Jump to content
iacas

Tour Players and 2019 Rules (Running Topic)

237 posts / 20327 viewsLast Reply

Recommended Posts

10 minutes ago, klineka said:

To that point, let's say there was a newer golfer in a tournament and he hit multiple balls out of bounds throughout the round but played them as red staked hazards because he didn't know any better, but then it was discovered after the round and after signing the scorecard that he had played them as such, does that mean he would only get the applicable penalty strokes added to his score instead of being DQ'ed simply because he didn't know it was a rule that white stakes are treated differently than red stakes? That doesn't seem right IMO.

That's a very specific scenario covered by the rules. He would be DQed for a serious breach of Rule 14-7b for playing from the wrong place.

I take your point, but there really isn't much of a difference between a DQ and 58 penalty strokes.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Register for free today and you won't see this ad spot again!

1 hour ago, iacas said:

Because Dave got it wrong. You're DQed for a lower score, you take the higher score.

I did get it wrong, even though I was looking at the correct information as I was typing my response.  The point remains, a DQ penalty cannot be rescinded based on lack of awareness.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

3 hours ago, iacas said:

Where have you been? 🙂

Remember?

Again, did you miss that whole conversation in the topic I posted up above? You didn't, because you replied in it.

Oops. Just went back and read over some of that again. Obviously I had forgotten about that earlier. 

3 hours ago, iacas said:

That would be such a case. The scorecard could not be adjusted sufficiently because the ball was literally not played from anywhere near where it should have been.

Yeah that makes sense, and obviously in her case now they could adjust the scorecard sufficiently so yeah. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.




×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...