Jump to content
IGNORED

Another Penalty for Lexi Thompson


Vinsk
 Share

Recommended Posts

  • Administrator
34 minutes ago, Vinsk said:

he’s obviously joking

No. It’s not at all obvious.

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instructor Development, 5 Simple Keys®/Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins • Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 • "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 • Penn-State Behrend Head Coach • • • • • • • • • • :aimpoint: :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | 5SK.com | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Link to comment
Share on other sites

20 hours ago, PraiseKek said:

Sure, I agree it's perfectly valid. It's a local rule, and subject to the whim of the USGA's approval. It doesn't have to be up for discussion really for that reason, but it's somehow this attitude of a policy without any logic has crept into the current golf culture. I doubt you will ever get a sensible defense from the USGA as to why this makes sense.

It makes very obvious sense.  A reason for preferred lies is that the abnormal condition of a fairway is such that players can find themselves in lies which are unreasonable to expect them to play from, given that they have kept to the fairway.  It might be thought that to give a player who has hit his ball so far off line that it has landed on an adjacent fairway a preferred lie  would be giving them more  help than they deserve.

 

Edited by ColinL
  • Like 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

19 minutes ago, iacas said:

No. It’s not at all obvious.

I think you know what that meant...

:ping: G25 Driver Stiff :ping: G20 3W, 5W :ping: S55 4-W (aerotech steel fiber 110g shafts) :ping: Tour Wedges 50*, 54*, 58* :nike: Method Putter Floating clubs: :edel: 54* trapper wedge

Link to comment
Share on other sites

40 minutes ago, ColinL said:

 It might be thought that to give a player who has hit his ball so far off line that it has landed on an adjacent fairway a preferred lie  would be giving them more  help than they deserve.

gotta agree - the fact that they ended up in a good spot is the win for a fortuitous mis hit

LCP is a work around anyway vs the hole 'hit it as you find it' philosophy.  I'd think the spirit of the game would be to not use it at all, but if that's not a possibility, to restrict the use to the bare minimum....

 

I know a couple courses where playing the adjacent fairway is sometimes a good choice.  When I do that and pull off the shot, I know I'm just happy that I got the leave.  I'm too oblivious (or rules ignorant) to even think that I could even take more from it.

Edited by rehmwa

Bill - 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

10 minutes ago, rehmwa said:

I know a couple courses where playing the adjacent fairway is sometimes a good choice.  When I do that and pull off the shot, I know I'm just happy that I got the leave.  I'm too oblivious (or rules ignorant) to even think that I could even take more from it.

One course I play hole 10 is a par 5 but only because they cut off the fairway with a pond which forces about 200 to get to the green. If you are a longer hitter, you have to lay up with a 4 iron or hybrid unless you can carry about 315-330 in the air. So people were starting to play back up 9 because they could hit a driver and be in short iron/wedge distance. Smart play right? Except then you are hitting into people coming up a hole you just played and it became such a problem that the course owners had to specifically state that it was OB to do that. Similar issue with hole 9 at another course, but it's a par 4 with a large tree at the end of the fairway that blocks the tee shot if you hit too far down the fairway unless you hit it perfectly up the right and side into a 10 yard area. People would play over to 18th fairway to avoid that tree, similar rule was instated because the "smart play" was the more dangerous play for other people on the course. So, basically what I'm saying is, she already got a great break by the course not utilizing internal OB stakes with fairways that close to each other.

That said, I'm constantly lucky in the same way :-P

 

KICK THE FLIP!!

In the bag:
:srixon: Z355

:callaway: XR16 3 Wood
:tmade: Aeroburner 19* 3 hybrid
:ping: I e1 irons 4-PW
:vokey: SM5 50, 60
:wilsonstaff: Harmonized Sole Grind 56 and Windy City Putter

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I couldn’t find any statement from Lexi as I was curious (perhaps unfairly) to what she had to say. Another article basically deemed her a hero for taking it so well after all she’s been through. I don’t really see how breaching a rule and accepting it is a prestigious act of integrity. 

:ping: G25 Driver Stiff :ping: G20 3W, 5W :ping: S55 4-W (aerotech steel fiber 110g shafts) :ping: Tour Wedges 50*, 54*, 58* :nike: Method Putter Floating clubs: :edel: 54* trapper wedge

Link to comment
Share on other sites

7 minutes ago, Vinsk said:

I couldn’t find any statement from Lexi as I was curious (perhaps unfairly) to what she had to say. Another article basically deemed her a hero for taking it so well after all she’s been through. I don’t really see how breaching a rule and accepting it is a prestigious act of integrity. 

In an era of less and less personal accountability and more need of praise for just doing what you are supposed to do, can't say I find this at all surprising.

Edited by Jeremie Boop
  • Upvote 1

KICK THE FLIP!!

In the bag:
:srixon: Z355

:callaway: XR16 3 Wood
:tmade: Aeroburner 19* 3 hybrid
:ping: I e1 irons 4-PW
:vokey: SM5 50, 60
:wilsonstaff: Harmonized Sole Grind 56 and Windy City Putter

Link to comment
Share on other sites

1 hour ago, Vinsk said:

I couldn’t find any statement from Lexi as I was curious (perhaps unfairly) to what she had to say. Another article basically deemed her a hero for taking it so well after all she’s been through. I don’t really see how breaching a rule and accepting it is a prestigious act of integrity. 

In other words, the writer for the 'hero' article is a moron.  And no statement from Lexi is perfectly acceptable - non-story, She took her penalty and got on with it.

As for the 'media' - they've completely destroyed the definition of the word 'hero'.  It means nothing now.

Bill - 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

23 hours ago, Jeremie Boop said:

In an era of less and less personal accountability and more need of praise for just doing what you are supposed to do, can't say I find this at all surprising.

As Bobby Jones said after being praised for calling a penalty on himself: "You might as well praise a man for not robbing a bank."

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 2 years later...
  • Administrator

Lexi was NOT penalized* for this:

* Why not? Because the R&A determined that the grass rebounded back to the original position.

See Rule 8.1: https://www.usga.org/content/usga/home-page/rules/rules-2019/rules-of-golf/rules-and-interpretations.html#!ruletype=fr&section=rule&rulenum=8&subrulenum=1 .

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instructor Development, 5 Simple Keys®/Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins • Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 • "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 • Penn-State Behrend Head Coach • • • • • • • • • • :aimpoint: :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | 5SK.com | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Link to comment
Share on other sites

So she wasn’t penalized because cheating didn’t help her in this case?

Craig
What's in the :ogio: Silencer bag (on the :clicgear: cart)
Driver: :callaway: Razr Fit 10.5°  
5 Wood: :tmade: Burner  
Hybrid: :cobra: Baffler DWS 20°
Irons: :ping: G400 
Wedge: :ping: Glide 2.0 54° ES grind 
Putter: :heavyputter:  midweight CX2
:aimpoint:,  :bushnell: Tour V4

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Administrator
5 minutes ago, Missouri Swede said:

So she wasn’t penalized because cheating didn’t help her in this case?

She wasn't penalized because the R&A determined she didn't actually bend, move, etc. the grass. It didn't improve or affect her CATS.

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instructor Development, 5 Simple Keys®/Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins • Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 • "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 • Penn-State Behrend Head Coach • • • • • • • • • • :aimpoint: :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | 5SK.com | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Link to comment
Share on other sites

1 hour ago, iacas said:

She wasn't penalized because the R&A determined she didn't actually bend, move, etc. the grass. It didn't improve or affect her CATS.

So her intent appeared to clearly be testing her lie and improving it by moving the grass reeds... but failed so no penalty?

:ping: G25 Driver Stiff :ping: G20 3W, 5W :ping: S55 4-W (aerotech steel fiber 110g shafts) :ping: Tour Wedges 50*, 54*, 58* :nike: Method Putter Floating clubs: :edel: 54* trapper wedge

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Administrator
4 minutes ago, Vinsk said:

So her intent appeared to clearly be testing her lie and improving it by moving the grass reeds... but failed so no penalty?

Intent isn’t all that relevant here.

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instructor Development, 5 Simple Keys®/Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins • Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 • "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 • Penn-State Behrend Head Coach • • • • • • • • • • :aimpoint: :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | 5SK.com | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Link to comment
Share on other sites

On 8/18/2018 at 7:58 PM, Vinsk said:

https://www.golfchannel.com/article/golf-central-blog/lexi-charges-64-despite-another-penalty/

Seems Lexi might benefit herself to learn the rules better.....

Agree, it ultimately rest on the player's shoulders for reach of a rule.  Even if the onsite rule official gave the incorrect interpretation of the rules, the player will still be responsible for the action taken.

I'm with you on that she's been in the similar situation more than her share, it seemed.  For her best of interests, learn the rules or get a caddy who will have a clue or advise to have the official take a second look.    Whether the penalty matters or not, she needs to get on track so it won't happen as often.  What if the one shot penalty matters in the outcome of a major ?    She's not a young lady anymore.  Should make the most of the remaining years.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Ultimately the Rules officials decided her actions did not change the lie.  Fine.  It stills looks terrible.  She is clearly making a half-hearted attempt to improve her lie but fails.  

Brian Kuehn

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Administrator

I accepted every lie I was given on Woburn’s devilish Duchess course yesterday, and I had some shockers. I obviously didn’t witness every lie my three playing companions had, or every lie the overall winner of...

That's a pretty poorly written article.

If the lie is restored, it doesn't matter if the player did anything to restore it. If the grass she bent goes back on its own, what's she supposed to do? Touch it? Why? The lie was restored.

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instructor Development, 5 Simple Keys®/Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins • Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 • "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 • Penn-State Behrend Head Coach • • • • • • • • • • :aimpoint: :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | 5SK.com | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Unfortunately, your content contains terms that we do not allow. Please edit your content to remove the highlighted words below.
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

 Share



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • Support TST Affiliates

    TourStriker PlaneMate
    Golfer's Journal
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct links for Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package. Save 10% on Mevo with coupon code "IACAS" as well.
  • Posts

    • Yeah was planning on a bit of speed dating. Would AP1 be the T100 now?
    • Obviously I am being paid by the Saudis. They told me to find a forum that has about 15 people reading it and convince those 15 people (many of whom  flunked freshman economics) that competition and free trade is a good thing for the world. Very lucrative career. 
    • Yea, that’s what was also great about them.  They were still appropriate whether you played to a 30 or a 10 index.  I think the same can be said for the Mizuno JPX or Titleist AP1. If you fall in love with the Stealth irons, you like how they set up to a ball, they’re fit appropriately (length, shaft, you can adjust lie down the road if necessary), and within budget… I say go for it.  I mean you’ll probably be playing them for 8+ years, and will get your money’s worth. I would recommend hitting a few other irons while there, just to confirm you’re in love (kinda like dating before you tie the knot).
    • @darthweasel does it say anywhere on the scorecard if the executive course is OB? If it's not and it's definitely not staked OB then I would have played it, too. Earlier in the year I pushed a tee shot on a par 3 off the course but there were no stakes to mark OB and nothing on the scorecard indicated it was OB so I played it. It was clearly off the course, though, because it ended up in the grass on the side of the road that the town maintained. Though this got me thinking, could the course mark the penalty area on the side that @darthweasel was playing on and say it goes on indefinitely? And do the same for the executive course side, so the stream is marked on both sides but is only meant to be a lateral boundary depending on what side you're playing?
    • Sorry @ChetlovesMer and @Shindig One last thing, my uh budget just recently expanded quite a bit. I bought a semi expensive piece of equipment for my home office which died a short and abrupt death. Was going to return it when I posted on social media about it and the brand's director of relations offered to replace it and throw in another free much more expensive unit as I spent some time talking to him and his team and sent my failed unit directly to the engineers for testing. I don't have much a use case for the other unit so I'll probably sell it and put the money towards my irons. Incredible how life works sometimes isn't it? So uh, bump the budget to 1k. Do your recommendations change? Thoughts on the Stealth Irons from TaylorMade? I'm kind of falling in love with them and heading over to dicks to hit them tomorrow.
  • Today's Birthdays

    1. dalefleury
      dalefleury
      (79 years old)
    2. dmkalan
      dmkalan
      (67 years old)
    3. JarrettLeger
      JarrettLeger
      (30 years old)
    4. Ratherbegolfing83
      Ratherbegolfing83
      (39 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...