Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
short iron

Beginner score.

13 posts in this topic

Saturday I played my 3rd game ever. I shot 9 holes and scored a 62. I don't know if this is good or bad for a beginner? But I felt good about it.

Want to get rid of this advertisement? Sign up (or log in) today! It's free!

Its great if you felt good about it.  In terms of how it rates against other beginners, I think it depends a lot on how difficult the course was, whether you followed the actual rules of golf and how much practice you have put in prior to playing.

Golf can be frustrating at times, but is more enjoyable as you are improving- keep having fun!

In all honesty, as a beginner I'd focus less on scores and more about how many good shots you hit that round. As far as the score I'd say that's pretty typical of what most beginners score.

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I have read, from different publications that the average amateur score is around 100 for 18  holes. The articles also stated this number has not changed over the years, even with all the new golf technology that has come about up to now. So I suppose that the number 100 would be a good target score for any one to gauge their game against.

Now, something that was not mentioned in some of those articles was how close to the rules amateurs might play. That might make a difference in that number 100. No matter as I would still use 100 as a number of reference.

Average of 100 is for ALL amateur golfers. Beginners would likely have a higher average. But if you felt good about it, then that's what counts.

I agree with what a few others have said. Focus on hitting good shots and gaining confidence. You are going to hit a lot of balls poorly as a beginner. Heck, I have been playing for 15+ years and I still hit a lot of bad shots. I would say rather than trying to get to a certain number just try to improve a little each time out. Practice, Practice, Practice!