Jump to content
iacas

2019 Players Championship

197 posts / 6001 viewsLast Reply

Recommended Posts

Want to hide this ad? Register for free today!

6 minutes ago, ChrisP said:

Smart choice going with 5-wood on 18.

Ehh. 

Another 10-15 yards that he would have had had he hit a 3 wood would have allowed him to hit a 9 iron and hold the green like Simpson and Reed both did. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I was thinking a stiff 9i on the approach on 18...but surprised his 8i released that much to go off the back of the green.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

1 minute ago, Vinsk said:

but surprised his 8i released that much to go off the back of the green.

Really small sample size, but highlights the advantage that Reed and Simpson had by being 15 yds closer to the hole off the tee. Proving LSW right again.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

4 hours ago, klineka said:

Interesting explanation for the 2 stroke penalty for Harold Varner. 

Sounds like he would have been ok if the club had been assembled before it was brought out to him. 

I'm confused about this.  Doesn't Interpretation 4.1b(4)/1 describe this situation and protect Varner?  (Mods: move to a a rules thread if appropriate.)

Quote
4.1b(4)/1 – Club Components May Be Assembled When Not Carried By or For Player

Rule 4.1b(4) restricts a player from building a club from parts that he or she is carrying or parts that any other person is carrying for him or her. It does not restrict the player from retrieving parts to build a club or having parts brought to him or her.

For example, if a player is permitted to add a club (see Rule 4.1b(1)) or replace a damaged club (see Rule 4.1b(3)), club components brought from the clubhouse (such as the player’s locker), the golf shop, or a manufacturer’s truck, or other similar locations, are not considered to be “carried by anyone for the player during the round ” and are allowed to be assembled by the player or anyone else.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

His inconsistency is killing me. And the tee shots are just...scary.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

21 minutes ago, Missouri Swede said:

I'm confused about this.  Doesn't Interpretation 4.1b(4)/1 describe this situation and protect Varner?  (Mods: move to a a rules thread if appropriate.)

He violated:

  • Build a club from parts carried by anyone for the player during the round.

The shaft was being carried around for him by the walking scorer, and the caddie for sure and possibly he knew it.

3a153eba877db1175e2151ddce83087f

Harold Varner III had to add two shots to his score after an unusual ruling that involved replacing a cracked driver with another club assembling on the course

[The club] cannot be assembled on the golf course. His caddie was told that when he asked one of our officials. So he left it there on the tee, and the walking scorer picked it up and took it on the golf course, and Harold and the caddie were aware of this. So when they brought the head out and assembled it out there, it broke Rule 4. Can't do that. They don't want clubs assembled and adjusted on the golf course. So that's the reason for that rule. The rule basically says a player must not build a club from parts carried by anyone for the player during the round. They were aware of that situation, so that's why he received a two-stroke penalty."

It's interesting enough that I'll add it to my list of questions, because that Interpretation seems weird. Like… can someone passing by the TaylorMade truck go in and assemble a club to add to their bag? Because then clubs or components weren't being carried around for the player.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

18 minutes ago, iacas said:

He violated:

  • Build a club from parts carried by anyone for the player during the round.

The shaft was being carried around for him by the walking scorer, and the caddie for sure and possibly he knew it.

3a153eba877db1175e2151ddce83087f

Harold Varner III had to add two shots to his score after an unusual ruling that involved replacing a cracked driver with another club assembling on the course

[The club] cannot be assembled on the golf course. His caddie was told that when he asked one of our officials. So he left it there on the tee, and the walking scorer picked it up and took it on the golf course, and Harold and the caddie were aware of this. So when they brought the head out and assembled it out there, it broke Rule 4. Can't do that. They don't want clubs assembled and adjusted on the golf course. So that's the reason for that rule. The rule basically says a player must not build a club from parts carried by anyone for the player during the round. They were aware of that situation, so that's why he received a two-stroke penalty."

It's interesting enough that I'll add it to my list of questions, because that Interpretation seems weird. Like… can someone passing by the TaylorMade truck go in and assemble a club to add to their bag? Because then clubs or components weren't being carried around for the player.

The interpretation says that they are allowed to be assembled, if the parts are brought to him. The only thing I can see is that the shaft wasn’t left behind and “brought” later. But yeah, I can see how the rule against “building” from items “carried for” conflicts with the interpretation allowing “assembly” of “components brought.” 

So if the shaft were left behind and put together with the head by (whoever brought the head), I’m guessing that would be within the rule.

Edited by Missouri Swede

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Another dumb rule.  Players aren't going to start assembling clubs on the course to give them an advantage -- so the rule is dumb because it addresses an issue that would never occur.  Did you see Faldo's face when it was explained to him?  He couldn't believe it.  On 17, someone had a long putt which hit the stick and went in, which otherwise would have flown by.  So they're worried that players will start assembling clubs but, yet at the same time, let them leave the flag in to give them a really good advantage when putting.  They should apologize to Varner, deduct the 2 strokes they added, and then delete that rule from the books. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

5 hours ago, Herkimer said:

Another dumb rule.

Completely disagree.

You’re guilty of at least a few of these:

cropped-rgfavicon.png?fit=240%2C240&ssl=

I apologize for the length of this post. If I had more time I’d have written a shorter one. – Erik J...

Oy.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

3 minutes ago, colin007 said:

Apparently Tigs is stuck behind JB Holmes....Ugh

Funny you mention that. My buddy said he followed Holmes’ group around a few holes yesterday and it was painful. Kept backing off shots. Something needs to be done with this guy.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

5 minutes ago, colin007 said:

Apparently Tigs is stuck behind JB Holmes....Ugh

Good. We should be able to watch the second 9 he plays when it comes on GolfChannel at 1 :-D

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Tiger practically yipped that 4 footer on 18 yesterday. Not good at all. For most of this season, It seems like he coughs up a short stabby stroke whenever he stands over putts like those.  He's becoming Ben Hogan at the end of career where he cant make a pressure putt outside of 2 feet. 

9 minutes ago, colin007 said:

Apparently Tigs is stuck behind JB Holmes....Ugh

Should give you more time to watch him, then. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Missed two very makeable birdies already. His last 3 big putts were dreadful going back to 18 yest. Should be -5.

Edited by ChrisP

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.




  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2018 TST Partners

    PING Golf
    FlightScope Mevo
    More to come…
  • Posts

    • When you’re caught intentionally violating the rules by using a prohibited substance, how can you be “overly apologetic”? Maybe appropriately apologetic...
    • To be clear, I expect to be paired with someone else when I show up as a single, especially on the weekends.  I have no desire to play as a single behind loads of foursomes. But as someone who is new to the area, I just don't have regular playing partners to play with (I did before I moved so I am not a total loner/loser). So at one of these courses (the preferred one of course), which with good weather is generally totally booked from opening to at least 2 p.m., my choice is either to not play or to book as a twosome.  If you book a twosome, they have no problem booking another twosome at the same time. Why is pairing a single with a twosome or threesome so problematic. To also be clear, this is a city course.  My house is way above average value for the city, so I am paying much more than average taxes to support this course.  Yet I'm being denied access to public facilities for being a single.   And if you're a public course denying access to singles, you are missing out on business. Force pair them up (sometimes you meet people to play with next time) and if they book as 4 but are really 2, charge them for it (or maybe be better to tell them NEXT TIME you will have to charge them for it). 
    • I hit them for a night to see what they were like.  I really liked the feel of them.  Would probably go in my bag if I hadn't bought 765's in 2017.  Sending you a PM as well. Pulled a grip off the 5 iron and finally saw the etching on the 4.  These are a KBS Tour stiff shaft.
    • A three-month suspension for weed? Dustin Johnson, a three-time offender, got 6 months for cocaine. I also find Garrigus's overly apologetic tone vexing. Maybe there's something else behind this? PGA Tour suspends Robert Garrigus for violating drug policy Robert Garrigus has been suspended by the PGA Tour for violating the Tour's anti-doping program. In a statement, Garrigus says the drug that...    
    • I agree with determining what your end game is and go from there. From my personal experience, I wish I would have gotten lessons from the very beginning. Learning to play just by playing led me to some very bad habits that are taking forever to get out of. I recommend lessons and also suggest Evolvr. I am currently working with Evolvr on my swing.
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Blog Entries

  • Today's Birthdays

    1. Dufferpauly
      Dufferpauly
      (107 years old)
    2. Galanga
      Galanga
      (57 years old)
    3. Smoore95788
      Smoore95788
      (31 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...