Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
iacas

Scott Langley's 25-second Putt at The Memorial - Add a Stroke or Not?

0  

  1. 1. Should he have added a stroke for waiting too long?

    • Add a stroke
      21
    • Do not add a stroke
      24

Please sign in or register to vote in this poll.

141 posts in this topic

What do y'all think? Did he violate the ten-second rule? Should he have added a stroke?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Want to get rid of this advertisement? Sign up (or log in) today! It's free!

Excuse my ignorance, but I'm assuming that you only have 10 seconds to mark your ball after it stops?
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Excuse my ignorance, but I'm assuming that you only have 10 seconds to mark your ball after it stops?

As you know, the Rules of Golf are online.

16-2. Ball Overhanging Hole

When any part of the ball overhangs the lip of the hole, the player is allowed enough time to reach the hole without unreasonable delay and an additional ten seconds to determine whether the ball is at rest. If by then the ball has not fallen into the hole, it is deemed to be at rest. If the ball subsequently falls into thehole, the player is deemed to have holed out with his last stroke, and must add a penalty stroke to his score for the hole; otherwise, there is no penalty under this Rule.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

If it was still moving (I can't tell but the announcers thought it was) it wouldn't matter how long it took would it?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If it was still moving (I can't tell but the announcers thought it was) it wouldn't matter how long it took would it?

You're also talking about the same announcer in Feherty who confused the color of the hazard and the options available when Tiger hit the flagstick at Augusta.

I'm leaning toward "it wasn't moving and he should have added a penalty stroke."

A ball at rest can start moving when the grass cools, or a puff of wind comes up, etc.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

You're also talking about the same announcer in Feherty who confused the color of the hazard and the options available when Tiger hit the flagstick at Augusta.


Yeah I'm not going taking what he said as the Gospel but adding in both players looking at it, and the fact that I can't tell, there doesn't seem to be any evidence otherwise.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

As you know, the Rules of Golf are online.

Thanks, it was instinctual to ask the question.. I appreciate the answer!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I voted "add a stroke." I'm not 100% that way, but in reading the Rule, he violated it. He did not proceed to the hole after the ball was overhanging, and when he got there he still took quite some time.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I voted add a stroke. If you consider the delay before he starts walking, then the delay after he stops walking, it's more than the allotted 10 seconds. Not to mention he made no attempt to actually walk to his ball... He is in breach of both the letter and spirit of the rule.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Two PGA Pros are standing right there, Bubba didn't call foul.

It was likely creeping slowly and they were eyeballing it.

I don't think the grass was cooling or the wind suddenly gusted or anything like that.

He stood there a reasonable amount of time (per the rules), then walked up and stopped to observe again..... Like he got closer and the ball movement was easier to see up close, (Bubba walked up too and then stopped and started watching intently too) I can see the players actions and posture are very consistent with that.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I looked like he spent a reasonable amount of time to walk towards the hole, and wanted to make sure he did not disturb the ball and consulted with his fellow (not sure if opponent or competitor) player, then waited just about 10 seconds when it fell in.

From the looks of it he should not get a penalty, but barely.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I'm not sure, I mean it was a long time to wait, but even the other player seemed to be watching it pretty closely and wasn't bothered by the wait.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

He waited the full 10 seconds, then took far too long to walk to the ball before it fell.  The rule is quite clear.  He should have added a stroke.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I would like to know what the players were saying, if anything. If Bubba said something like "Hey man it's still moving" or something like that it would make it an easy decision for me. As it is in a tough decision I have to give the player the benefit of the doubt.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Two PGA Pros are standing right there, Bubba didn't call foul.

It was likely creeping slowly and they were eyeballing it.

I don't know that I agree with that. You're essentially relying on Bubba to know the exact rule on this?

I'd tell the guy "you've got ten seconds, it's gonna be close." Plus, since there's no problem waiting 15 seconds (you just add a stroke), what's the harm in waiting, particularly… if you're Bubba? It's not gonna do anything to you, and you get to watch to see if it falls or not, satisfying your curiosity.

He stood there a reasonable amount of time (per the rules)

No, that's not per the rules. He took far too long. He doesn't get to stand there at his address position, then slowly walk up, then stand there again.

I looked like he spent a reasonable amount of time to walk towards the hole, and wanted to make sure he did not disturb the ball and consulted with his fellow (not sure if opponent or competitor) player, then waited just about 10 seconds when it fell in.

He stood at his ball, not moving, for ten seconds. Literally, his feet didn't even move an inch. That's not allowed within the rules.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

He waited the full 10 seconds, then took far too long to walk to the ball before it fell.  The rule is quite clear.  He should have added a stroke.

I'd like to point out that he didn't walk to his ball, he walked a large arc around the hole and ended up some four feet from his ball when he stopped to watch it again.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

He stood at his ball, not moving, for ten seconds. Literally, his feet didn't even move an inch. That's not allowed within the rules.

I tend to agree that he took a little too long. Like a second or so. It could be argued that he was approaching with caution and did not want to disturb the ball, but that probably counts into the ten second allowable wait.

For me, I would have requested to tap it in, and incurred the extra stroke anyways. If my competitor/opponent did this, I would be a little more lenient and let him make the call himself.

This is a really tough one.

What was the ruling in the end?

EDIT, looked it up. http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/golf/article-2647422/Scott-Langleys-cliffhanger-putt-Memorial-Tournament-stays-lip-24-SECONDS-dropping-cup.html

24 seconds, but still good.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I voted for adding a stroke.

At 0:08 the ball basically stops moving visually from the video

At 0:18 Scott starts walking towards the ball

At 0:30 the ball finally falls in. He basically took his 10 seconds plus another 12 seconds. The ball clearly didn't look like it was moving. Feherty saying "The ball is moving all the time", I mean come on, he's what 50-60 yards away off the green, not way he could be seeing that ball move. By the rules I think it should be another stroke added.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2016 TST Partners

    GAME Golf
    PING Golf
    Lowest Score Wins
  • Posts

    • This is a fundamental that is that ruins so many golf swings before they start. Let's look at why. Bending at the waist is physically easier - it takes less work from your legs to bend over and your body naturally avoids work.  The big problem is that you are out of balance by the time you reach the top of your backswing and worse... Your upper body weight is not over your legs which means a ground up swing is dead. Through your transition your weight needs to be firmly planted over your loaded legs so 1) you can linger in your transition in balance until your forward weight shift happens and 2) So that your lower legs are in a position of leverage to get your weight moving and to have enough spring to keep pushing until your weight has made it all the way to your left foot.  So, if you don't love your swing check for this setup flaw. So, many people who swing over the top don't realize they had no chance way back from their setup. 
    • Good topic. I voted breaking 80 is harder. Obviously the two are connected but if push came to shove I think more golfers could learn how to avoid making doubles than be taught or acquire the skills to break 80. Breaking 80 for many golfers would mean significantly raising the level of their games, while not making a double is more about avoiding the big miss and game planning/course management. More specific to the OP's question relating to a golfers that shoots in the low 80's and is trying to break through, it could be one or other, most likely a combo of both. For myself, like @The Recreational Golfer I've had more rounds in the 70's than double bogey free rounds so could you say it's "easier" for me to shoot in the 70's than avoid making a double? Yes and no, depends on how you look at it. Even though I messed up on one or two individual holes I had to play fairly solid golf the other 16/17 holes to break 80, IMO that's more difficult than avoiding making a double. Even on a round where I didn't make a double I had to perform at a consistent level for 18 holes to break 80. If you told me I had to play 10 rounds where I had to break 80 and 10 rounds where I couldn't make a double, I think the latter would be easier for me. 
    • Good to hear. An observation for you... When you start getting your lower body into it guess what?  You start doing work!  And that takes fitness.  Some people have an illusion of an effortless golf swing. But in reality, it's effortless for your wrists but more work for your legs and core.  So, keep is mind as you go from hitter to swinger your fitness, core, and lower body strength demands go up. 
    • I'll answer your question with another question: If you drop the 3H, what would you hit for a 215 yard shot, or even a 210 or 205 yard shot? Are you comfortable gripping down on your 4-wood to cut distance off of it by that much? I personally don't see much issue with keeping the 3H in the bag since it isn't actually hurting anything. You say the other alternative is to drop the 4-wood, but why do you feel that you must drop anything at all? It's okay to have a 10 yard gap. If it really concerns you, though, I would think that the best way to go would be to swap from a 4-wood to a 3-wood. This would increase the gap between your 3H and the next longer club without affecting the gap between the 3 and 4 hybrid, which seems to be a number you like better for a gap. I'm just a little confused why you'd drop down to 13 clubs if the hybrid isn't costing you strokes. I know I find hybrids easier to hit than a wood that I'm trying to hit shorter than usual. I absolutely hate to hit a 3/4 3-wood to cover the cap between a full 3-wood and my 3-iron, but the number for a 3/4 3-wood is such a rare distance that I'd much rather have consistent gaps up through a 3-iron than a big jump from a 4i to a 3H. In my case a 3H would hurt my game, but it doesn't seem like yours is doing you any harm and could be protecting you from an awkward 4 wood shot.
    • This might not be the most helpful for balls and gloves (though I do see golf ball deals pop up at least once a week), but golfwrx's classified section is a great place to get deals on a lot of stuff. I got my AD-DI shaft there for $130, along with my KBS shafts from 3-LW for another $150 for the set. The AD-DI was used for a week (didn't have a mark) and the KBS shafts clearly only ever had a grip installed on the 7-iron. Good deals there, at least from what I've found, but mostly on clubs and shafts (though they do have golf balls in their classifieds every so often).  The nice part about that is they also have a WTB forum, where you post what you want and people come to you. That's actually what I did for the iron shafts. I posted about what I wanted and I had about 7 responses to choose from within 24 hours, so it's pretty active. For golf balls other than ProV1's that would be your best bet for finding them.
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Images

  • Today's Birthdays

  • Blog Entries