IGNORED

Fix a slice with stronger grip?

Note: This thread is 2056 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

This is my first year playing, currently have an unofficial handicap of 25. I have been slicing my driver pretty bad. A friend of mine told me to try a stronger grip position to close the club head faster. I gave it a try and stopped slicing, now my shots start and stay too far left. 

I guess my question is 1) is a stronger grip a legitimate way to fix a slice or is it just putting a band aid on it? 2) since my shots are going so far left now is it a matter of finding a sweet spot between strong and neutral grip to straighten out my shot?

2 hours ago, Northwoods88 said:

This is my first year playing, currently have an unofficial handicap of 25. I have been slicing my driver pretty bad. A friend of mine told me to try a stronger grip position to close the club head faster. I gave it a try and stopped slicing, now my shots start and stay too far left. 

I guess my question is 1) is a stronger grip a legitimate way to fix a slice or is it just putting a band aid on it? 2) since my shots are going so far left now is it a matter of finding a sweet spot between strong and neutral grip to straighten out my shot?

You might have answered your own question. Your stronger grip to fix your slice might just be too strong. Try backing it off a little to find a better club face/ball impact position.