IGNORED

GPS or Hybrid

djake
Note: This thread is 2469 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Hello TST - this is my first attempt at starting a forum so I if did it wrong, sorry. 

Looking for input.  I am currently looking at getting either a hand held GPS like the Garmin Approach G6 or G8 or similar or a 4 Hybrid.  I currently do not own either of these items.  I stole my son's 4 hybrid to see if I like such a club and I am finally getting a feel for hitting a hybrid plus he wants it back.  That 200 to 220 yardage shot is a trouble spot for me.  For reference I hit my 5 iron 190 yards carry.  The bunch of guys I play with all like to float around and play different courses so we never get all that familiar with any one course and thus automatically know distances as when you play just one course.  So we are hunting and searching for yardage makers and the "How far do you think it is".  After playing with a couple guys that had a GPS it was an eye opener for time savings and distance accuracy. And I would rather have a GPS over a Range Finder.  Buying both is optimum but out of the question as I have completely blown the golf budget for the year.  Squeezing one of these two items is doable but not both for now.  So which one would you get first?  All input will be greatly appreciated, thank you

- Dean

Driver: PXG GEN3 Proto X Mitsubishi Tensei CK Pro Orange
Fairway wood: 5 Wood PXG 0341 GEN2 hzrdus smoke yellow

2 Iron PXG XP Evenflow Blue

3 Utility Iron Srixon 3 20*
Irons:  5 thru PW PXG GEN3 XP Steelfiber 95 -  Wedges: Mizuno T7 48, 52, 56 and 60 Recoil 110 shafts 6
Putter: In search of the Holy Grail Ball: Snell MTBx

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

What is the typical yardage of the courses you play?

How many shots on average do you find yourself 200-220 out?