Jump to content
IGNORED

Daily Rules Question


Asheville
 Share

Note: This thread is 888 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

A player may rotate his or her ball on the putting green after marking the position of the ball with his or her finger.
    A.    True
    B.    False
 

"Age improves with wine."
 
Wishon 919THI 11*
Wishon 925HL 4w
Wishon 335HL 3h & 4h
Wishon 755pc 5i, 6i, 7i, 8i & 9i
Tad Moore 485 PW
Callaway X 54*
Ping G2 Anser C
Callaway SuperSoft
Titleist StaDry
Kangaroo Hillcrest AB
Link to comment
Share on other sites

False, reason in Spoiler

Spoiler

14.1a requires the player to mark the position of the ball in one of two ways:

Use a ball-marker (a term defined in the Rules)

Hold a club on the ground right behind or next to the ball

Using a finger to mark the spot is not one of the permitted methods to mark the ball.

 

  • Informative 1

Dave

:callaway: Rogue SubZero Driver

:titleist: 915F 15 Fairway, 816 H1 19 Hybrid, AP2 4 iron to PW, Vokey 52, 56, and 60 wedges, ProV1 balls 
:ping: G5i putter, B60 version
 :ping:Hoofer Bag, complete with Newport Cup logo
:footjoy::true_linkswear:, and Ashworth shoes

the only thing wrong with this car is the nut behind the wheel.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

51 minutes ago, DaveP043 said:

False, reason in Spoiler

  Reveal hidden contents

14.1a requires the player to mark the position of the ball in one of two ways:

Use a ball-marker (a term defined in the Rules)

Hold a club on the ground right behind or next to the ball

Using a finger to mark the spot is not one of the permitted methods to mark the ball.

 

Spoiler

So a golf glove could be used instead, since it's an artificial object?  The tip of a glove? With the finger inside?

 

Craig
What's in the :ogio: Silencer bag (on the :clicgear: cart)
Driver: :callaway: Razr Fit 10.5°  
5 Wood: :tmade: Burner  
Hybrid: :cobra: Baffler DWS 20°
Irons: :ping: G400 
Wedge: :ping: Glide 2.0 54° ES grind 
Putter: :heavyputter:  midweight CX2
:aimpoint:,  :bushnell: Tour V4

Link to comment
Share on other sites

A prosthetic finger could be used...so long as it was either pocketed, or reattached, before continuing play.

  • Like 1

In der bag:
Cleveland Hi-Bore driver, Maltby 5 wood, Maltby hybrid, Maltby irons and wedges (23 to 50) Vokey 59/07, Cleveland Niblick (LH-42), and a Maltby mallet putter.                                                                                                                                                 "When the going gets tough...it's tough to get going."

Link to comment
Share on other sites

For @Missouri Swede, in my opinion if its not being worn, it might qualify, but if it IS being worn, no.  I can't really back that up, its just my interpretation.

Dave

:callaway: Rogue SubZero Driver

:titleist: 915F 15 Fairway, 816 H1 19 Hybrid, AP2 4 iron to PW, Vokey 52, 56, and 60 wedges, ProV1 balls 
:ping: G5i putter, B60 version
 :ping:Hoofer Bag, complete with Newport Cup logo
:footjoy::true_linkswear:, and Ashworth shoes

the only thing wrong with this car is the nut behind the wheel.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

2 hours ago, Asheville said:

A player may rotate his or her ball on the putting green after marking the position of the ball with his or her finger.
    A.    True
    B.    False
 

I'm going with False. Not with his or her own finger, … but maybe if you cut off somebody else's finger and that was your usual ball marker???? …. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Quote

A player may rotate his or her ball on the putting green...... (the OP question)

If the ball moves doesn't it get replaced w/o penalty under the new rules?   What if I accidentally kick my ball, don't I replace it to the original place and I couldn't be sure it's rotational orientation?  

I saw the spoilers from @DaveP043 and it makes sense. 

Not trying to troll and will end with the questions but curious.  

From the land of perpetual cloudiness.   I'm Denny

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Administrator

Only if it’s accidental.

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instructor Development, 5 Simple Keys®/Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins • Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 • "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 • Penn-State Behrend Head Coach • • • • • • • • • • :aimpoint: :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | 5SK.com | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Link to comment
Share on other sites

11 hours ago, Asheville said:

A player may rotate his or her ball on the putting green after marking the position of the ball with his or her finger.
    A.    True
    B.    False
 

The answer is false.

However, if that finger is in a gloved hand and the part of the glove used allows the player to accurately identify the spot the ball was lifted from to enable accurate replacement then the answer is true.

A ball marker must be an artificial object, per the definition.

  • Like 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

8 hours ago, fredf said:

The answer is false.

However, if that finger is in a gloved hand and the part of the glove used allows the player to accurately identify the spot the ball was lifted from to enable accurate replacement then the answer is true.

A ball marker must be an artificial object, per the definition.

I suggest you read the definition of a ball marker

Link to comment
Share on other sites

1 hour ago, fredf said:

I suggest you re-read my input.  It is the current official answer.  

What is the authority for that 'official answer' and where is it published?

Edited by Rulesman
Link to comment
Share on other sites

29 minutes ago, Rulesman said:

What is the authority for that 'official answer' and where is it published?

From an official body (one of the two) that provides rulings with the following statement at the bottom "This response is for your personal information and may not be posted or disclosed by email or internet posting."

I would prefer to see any ruling these bodies make published, except for obvious answers where someone failed to check the Official Guide carefully. I think publishing would support the cause of Rules education.

  • Like 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Moderator

Ball-Marker
An artificial object when used to mark the spot of a ball to be lifted, such as a tee, a coin, an object made to be a ball-marker or another small piece of equipment.

When a Rule refers to a ball-marker being moved, this means a ball-marker in place on the course to mark the spot of a ball that has been lifted and not yet replaced.

Scott

Titleist, Edel, Scotty Cameron Putter, Snell - AimPoint - Evolvr - MirrorVision -MEVO+

My Swing Thread

boogielicious - Adjective describing the perfect surf wave

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Speaking of ball marking, and many worked out that the answer to the first question is  - False. Thanks

-----------------

Q2 When must a ball be marked?
    A.    When playing "lift, clean and place".
    B.    When taking relief from a cart path.
    C.    When lifted because it interferes with another player’s line-of-play.
----------------

"Age improves with wine."
 
Wishon 919THI 11*
Wishon 925HL 4w
Wishon 335HL 3h & 4h
Wishon 755pc 5i, 6i, 7i, 8i & 9i
Tad Moore 485 PW
Callaway X 54*
Ping G2 Anser C
Callaway SuperSoft
Titleist StaDry
Kangaroo Hillcrest AB
Link to comment
Share on other sites

1 hour ago, fredf said:

From an official body (one of the two) that provides rulings with the following statement at the bottom "This response is for your personal information and may not be posted or disclosed by email or internet posting."

I would prefer to see any ruling these bodies make published, except for obvious answers where someone failed to check the Official Guide carefully. I think publishing would support the cause of Rules education.

Can you explain their reasoning without quoting directly?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Note: This thread is 888 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Unfortunately, your content contains terms that we do not allow. Please edit your content to remove the highlighted words below.
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

 Share



×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...