IGNORED

Are 'The Voice' and "American Idol' destroying good singing?

dak4n6
Note: This thread is 3093 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

I'm a musician for over 40 years and have played and sung in many bands over the years. I was just watching The Voice, and one of the contestants sang 'Climb Every Mountain" (from the Sound of Music). He butchered the song IMO. To be fair, he had a wonderful voice, but he ruined the song by throwing his wonderful voice all over the place. Eg., "Climb every mountain...." the end of the word "mountain" should be a held single note with some nice vibrato, but he went up and down the scale and put about 458 notes into what was supposed to be one held note. This crap has got to stop.

Another contestant did exactly the same thing with "O Holy Night". A beautiful, solemn song that can showcase the discipline, control, and clarity in the singers voice exactly through the simple structure and many plain held notes. But no, this guy had to make it into some R&B/soul/hip-hop version..I think it sounded horrible.

I think these shows are permeating into pop culture and are starting to make that kind of singing the norm, and it is killing pop music. Imagine if Tom Petty auditioned for The Voice? He wouldn't even make the first cut, but he is one of the best Rock vocalists ever...

dak4n6

• Replies 74
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

On the contrary, I would argue there's a reason you've pretty much never heard of a large majority of singers who won those contests. That singing style obviously doesn't appeal to enough consumers, or the record labels don't like it enough to put enough money into it, for them to succeed afterwords even though it may sound fancy at first.