Jump to content
CarlSpackler

Post Your "Death Shot" with Pics/Video

104 posts / 6298 viewsLast Reply

Recommended Posts

I ended up in a bunker from hell. My shot out of the bunker (anywhere) was blocked by a tree branch. My only shot was a putt to another area of the bunker. That branch needs to come down. It's a double penalty. Solution is to lay up to the green and chip on.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I've thought about creating this thread for a while and finally had the presence of mind to take a pic the other day. Here's the idea. If you are faced with a "death shot" with limited options and a high probability of failure, take a quick pic or video (please don't hold up play to do this) and post it here with a description of the play and results. Please use some sort of pic from game golf, but preferably one of the actual shot you faced to reduce the speculation aspect. The idea is that we all can learn with real world examples of recovery shots.

The other night, I blocked my second shot to the right in a spot that is just plain death. Going over the tree is not possible and though it is also not very good. It is thick and has really big branches. Pitching back to the fairway opens the door to putting it in the hazard. I played a punch with a 7i to keep it under the tree and clear the lip of the bunker. Unfortunately, it hit the lip and came back into the bunker. Fortunately, I saved bogey from there. I'm thinking an 8i would probably have been just right. @missitnoonan was there to witness.

Feel free to discuss this and please add your own "death shots".

Hey Shane, Sorry, but I don't have enough memory to store all the pictures of my "death shots". You played this hole the way I usually play all of mine. :-P

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Some of you have seen this before.........LOL

I took an unplayable penalty,and miraculously got up and down to save bogey.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Some of you have seen this before.........LOL [URL=http://thesandtrap.com/content/type/61/id/120946/] [/URL] I took an unplayable penalty,and miraculously got up and down to save bogey.

Yep. That pretty much as dead as you can get.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I would say a punchy 9 iron right through that little area I marked in red ;)

theres no way i could keep a 9 low enough to get under those branches.  i would have to hit a 5 or lower.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I would say a punchy 9 iron right through that little area I marked in red ;)

A 9 iron?!?!?!?!?!  And no way I'd be aiming so close to that tree either.  That's just begging for your next shot to be from further away from the hole.

theres no way i could keep a 9 low enough to get under those branches.  i would have to hit a 5 or lower.

Agreed.  I could do a 6 safely, I think, but I'd aim straight for the middle of the left bunker, about 7 or 8 feet left of @saevel25 's red circle.  My next shot is either from a green side bunker or if the sand was hard enough and the lip not too severe, maybe that low shot plows through and pops out on the other side.

Or if that bunker isn't greenside and I'm risking a 40 yard sand shot or something, then I'd also consider chipping right towards that cart.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

A 9 iron?!?!?!?!?!  And no way I'd be aiming so close to that tree either.  That's just begging for your next shot to be from further away from the hole.

Got to know how to flight that ball down :-D

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Got to know how to flight that ball down

I'm pretty good at that ... but a 9-iron through that hole??  Too risky.

Also of note:  not only is your target window about 3' wide and nearly touching the tree ... you have a branch hanging INSIDE of your window. ;-)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

This situation was not staged. It happened yesterday. I was playing a round with Erik, my dad, and his friend. My dad's friend hit his tee shot right into a pine tree. When we went looking for the ball this is what we found.

:-$

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

This situation was not staged. It happened yesterday. I was playing a round with Erik, my dad, and his friend. My dad's friend hit his tee shot right into a pine tree. When we went looking for the ball this is what we found.

Not too bad.   All those rocks can be moved except for the one that the ball is sitting on ;-) .

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I thought about this thread when I had this lie so I snapped a picture:

It just doesn't show the issue all that well, unfortunately. You can kind of see that the ball is up against the edge of the bunker, but you can't really see the slope or anything.

I had to play this shot with my left leg on the grass and my right leg in the bunker about a foot below the turf level with the ball laying several inches below that. I had to take a really open stance just to stand over the ball and swung pretty far to the left. I just focused on getting clean contact, hit a hard cut, and got a decent result:

It's probably not as bad as some of the other shots in this thread, but at least I remembered to take a picture :-)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

There's a little opening between the 9th and tenth branch on the left side. Why didn't you hit it through there? Phil would have....remember, WWPD?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cali Ace View Post

This was my predicament a few weeks ago at a tourney. Nobody seemed to know the ruling on this.

That's an easy one. Immovable Obstruction. That looks like 1.5" PVC Pipe. Clearly a man-made object. Unless the ball is lying in a hazard, at which point you'd need to take relief from the hazard. You'd typically get a one club-length, no penalty, drop from the nearest point of relief.

Quote:

b . Relief

Except when the ball is in a water hazard or a lateral water hazard , a player may take relief from interference by an immovable obstruction as follows:

(i) Through the Green: If the ball lies through the green , the player must lift the ball and drop it, without penalty, within one club-length of and not nearer the hole than the nearest point of relief . The nearest point of relief must not be in a hazard or on a putting green . When the ball is dropped within one club-length of the nearest point of relief , the ball must first strike a part of the course at a spot that avoids interference by the immovable obstruction and is not in a hazard and not on a putting green .

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.




×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...