Jump to content
Check out the Spin Axis Podcast! ×
IGNORED

Poll: Did Ernie Els ground his club in a hazard?


Note: This thread is 3904 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

0  

  1. 1. Did Ernie Els ground his club in the hazard at No. 6 at Bay Hill?

    • Yes definitely
      9
    • No he did not
      7
    • The video is inconclusive.
      23


Recommended Posts

  • Moderator
Posted

Below is the video.  What do you think?

Scott

Titleist, Edel, Scotty Cameron Putter, Snell - AimPoint - Evolvr - MirrorVision

My Swing Thread

boogielicious - Adjective describing the perfect surf wave

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

I voted that the video is inconclusive. It left out a long period of indecision between the two shots.  When I turned it on on Saturday he had already played the first shot, and according to the announcers already spoken with a rules official.  Then he took 3 or 4 practice swings on at least two occasions, and in all of them his club disappeared.  It sure LOOKS like he's way down in the grass there, but I guess there is no way to know for sure.

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

I voted that the video is inconclusive. It left out a long period of indecision between the two shots.  When I turned it on on Saturday he had already played the first shot, and according to the announcers already spoken with a rules official.  Then he took 3 or 4 practice swings on at least two occasions, and in all of them his club disappeared.  It sure LOOKS like he's way down in the grass there, but I guess there is no way to know for sure.

I sort of couldn't tell either, but I'm looking at this Decision

13-4/4  Touching Grass with Club During Practice Swing in Hazard

A player takes a practice swing in a water hazard without grounding his club, but his club touches some long grass. Is there a penalty?

A. No — see Note to Rule 13-4. However, the player must ensure that his actions do not breach Rule 13-2 or constitute testing the condition of the hazard

and without knowing more, my intuition is he's fine? I think it's only a penalty in hazard grass if you let the club rest in it under its own weight.

Dom's Sticks:

Callaway X-24 10.5° Driver, Callaway Big Bertha 15° wood, Callaway XR 19° hybrid, Callaway X-24 24° hybrid, Callaway X-24 5i-9i, PING Glide PW 47°/12°, Cleveland REG 588 52°/08°, Callaway Mack Daddy PM Grind 56°/13°, 60°/10°, Odyssey Versa Jailbird putter w/SuperStroke Slim 3.0 grip, Callaway Chev Stand Bag, Titleist Pro-V1x ball

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

I saw it live and it definitely looked like he pressed down on the club to me. It looked like more than a brush of the top of the grass so I voted yes he grounded his club. It is really tough to see on video but Ernie knows the rules and it is obvious his ball is in the hazard with the red line right there so I would take Ernie's word on this one.


Posted

Looks like he should have dropped out of the hazard instead of attempting to hit it the first time.

Julia

:callaway:  :cobra:    :seemore:  :bushnell:  :clicgear:  :adidas:  :footjoy:

Spoiler

Driver: Callaway Big Bertha w/ Fubuki Z50 R 44.5"
FW: Cobra BiO CELL 14.5 degree; 
Hybrids: Cobra BiO CELL 22.5 degree Project X R-flex
Irons: Cobra BiO CELL 5 - GW Project X R-Flex
Wedges: Cobra BiO CELL SW, Fly-Z LW, 64* Callaway PM Grind.
Putter: 48" Odyssey Dart

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
Video is inconclusive and Ernie says he didn't ground the club. Nothing more to say.....
  • Upvote 1

In David's bag....

Driver: Titleist 910 D-3;  9.5* Diamana Kai'li
3-Wood: Titleist 910F;  15* Diamana Kai'li
Hybrids: Titleist 910H 19* and 21* Diamana Kai'li
Irons: Titleist 695cb 5-Pw

Wedges: Scratch 51-11 TNC grind, Vokey SM-5's;  56-14 F grind and 60-11 K grind
Putter: Scotty Cameron Kombi S
Ball: ProV1

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

Looks like he should have dropped out of the hazard instead of attempting to hit it the first time.

Well it looks like he took his "Should've Taken a Drop Instead of Playing It Like a Nincompoop" penalty (hereinafter "STADIOPILAN") a couple times over, haha.

Dom's Sticks:

Callaway X-24 10.5° Driver, Callaway Big Bertha 15° wood, Callaway XR 19° hybrid, Callaway X-24 24° hybrid, Callaway X-24 5i-9i, PING Glide PW 47°/12°, Cleveland REG 588 52°/08°, Callaway Mack Daddy PM Grind 56°/13°, 60°/10°, Odyssey Versa Jailbird putter w/SuperStroke Slim 3.0 grip, Callaway Chev Stand Bag, Titleist Pro-V1x ball

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Moderator
Posted
Video replay shows the play is inconclusive. Therefore, the ruling on the field stands ;-)

Bill

“By three methods we may learn wisdom: First, by reflection, which is noblest; Second, by imitation, which is easiest; and third by experience, which is the bitterest.” - Confucius

My Swing Thread

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

My first instinct, watching this live, was that he grounded the club. But the video isn't 100% clear, and I just have a hard time imagining that Els would ground his club. He knows he's in a hazard. It's inconclusive for me.

Hunter Bishop

"i was an aspirant once of becoming a flamenco guitarist, but i had an accident with my fingers"

My Bag

Titleist TSI3 | TaylorMade Sim 2 Max 3 Wood | 5 Wood | Edel 3-PW | 52° | 60° | Blade Putter

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
Video is inconclusive and Ernie says he didn't ground the club. Nothing more to say.....

But if this happened to Tiger, oh the shitstorm that would ensue ...

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
But if this happened to Tiger, oh the shitstorm that would ensue ...

In David's bag....

Driver: Titleist 910 D-3;  9.5* Diamana Kai'li
3-Wood: Titleist 910F;  15* Diamana Kai'li
Hybrids: Titleist 910H 19* and 21* Diamana Kai'li
Irons: Titleist 695cb 5-Pw

Wedges: Scratch 51-11 TNC grind, Vokey SM-5's;  56-14 F grind and 60-11 K grind
Putter: Scotty Cameron Kombi S
Ball: ProV1

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

Not from me.

Me neither.  But you KNOW that isn't true for a large group of people out there. :)

Looks like he should have dropped out of the hazard instead of attempting to hit it the first time.

Well it looks like he took his "Should've Taken a Drop Instead of Playing It Like a Nincompoop" penalty (hereinafter "STADIOPILAN") a couple times over, haha.

Actually, you guys bring up a good side question for a rules discussion.  After dumping the second attempt back into the water, why did he choose to go all the way back to the spot of the original shot that entered the hazard?  If I'm reading this correctly, he could still drop right at the point the ball first crossed the hazard line:

26-2 . Ball Played Within Water Hazard

a . Ball Comes to Rest in Same or Another Water Hazard

If a ball played from within a water hazard comes to rest in the same or another water hazard after the stroke , the player may:

(i) proceed under Rule 26-1a . If, after dropping in the hazard , the player elects not to play the dropped ball, he may:

(a) proceed under Rule 26-1b , or if applicable Rule 26-1c , adding the additional penalty of one stroke prescribed by the Rule and using as the reference point the point where the original ball last crossed the margin of this hazard before it came to rest in this hazard ; or

(b) add an additional penalty of one stroke and play a ball as nearly as possible at the spot from which the last stroke from outside a water hazard was made (see Rule 20-5 ); or

(ii) proceed under Rule 26-1b , or if applicable Rule 26-1c ; or

(iii) under penalty of one stroke , play a ball as nearly as possible at the spot from which the last stroke from outside a water hazard was made (see Rule 20-5 ).

26-2a(ii) says he can proceed under Rule 26-1b, which says:

b. Drop a ball behind the water hazard , keeping the point at which the original ball last crossed the margin of the water hazard directly between the hole and the spot on which the ball is dropped, with no limit to how far behind the water hazard the ball may be dropped; or

Now, I didn't see his original shot, but even if it was a giant pull slice, it still would have crossed into the hazard well closer to the hole than where he went back to, no?

I don't get it.  (Sorry about the formatting - my cutting and pasting really mucked this all up).

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
Oh my goodness gracias - he grounded the club. It's the Jane Blalock controversy all over again!.

Are you always like this?

Yours in earnest, Jason.
Call me Ernest, or EJ or Ernie.

PSA - "If you find yourself in a hole, STOP DIGGING!"

My Whackin' Sticks: :cleveland: 330cc 2003 Launcher 10.5*  :tmade: RBZ HL 3w  :nickent: 3DX DC 3H, 3DX RC 4H  :callaway: X-22 5-AW  :nike:SV tour 56* SW :mizuno: MP-T11 60* LW :bridgestone: customized TD-03 putter :tmade:Penta TP3   :aimpoint:

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

I am 50/50. It is hard to tell if he did, but he didn't make it look clear cut like others do when they hover the club a bit more in those situations. I would give him the benefit of the doubt there.

Matt Dougherty, P.E.
 fasdfa dfdsaf 

What's in My Bag
Driver; :pxg: 0311 Gen 5,  3-Wood: 
:titleist: 917h3 ,  Hybrid:  :titleist: 915 2-Hybrid,  Irons: Sub 70 TAIII Fordged
Wedges: :edel: (52, 56, 60),  Putter: :edel:,  Ball: :snell: MTB,  Shoe: :true_linkswear:,  Rangfinder: :leupold:
Bag: :ping:

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Moderator
Posted

Quote:

Originally Posted by David in FL

Not from me.

Me neither.  But you KNOW that isn't true for a large group of people out there. :)

Quote:

Originally Posted by DrvFrShow

Looks like he should have dropped out of the hazard instead of attempting to hit it the first time.

Quote:

Originally Posted by dkolo

Well it looks like he took his "Should've Taken a Drop Instead of Playing It Like a Nincompoop" penalty (hereinafter "STADIOPILAN") a couple times over, haha.

Actually, you guys bring up a good side question for a rules discussion.  After dumping the second attempt back into the water, why did he choose to go all the way back to the spot of the original shot that entered the hazard?  If I'm reading this correctly, he could still drop right at the point the ball first crossed the hazard line:

26-2. Ball Played Within Water Hazard

a. Ball Comes to Rest in Same or Another Water Hazard

If a ball played from within a water hazard comes to rest in the same or another water hazard after the stroke, the player may:

(i) proceed under Rule 26-1a. If, after dropping in the hazard, the player elects not to play the dropped ball, he may:

(a) proceed under Rule 26-1b, or if applicable Rule 26-1c, adding theadditional penalty of one stroke prescribed by the Rule and using as the reference point the point where the original ball last crossed the margin of thishazard before it came to rest in this hazard; or

(b) add an additional penalty of one stroke and play a ball as nearly as possible at the spot from which the last stroke from outside a water hazardwas made (see Rule 20-5); or

(ii) proceed under Rule 26-1b, or if applicable Rule 26-1c; or

(iii)under penalty of one stroke, play a ball as nearly as possible at the spot from which the last stroke from outside a water hazard was made (see Rule20-5).

26-2a(ii) says he can proceed under Rule 26-1b, which says:

b. Drop a ball behind the water hazard, keeping the point at which the original ball last crossed the margin of the water hazard directly between the hole and the spot on which the ball is dropped, with no limit to how far behind the water hazard the ball may be dropped; or

Now, I didn't see his original shot, but even if it was a giant pull slice, it still would have crossed into the hazard well closer to the hole than where he went back to, no?

I don't get it.  (Sorry about the formatting - my cutting and pasting really mucked this all up).


Excellent question.  He played a ball in the hazard and hit it further in the hazard.

Scott

Titleist, Edel, Scotty Cameron Putter, Snell - AimPoint - Evolvr - MirrorVision

My Swing Thread

boogielicious - Adjective describing the perfect surf wave

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

Actually, you guys bring up a good side question for a rules discussion.  After dumping the second attempt back into the water, why did he choose to go all the way back to the spot of the original shot that entered the hazard?  If I'm reading this correctly, he could still drop right at the point the ball first crossed the hazard line:

Actually the dropping reference point for his two club measurement would be the spot where the ball last crossed the margin not first. ;-)

I voted that the video is inconclusive, and I did not watch any golf this weekend, so I don't know where any of his other options might have place him.  Is the entire hazard marked as a lateral, or is part of it a regular water hazard?  And where did the ball last cross the margin into the hazard?

Rick

"He who has the fastest cart will never have a bad lie."

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Note: This thread is 3904 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • TST Partners

    PlayBetter
    Golfer's Journal
    ShotScope
    The Stack System
    FitForGolf
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct: Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package.

    Coupon Codes (save 10-20%): "IACAS" for Mevo/Stack/FitForGolf, "IACASPLUS" for Mevo+/Pro Package, and "THESANDTRAP" for ShotScope. 15% off TourStriker (no code).
  • Posts

    • Day 11: did mirror work for a while. Worked on the same stuff. 
    • I'm not sure you're calculating the number of strokes you would need to give correctly. The way I figure it, a 6.9 index golfer playing from tees that are rated 70.8/126 would have a course handicap of 6. A 20-index golfer playing from tees that are rated 64/106 would have a course handicap of 11. Therefore, based on the example above, assuming this is the same golf course and these index & slope numbers are based on the different tees, you should only have to give 5 strokes (or one stroke on the five most difficult holes if match play) not 6. Regardless, I get your point...the average golfer has no understanding of how the system works and trying to explain it to people, who haven't bothered to read the documentation provided by either the USGA or the R&A, is hopeless. In any case, I think the WHS as it currently is, does the best job possible of leveling the playing field and I think most golfers (obviously, based on the back & forth on this thread, not all golfers) at least comprehend that.   
    • Day 115 12-5 Skills work tonight. Mostly just trying to be more aware of the shaft and where it's at. Hit foam golf balls. 
    • Day 25 (5 Dec 25) - total rain day, worked on tempo and distance control.  
    • Yes it's true in a large sample like a tournament a bunch of 20 handicaps shouldn't get 13 strokes more than you. One of them will have a day and win. But two on one, the 7 handicap is going to cover those 13 strokes the vast majority of the time. 20 handicaps are shit players. With super high variance and a very asymmetrical distribution of scores. Yes they shoot 85 every once in a while. But they shoot 110 way more often. A 7 handicap's equivalent is shooting 74 every once in a while but... 86 way more often?
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.