Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Martyn W

Jason Day's Bad Drops at Firestone

Note: This thread is 1232 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

88 posts / 6394 viewsLast Reply

Recommended Posts

Unless I missed something, Day was instructed to proceed incorrectly when it was established that a spectator had deliberately deflected his ball. From 19-2: 

Note: If a player's ball in motion has been deliberately deflected or stopped by an outside agency:

(a)

after a stroke from anywhere other than on the putting green, the spot where the ball would have come to rest must be estimated.

The RO appeared to have given him the drop at the point where the deflection took place. To compound the (apparent) error, he watched him drop incorrectly twice!! The ball was way above shoulder height on both drops.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Register for free today and you won't see this ad spot again!

3 minutes ago, Martyn W said:

Unless I missed something, Day was instructed to proceed incorrectly when it was established that a spectator had deliberately deflected his ball. From 19-2: 

Note: If a player's ball in motion has been deliberately deflected or stopped by an outside agency:

(a)

after a stroke from anywhere other than on the putting green, the spot where the ball would have come to rest must be estimated.

The RO appeared to have given him the drop at the point where the deflection took place. To compound the (apparent) error, he watched him drop incorrectly twice!! The ball was way above shoulder height on both drops.

I think they said that a kid stopped (picked up) the ball while it was still moving, not deflected it.  The official then let him drop roughly where the ball would have stopped if the kid hadn't picked it up while it was still moving. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

3 minutes ago, iacas said:

On what hole? At approximately what time (eastern time)?

16, 5:15

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You can hear the RO saying that they had to estimate where the ball would have ended up.  I think they proceeded correctly.

Day definitely dropped from higher than shoulder level, but I think the spirit of the rule is to ensure that you don't gain an advantage from dropping from lower than shoulder level, rather than dictating that the drop must be from exactly shoulder level, no?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

27 minutes ago, David in FL said:

Day definitely dropped from higher than shoulder level, but I think the spirit of the rule is to ensure that you don't gain an advantage from dropping from lower than shoulder level, rather than dictating that the drop must be from exactly shoulder level, no?

The wording of the rule is "must", so the drop has to be at shoulder level.  I didn't see the drop in question, but you could probably drop from what would be considered "shoulder level" even though your arm is pointing upwards (bottom of ball even with top of shoulder).  I'm curious what others here think.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

36 minutes ago, David in FL said:

Day definitely dropped from higher than shoulder level, but I think the spirit of the rule is to ensure that you don't gain an advantage from dropping from lower than shoulder level, rather than dictating that the drop must be from exactly shoulder level, no?

As @Hardspoon said, the rule says "must." You could get an extra "bounce" if you drop from too high, also. Just as you could if you "threw" the ball into the ground.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Does anyone have this on DVR that can post a screenshot?  I'm really curious.

Does he always drop like that?  Seems strange he would drop differently TWICE.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

4 minutes ago, Hardspoon said:

Does anyone have this on DVR that can post a screenshot?  I'm really curious.

Does he always drop like that?  Seems strange he would drop differently TWICE.

 

Unless the ball bounced toward the hole? 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

8 minutes ago, saevel25 said:

Unless the ball bounced toward the hole? 

Sorry, I meant it would be strange if he normally drops from shoulder level, but suddenly twice in a row held the ball much higher.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

57 minutes ago, Hardspoon said:

Does anyone have this on DVR that can post a screenshot?  I'm really curious.

Here ya go. Looks like his hand is at the level of the top of his head:

First drop:

day 1st drop.PNG

Second drop:

day 2nd drop.PNG

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Someone needs to call him on it, or at least teach him how to drop correctly.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

5 minutes ago, Missouri Swede said:

Here ya go. Looks like his hand is at the level of the top of his head

Thanks.

Yes, I don't think either of those could be interpreted as "shoulder level". The rules official really needs to say something there...that's his job (to make sure the drop is legal).

Strange. 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

9 minutes ago, Missouri Swede said:

Here ya go. Looks like his hand is at the level of the top of his head:

It's close in my opinion. Maybe that's his feel for shoulder level ;) 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

30 minutes ago, saevel25 said:

It's close in my opinion. Maybe that's his feel for shoulder level ;) 

To a rules official, no, that's not close. Rules officials should be all over that.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Pardon the cynicism, but the PGA Tour is little more than a TV show whose goal is to sell advertising for Buicks and Viagra. The referees are employees of the PGA Tour. They and the players are all friends. That's not to say that the referees aren't highly skilled or don't try, but look at who's paying their salaries. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Viagra? I'm a Budweiser guy myself. :beer:

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

2 hours ago, saevel25 said:

It's close in my opinion. Maybe that's his feel for shoulder level ;) 

Then he should have been instructed otherwise by the RO! Head high my foot! The first drop is above head high! And I find it hard to believe that a person with the physical skills to be the #1 golfer in world can't determine where shoulder high is!

Oh, wait a minute! I just noticed the "winkie, blinkie" at the end of the sentence! Verrry tongue in cheek!

Edited by Buckeyebowman

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Note: This thread is 1232 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  



×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...