IGNORED

Left the driver in the bag

kpaulhus
Note: This thread is 3571 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Since I am new to NJ, I have been playing a new course every week. I know I am sacrificing 3-4 shots a round by not having the local course knowledge but I want to see em all before I pick a favorite. Typically I play the white tees anywheare from 6000-6300 yards just so I dont struggle with distance and lack of knowledge. Usually I hit driver on every par 4/5 on the course and some days I have 70 yards to the hole and others I miss the fairway to the point where I have to pitch out. (Ive only lost 2 balls in 8 rounds so I am not spraying it terribly). According to my GPS tracked stats my average drive over the last 20 rounds is 253 yards, so Im no monster off the tee.

Friday I played a course that was 6000 yards and only hit my driver once. Shot my best round of the year at 84 with two tweeters (birdies). I hit my hybrid or 4 iron off every Par 4 and had anywhere from 7-GW into the greens. Hit 6 greens and 8 fairways. I think I couldve musceled my way around the course with my driver but who wants that awkward yardage pitch shot from the rough.

I guess the point in this post is that I am now learning (BY READING LOWEST SCORE WINS) that advancing the ball down the middle and having a full swing into greens can sometimes be better than hitting driver into a greenside bunker or leaving yourself a 35-60 yard pitch.

or maybe Im getting better? lol

Kyle Paulhus

If you really want to get better, check out Evolvr

:callaway: Rogue ST 10.5* | :callaway: Epic Sub Zero 15* | :tmade: P790 3 Driving Iron |:titleist: 716 AP2 |  :edel: Wedges 50/54/68 | :edel: Deschutes 36"

Career Low Round: 67 (18 holes), 32 (9 holes)

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades