IGNORED

Newbie rapid progress

Killa
Note: This thread is 2027 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

I’m reading about all these people who are 3-6 months in, breaking 90 from time to time or constantly and I just don’t know what to think about that? 

I’ve been playing for the past 3-4 years, am reasonably athletic and have decent length of the tee. I’m nowhere near breaking 90 consistently, my best round was a 96, I did card some below 45s on 9 hole rounds. 

The courses I play most are either very tight or very long. Lots of trees, water and OB. 

I don’t know if these people who are breaking 90 after a few months are playing short and open courses, but looking around at the people who play with me I see no one who is breaking 90 a couple of years in, especially no one who is a few months in. 

/rant. 

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

1 hour ago, Killa said:

I’m reading about all these people who are 3-6 months in, breaking 90 from time to time or constantly and I just don’t know what to think about that? 

I’ve been playing for the past 3-4 years, am reasonably athletic and have decent length of the tee. I’m nowhere near breaking 90 consistently, my best round was a 96, I did card some below 45s on 9 hole rounds. 

The courses I play most are either very tight or very long. Lots of trees, water and OB. 

I don’t know if these people who are breaking 90 after a few months are playing short and open courses, but looking around at the people who play with me I see no one who is breaking 90 a couple of years in, especially no one who is a few months in. 

/rant. 

It's hard to say. It's possible some are not counting every stroke, or playing easy courses as you mentioned, but I'm guessing they are just better than average (or better than us) at learning the difficult skills needed to break 90.