• Announcements

    • iacas

      Visit FlagstickRule.com   03/13/2017

      Visit the site flagstickrule.com to read about and sign a petition for the USGA/R&A regarding the one terrible rule in the proposed "modernized" rules for 2019.
    • iacas

      Win a Cart with Sun Mountain and TST!   06/02/2017

      You can win a Speed Cart GT or a Micro Cart GT from Sun Mountain!
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
mvmac

Jason Dufner Voids Check after Bet with PGA Pro

40 posts in this topic

Cool story about Jason Dufner and a PGA pro during the PGA Championship.  Would have been a real douchey move if Dufner had cashed the check.

http://www.golfchannel.com/news/jason-sobel/after-major-win-dufner-voids-bet-with-pga-pro/

Quote:

It all starts with a guy named Rob Labritz. Even if you don’t recognize the name, you likely remember his YouTube moment . He’s the longtime New York club professional who holed a wedge shot from 95 yards at the PGA Professional National Championship to collect the 20th and final spot in the field at this year’s PGA Championship .

Keegan Bradley, Rob Labritz

Labritz (at far right above) is no newbie to the glitz and glamour of the big-time. This was his fourth appearance in the year’s final major and he’s long owned connections all over the golf world. It was through one of these connections, St. John’s University coach Frank Darby, that Labritz found himself in a juicy practice round match on Tuesday at Oak Hill Country Club last month.

Darby set up Labritz with Keegan Bradley , one of his former players and, of course, a former PGA champion. The two of them would prepare for the tournament by playing a match against heavyweights Dufner and Dustin Johnson .

At promptly 8:30 a.m. Tuesday morning, the foursome stood on the first tee at the famed venue and playfully discussed the day’s wager.

“Dufner and Keegan started talking about the bet,” recounts Labritz, the director of golf at GlenArbor Golf Club in Bedford Hills, N.Y. “Dufner says, ‘What are we playing for? A hundred thousand? Two hundred thousand?’ He’s like, ‘Keegan, what did you make, $7 million last year? I thought you wanted to play for some cash.’”

Labritz laughs at the recollection, adding there was more than a little sarcastic embellishment laced in that offer.

“I said, ‘Guys, that’s a little out of my price range. I had to cancel two ladies clinics and a junior clinic just to be here today.’ So we played for a $500 closeout.”

It didn’t start well for the club pro. He and Bradley combined for a best ball score of par on each of the first five holes. Dufner and Johnson countered with birdies on all five, quickly taking a 5-up lead.

Labritz finally birdied the eighth hole, but his team was still 6-down. A birdie by Johnson on the ninth extended the lead to 7 at the turn. Even after birdies from Labritz on 10, 11 and 13 and one from Bradley on 14, they found themselves 4-down with four to play. On the 16th tee, they pressed for half the amount, with Bradley taking the banter to another level.

“Keegan goes, ‘Hey Rob, did I ever tell you this story? I was 4 down with five to go and I won this tournament,’” Labritz says, recalling Bradley’s needling of Dufner about the PGA Championship finish from two years earlier. “Dufner goes, ‘Hey, it ain’t going to happen that way this week.’”

After a halve on the final hole pushed a second press, Labritz and Bradley found themselves $750 in the hole – which was a slight problem for the club pro.

“I didn’t have $750 in my wallet, so I went into the locker, got my checkbook out and wrote a check to Dufner. I left it in his locker.”

In the memo section of the check, he wrote:

SORRY FOR THE CHECK + THX FOR THE WHOOPIN.

Jason Dufner

The truth is, it really wasn’t a “whoopin” – at least individually. Labritz says he shot a score of “1 or 2 under” and Dufner was “1 or 2 over.”

All of which became even more amazing five days later, when Dufner posted a final-round 68 to claim his first major championship title.

And yes, a $1.445 million winner’s check.

Suddenly that $750 check from the Tuesday match didn’t quite mean as much. So rather than cashing it, Dufner called a late audible following the victory.

“A few days after I missed the cut, I got this letter in the mail,” Labritz explains. “It was written out to me in cursive.”

The letter was from Dufner. It included Labritz’s check with the word “VOID” written through it and a note from the champ:

ROB,

GREAT TIME PLAYING WITH YOU LAST TUESDAY. I JUST COULDN’T CASH THIS CHECK. ALL THE BEST TO YOU AND YOUR FAMILY IN 2013 + HOPE TO SEE YOU IN 2014 @ VALHALLA.

JASON DUFNER

The gesture floored Labritz.

“Oh my God, are you kidding me? That’s just phenomenal. It’s just a classy move,” he says. “I think he’s a great guy.”

If Dufner didn’t win over enough fans with his demeanor and his waggles and his ball-striking and – of course – his PGA Championship victory, this story of a classy move toward a fellow golf professional should help matters.

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Sign up (or log in) today! It's free (and you won't see this ad anymore)!

Sign up (or log in) today! It's free (and you won't see this ad anymore)!

I wonder if Dufner would have done this if he DIDN'T win the $1.44 mil the week after this bet..

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Class move, but not really a choice there. He would have been a real d*ck to cash that check.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Why? I love the move by Dufner, but it wouldn't have been a dick move to keep the earnings of a bet won square and fair IMO. It says more about Dufner's class to return the check than being a dick if he hadn't.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Why? I love the move by Dufner, but it wouldn't have been a dick move to keep the earnings of a bet won square and fair IMO. It says more about Dufner's class to return the check than being a dick if he hadn't.

Agreed.

It was the right thing to do. Imagine what a jerk he'd be if he had it cashed.  I'll bet there are some guys out there who would, though.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I wonder if Dufner would have done this if he DIDN'T win the $1.44 mil the week after this bet..

I bet he would have done the same thing. Three wins last year, it's not like he was in the poorhouse.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Not cashing the check was one thing, but writing a personal note and mailing it to him is what makes it a classy move.

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Pretty cool that he didn't cash it and even cooler that he wrote the note. It would have been kind of a douche move to actually cash it though, but like others have said, there are some out there that would have.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I would like to think that Duff Daddy would have done the same no matter the outcome. The world needs more class like that.
1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I think that the PGA has a higher percentage of good guys than any other pro sport! Mr Dufner is one of them good guys.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

$750 is peanuts to Dufner, win or no win that week, but not necessarily to Labritz. I would hope most in Duf's position would do the same.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Tiger would have cashed that ish so fast that the canceled check would have made it back to Labrtiz' house before he did.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I think it's the amount that make people think he would have been a douche.  If it were a $100 bet won fair and square on a friendly golf match that's different than $750 especially to a club pro.  The amount of money a club pro makes is not something most would envy probably (well I would because I make just enough to get by).  They're no different financially than Joe and Bill from the insurance firm down the street who tee off saturday morning - the only differences?  The Club Pro gets to play for free - and he's DAMN good at the game.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Wasn't a Dufner fan before, but now I am. :-) :-) :-)
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Nothing wrong with cashing that check, but I seem to like Duffner more and more whenever I read about him.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Nothing wrong with cashing that check, but I seem to like Duffner more and more whenever I read about him.

Man code says you pay up on your bets and cashing the check would have been reasonable. However, Duf understands that Labritz is not in their league of income and felt compassion on the guy. It was a rock solid act giving the guy back a car payment.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2017 TST Partners

    PING Golf
    Leupold Golf
    Snell Golf
    Talamore Golf Resort
    Lowest Score Wins
  • Popular Now

  • Posts

    • I have 1 shot that is absolutely leaps and bounds more heroic than any shot I've ever made in my life... and it happened just about 2 weeks ago. I'm playing 9 holes after work one day. Nice weather, but I'm playing fairly poorly but not terribly. I'm still enjoying myself. I get to the 9th hole and I'm something like 9 over for the round if I'm remembering correctly. It's a dogleg left 525 yard par 5, uphill, upwind (usually) with a massive grain silo smack at the turn of the dogleg (the signature monument for the course). There's no trees but to "cut the corner;" you have to hit it something about 320 yards from the men's tees to not be in danger - so no way for me. I hit a drive that leaks right, into the handful of trees. Not where you want to be but usually reasonably playable, but it just makes the hole VERY long from there. So I walk up to my ball and it's resting under a tree, "great..." I say to myself. It's sitting back behind the tree on the fairway side of #8 but the trunk itself isn't in my line of sight to get back up and into the fairway. The problem was all of the low branches on the tree. And it was about 15-20 ft. OF those branches between the ball and getting out straight. I though to myself "great... I'm going to have to basically punch out because nothing I have will clear below the branches" (they were very thick, no way to even hope to get through them). Then I said to myself "I'd need like 10 degrees of loft to get under there. Then I looked at my bag and said... "this is my moment." Look back down at the ball, it's slightly above my feet... sitting perched on some light rough. I look down the line and I say to myself "how could I NOT hit driver here???" Grab my driver, line her up, and BAMMMM! I hit a B-E-A-UTIFUL bullet right up under the branches, no contact, and split the fairway in two. AND hit it about 250 yards! In excellent shape to easily get on in 3 (which I did, AND sank the birdie putt!). It was a great end to my round. I had never even attempted to hit driver off the deck up to that point, and I've been playing a few years now. I don't think I'll ever top that shot. It was just too beautiful, like a unicorn in my game. 
    • This one might be for @iacas or @mvmac, but open to anyone's opinion.       I'm a right-handed player and on my right hand, the joint between the tip and 2nd bone was fused together because of a baseball injury when I was in little league.    The result of this injury is I cannot bend it at all, say to wrap it around the grip when setting up for a shot. My question is, how much does the right trigger finger play a role in controlling any aspect of the swing?   Obviously, I have compensated for it and I don’t ever think about it when I play, but a recent post showing the Ben Hogan grip made me think of it again as it clearly shows him wrapping the finger around the grip. Any thoughts?  
    • I did see your statements regarding the power relative to the accuracy and I definitely agree. I certainly think it would be an uphill battle for any female. As this conversation has progressed throughout the day today, I think in a one day single round tournament a female would be able to compete and have a chance to win, but I dont think there is a female capable of putting together 4 near perfect rounds to be able to compete with the guys
    • Agreed.    However, back to conspiracies, the worst that could happen is someone finds a cure and screws Big Pharma out of their golden goose!
    • That is interesting. I remember seeing recently that Cuba may have a lung cancer vaccine that had some rate of success. They don't give it to you until you are diagnosed with cancer. Would be awesome if people with terminal cancer diagnoses could be allowed to try whatever treatments they want. What's the worst that could happen? They die?
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Blog Entries

  • Today's Birthdays

    1. Bummy2020
      Bummy2020
      (30 years old)
    2. jahcob
      jahcob
      (31 years old)
    3. Langos
      Langos
      (18 years old)
    4. Shindig
      Shindig
      (34 years old)
  • Get Great Gear with Amazon