IGNORED

2-Year Golfer Looking to Upgrade My Clubs

EricBro
Note: This thread is 1501 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

I've been playing for two years with my starter set (Strata, marketed by Callaway).  Still struggling at the game (30 handicap), but I tried a couple of other clubs and I know I can do better than what I've got.  I stopped by Dick's one day and hit a Callaway Rogue X and a Ping (can't remember the model) 7-iron.  Definitely liked the Rogue better than the Ping - felt like there was more mass, and the Trackman said I was hitting it about 25 yards farther than my current clubs and the Ping.

There happened to be a Golf Show in town today and I hit with both a TourEdge (which I had previously swung at a Demo Day) and Callaway (with their Mavrik Max).  I like them both, but swinging them was not consecutive - they were at different places at the show.  I have one course here in town that fits and sells TourEdge (they set me up on a launch monitor at the show and were able to give me some numbers).  And, of course, there are multiple Callaway dealers, just not at that course.  The TourEdge guys were touting the price difference, but based in internet pricing at each manufacturer's website, they're only about $300 apart, so not a relevant difference.

Not sure how to do a valid comparison of the two.  Any thoughts?

If you're serious about new clubs, go get fit. It will cost $50 - $150 depending on where, and most places will apply the fitting to the price of new clubs if you buy from them. I wanted new irons, and went to Golf Galaxy. First question they ask is your handicap. Second, price range. I had hit the rogue x last year, really liked it, but wasn't ready. I went with the idea of buying new Callaways. I tried Cobra SZ, and it was best for my swing. I bought 8 clubs for $914.