yards at hole 18 playing a +100 round and whiffed. Stopped counting at hole 12.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

A couple of years ago I made a clean whiff with the driver and the ball sitting on a tee.  I couldn't believe it.  I looked at the ball, then at the club head, then back at the ball.  I was in total shock. Prior to that I really can't remember my last whiff.

P.S.  My buddies got a lot of mileage out of it.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

When my daughter was in high school, she entered a local golf tournament. On the fourth hole she drove into a ditch but had a chance to put the next shot back in play. As I watched she made a great swing, hit the ball onto the green and two putted for par. - Or, so I thought.

When I saw her on the next tee I said, "Nice par."

She replied, "No, dad, I made a 5. I whiffed a shot."

By watching her play the hole, I am convinced that no one would have ever known. I was a very proud dad.

3

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I only ever did it once & it was with driver off a tee.   Can't explain it - total lapse of focus on teh ball perhaps.    Nothing more embarrasing I've experienced in golf ...

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I had a little worse than a whiff during last years member/guest. I will use the excuse that it was about our 24th hole of the day and there were 12+ beers in me.

Basically on my whiff the ball dropped right in front of the tee - making my partner not all that happy since we were playing modified alternate shot that round.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Was playing with a buddy who was going out for the first time in 3 years today. It was a par 3 best ball scramble converted from a regular course. He took a whiff it barely grazed the top of the ball, didn't move and he asked if we count that. I let him know that it counts and his next shot won't count but to go for practice anyway.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Maybe your buddy doesn't realize he's supposed to count it?  I guess, though, if he does know then there is little way you can "prove" he was trying to hit it or not.  Even if a player addresses the ball completely and intends to hit the ball .. he could change his mind mid-swing and whiff it on purpose . .pretty sure I saw a pro do that on TV a few years ago.

edit - it was Kevin Na and here's the shot (whiff):

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2017 TST Partners

    PING Golf
    Leupold Golf
    Snell Golf
    Talamore Golf Resort
    Lowest Score Wins
  • Posts

    • Because everyone gets bored of blue skies now and again! Crazy winds and serious mood-lighting! First hole has the signature lighthouse behind the green and a great linksy fairway, second is a 114 yard par three that played about 140 yesterday.  
    • A good afternoon of birthday practice yesterday. Did a lot of short game work and went out to the course way after the last tee time to put them in practice in 'real' situations. Finally I did a nice putting drill to gauge areas to focus on - this will be a bit of a regular thing that I go back to now and again to judge progress. A few photos from on-course work: Downwind - 15mph and dispersion from shots at 125 yards, 115, 100 and 75. Nearly pulled the wedge from 75 into a bunker, which would have been horrendous, so that's a bit worse than it looks. Delighted with the rest and all on the middle tier of a three tier green. After about 10 minutes of practising, from 50 yards using a variety of clubs (furthest to nearest) - putter, wedge, hybrid chip. Had to come up a big tier, so pretty pleased with this. Hybrid chip was the right play in that it took the tier out of play, but my default would have always been wedge. Just nice to add another shot to my game - although it will need more practice. Putting: Just need to make more inside 10 feet. Great not to have any 3 putts though! Hole Ft Break Score 1 Score 2 Score 3 Score 4 Score 5 1.         3ft Straight 1         2.         6ft R/L uphill 1         3.         9ft L/R downhill 2         4.         12ft R/L downhill 2         5.         15ft L/R 2         6.         4ft slight break downhill 1         7.         8ft R/L 2         8.         12ft L/R 2         9.         16ft L/R downhill 2         10.     20ft L/R uphill 2         11.     5ft slight break 2         12.     10ft L/R 2         13.     15ft R/L 2         14.     20ft Straightish 1         15.     25ft Double Break 2         16.     6ft R/L downhill 2         17.     33ft Slight uphill 2         18.     45ft Slight downhill 2         Total 32         Strokes Gained -2.81        
    • 26/2/17 - more slow takeaway work. Heading to the range later and will spend time really working on transitioning this work to full swing. I think the feel needs to be that my left arm is glued to my stomach, but will check with video later.
    • Thank you! Got out for a few holes so it was a good day in spite of work!
    • 2/25: Played two rounds today with dad at a different course than usual. Shot 96 and 93. A few nice strings of pars and made several amazing putts (). Mostly bogeys other than that but managed a couple of absolute blow-up holes in each round that helped to guarantee 90+ scores from an otherwise very nice day of golf. I could complain about "sand-traps" sans-a-single-spec-of-sand with 10-foot wide puddles in them, or mushy fairways, or waiting 5-minutes for the 4-some in front of you on every shot, but there wasn't a notes field on the scorecard.  Practice is paying off, though. Hit my drives farther than ever, draws when I wanted them, and the fade didn't let me down when I needed it. 3/4 "flighted" shots are the new go-to approach of choice all the way out to 160+ with my 3-iron, and (n)GIRs have jumped up considerably. I've rambled on about my short-game improvements before, but it continues. Holed a pitch shot from about 10 yards and stopped 2 others 6 inches from the pin. Gotta play some more rounds from the front so I get used to stringing pars together. Realized today that I don't just get nervous about it, I also get cocky. Weird combination. 
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Blog Entries

  • Today's Birthdays

    1. Catcher20
      Catcher20
      (27 years old)
    2. JD15
      JD15
      (52 years old)
  • Get Great Gear with Amazon