IGNORED

Beginner Buying New Clubs

Note: This thread is 1882 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Hi all,

I am relatively new to the game - starting playing in September 2018.

I have been playing with a borrowed set of Mizuno MX 200 irons and have now had to give them back. Given my relatively low standard I am sure I wasn't getting anywhere near the full benefit from the clubs - a lot of thin and fat shots going on. 

I now need to get a set of my own clubs but am on a bit of a budget - maybe about £250 (yes I am in the UK).  For this amount I can find new package sets of Macgregor CG2000, Fazer CTR20 or Wilson Ultra XLS (although the later is £50 more than I was hoping to spend).  Other than Wilson, I haven't heard of any of these brands so just wondering if I should be looking elsewhere like second hand - although I don't know much about clubs so not sure I am best placed to buy second hand.

I would plan to make use of these for maybe 3/5 years and then upgrade.

Any thoughts/advice appreciated.

Thanks.

• iacas changed the title to Beginner Buying New Clubs
2 hours ago, Miits said:

Hi all,

I have been playing with a borrowed set of Mizuno MX 200 irons and have now had to give them back. Given my relatively low standard I am sure I wasn't getting anywhere near the full benefit from the clubs - a lot of thin and fat shots going on.