IGNORED

Struggling with shanks

Note: This thread is 2444 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

I've been playing for a couple of years and was feeling recently that I was finally starting to improve until a few weeks ago when I started shanking the ball pretty badly. I've had this in the past and it's eventually gone away but it sucks and takes all fun out of the game!

Anyway, I went for a lesson with the pro at my club and he said it was the hardest thing to fix as there are so many reasons why someone shanks. He couldn't see why I was doing it so basically just gave me loads of things to change about my swing (stronger grip, ball further forward, stand more upright, stick out bum, weight more on heels, take club back straighter and more closed, keep back arm connected, rotate hips more on downswing, swing fron inside)

So I've gone away for a few practice sessions trying all these things but there's so much in my head now and I'm still shanking, or at least hitting towards the heel a lot.

Now I don't doubt that these are things that would improve my swing but it feels like too much to work on at once. Should I try going to a different pro? Should a good pro be able to look at my swing and tell me why I'm shanking?

Edited by omelette

Yes he should be able to tell you. Post a video in your swing thread and maybe we can point you in the right direction.

• Thumbs Up 1

"My ball is on top of a rock in the hazard, do I get some sort of relief?"

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

@omelette,

I agree with @Valleygolfer, take some video of your swing. The shank can have several causes. We would be just guessing without video.

Scott

Titleist, Edel, Scotty Cameron Putter, Snell - AimPoint - Evolvr - MirrorVision

My Swing Thread

boogielicious - Adjective describing the perfect surf wave