Jump to content
Check out the Spin Axis Podcast! ×
Note: This thread is 2114 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Posted

A player may rotate his or her ball on the putting green after marking the position of the ball with his or her finger.
    A.    True
    B.    False
 

"Age improves with wine."
 
Wishon 919THI 11*
Wishon 925HL 4w
Wishon 335HL 3h & 4h
Wishon 755pc 5i, 6i, 7i, 8i & 9i
Tad Moore 485 PW
Callaway X 54*
Ping G2 Anser C
Callaway SuperSoft
Titleist StaDry
Kangaroo Hillcrest AB

Posted

I'm going to say True.   

 

btw..  @Asheville, I appreciate all of the rules work you are doing here.   I'm slowly learning!

From the land of perpetual cloudiness.   I'm Denny

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Moderator
Posted

False, reason in Spoiler

Spoiler

14.1a requires the player to mark the position of the ball in one of two ways:

Use a ball-marker (a term defined in the Rules)

Hold a club on the ground right behind or next to the ball

Using a finger to mark the spot is not one of the permitted methods to mark the ball.

 

  • Informative 1

Dave

:callaway: Rogue SubZero Driver

:titleist: 915F 15 Fairway, 816 H1 19 Hybrid, AP2 4 iron to PW, Vokey 52, 56, and 60 wedges, ProV1 balls 
:ping: G5i putter, B60 version
 :ping:Hoofer Bag, complete with Newport Cup logo
:footjoy::true_linkswear:, and Ashworth shoes

the only thing wrong with this car is the nut behind the wheel.

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
51 minutes ago, DaveP043 said:

False, reason in Spoiler

  Reveal hidden contents

14.1a requires the player to mark the position of the ball in one of two ways:

Use a ball-marker (a term defined in the Rules)

Hold a club on the ground right behind or next to the ball

Using a finger to mark the spot is not one of the permitted methods to mark the ball.

 

Spoiler

So a golf glove could be used instead, since it's an artificial object?  The tip of a glove? With the finger inside?

 

Craig
What's in the :ogio: Silencer bag (on the :clicgear: cart)
Driver: :callaway: Razr Fit 10.5°  
5 Wood: :tmade: Burner  
Hybrid: :cobra: Baffler DWS 20°
Irons: :ping: G400 
Wedge: :ping: Glide 2.0 54° ES grind 
Putter: :heavyputter:  midweight CX2
:aimpoint:,  :bushnell: Tour V4

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

A prosthetic finger could be used...so long as it was either pocketed, or reattached, before continuing play.

  • Like 1

In der bag:
Cleveland Hi-Bore driver, Maltby 5 wood, Maltby hybrid, Maltby irons and wedges (23 to 50) Vokey 59/07, Cleveland Niblick (LH-42), and a Maltby mallet putter.                                                                                                                                                 "When the going gets tough...it's tough to get going."

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Moderator
Posted

For @Missouri Swede, in my opinion if its not being worn, it might qualify, but if it IS being worn, no.  I can't really back that up, its just my interpretation.

Dave

:callaway: Rogue SubZero Driver

:titleist: 915F 15 Fairway, 816 H1 19 Hybrid, AP2 4 iron to PW, Vokey 52, 56, and 60 wedges, ProV1 balls 
:ping: G5i putter, B60 version
 :ping:Hoofer Bag, complete with Newport Cup logo
:footjoy::true_linkswear:, and Ashworth shoes

the only thing wrong with this car is the nut behind the wheel.

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

The requirement is that it is an object made to be a ball-marker or another small piece of equipment.

IMO a glove satisfies neither.

 


Posted
2 hours ago, Asheville said:

A player may rotate his or her ball on the putting green after marking the position of the ball with his or her finger.
    A.    True
    B.    False
 

I'm going with False. Not with his or her own finger, … but maybe if you cut off somebody else's finger and that was your usual ball marker???? …. 

My bag is an ever-changing combination of clubs. 

A mix I am forever tinkering with. 

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
Quote

A player may rotate his or her ball on the putting green...... (the OP question)

If the ball moves doesn't it get replaced w/o penalty under the new rules?   What if I accidentally kick my ball, don't I replace it to the original place and I couldn't be sure it's rotational orientation?  

I saw the spoilers from @DaveP043 and it makes sense. 

Not trying to troll and will end with the questions but curious.  

From the land of perpetual cloudiness.   I'm Denny

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator
Posted

Only if it’s accidental.

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
11 hours ago, Asheville said:

A player may rotate his or her ball on the putting green after marking the position of the ball with his or her finger.
    A.    True
    B.    False
 

The answer is false.

However, if that finger is in a gloved hand and the part of the glove used allows the player to accurately identify the spot the ball was lifted from to enable accurate replacement then the answer is true.

A ball marker must be an artificial object, per the definition.

  • Like 1

Posted
8 hours ago, fredf said:

The answer is false.

However, if that finger is in a gloved hand and the part of the glove used allows the player to accurately identify the spot the ball was lifted from to enable accurate replacement then the answer is true.

A ball marker must be an artificial object, per the definition.

I suggest you read the definition of a ball marker


Posted
10 minutes ago, Rulesman said:

I suggest you read the definition of a ball marker

I suggest you re-read my input.  It is the current official answer.  


Posted (edited)
1 hour ago, fredf said:

I suggest you re-read my input.  It is the current official answer.  

What is the authority for that 'official answer' and where is it published?

Edited by Rulesman

Posted
29 minutes ago, Rulesman said:

What is the authority for that 'official answer' and where is it published?

From an official body (one of the two) that provides rulings with the following statement at the bottom "This response is for your personal information and may not be posted or disclosed by email or internet posting."

I would prefer to see any ruling these bodies make published, except for obvious answers where someone failed to check the Official Guide carefully. I think publishing would support the cause of Rules education.

  • Like 1

  • Moderator
Posted

Ball-Marker
An artificial object when used to mark the spot of a ball to be lifted, such as a tee, a coin, an object made to be a ball-marker or another small piece of equipment.

When a Rule refers to a ball-marker being moved, this means a ball-marker in place on the course to mark the spot of a ball that has been lifted and not yet replaced.

Scott

Titleist, Edel, Scotty Cameron Putter, Snell - AimPoint - Evolvr - MirrorVision

My Swing Thread

boogielicious - Adjective describing the perfect surf wave

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

Speaking of ball marking, and many worked out that the answer to the first question is  - False. Thanks

-----------------

Q2 When must a ball be marked?
    A.    When playing "lift, clean and place".
    B.    When taking relief from a cart path.
    C.    When lifted because it interferes with another player’s line-of-play.
----------------

"Age improves with wine."
 
Wishon 919THI 11*
Wishon 925HL 4w
Wishon 335HL 3h & 4h
Wishon 755pc 5i, 6i, 7i, 8i & 9i
Tad Moore 485 PW
Callaway X 54*
Ping G2 Anser C
Callaway SuperSoft
Titleist StaDry
Kangaroo Hillcrest AB

Posted
1 hour ago, fredf said:

From an official body (one of the two) that provides rulings with the following statement at the bottom "This response is for your personal information and may not be posted or disclosed by email or internet posting."

I would prefer to see any ruling these bodies make published, except for obvious answers where someone failed to check the Official Guide carefully. I think publishing would support the cause of Rules education.

Can you explain their reasoning without quoting directly?


Note: This thread is 2114 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • TST Partners

    PlayBetter
    Golfer's Journal
    ShotScope
    The Stack System
    FitForGolf
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct: Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package.

    Coupon Codes (save 10-20%): "IACAS" for Mevo/Stack/FitForGolf, "IACASPLUS" for Mevo+/Pro Package, and "THESANDTRAP" for ShotScope. 15% off TourStriker (no code).
  • Posts

    • The term I hear most often is "double teeing" which means the course/club has starting times from both the #1 and #10 tee.  I have encountered this many times and we know if we are the first group off #10, we may well get to #1 and have to wait because there are groups still with tee times yet to tee of #1.  In most instances, where the course/club has a starter, he normally explains this situation.  In this case, the pro advised what you would could/would encounter making the turn to #1.  And, that is exactly what happened.  Probably would have been wise to talk to the pro after playing back 9 and ask when you could go off #1 since apparently that club does not double tee.   Regardless, the outburst towards the other group was uncalled for.  And, I don't blame the member for being upset.  As a member of a private club, you are responsible for the actions of your guest.  I have played many times as a guest in the UK and I am pretty damn sure my host was responsible for my actions while at the club.  I know at the clubs I have belonged to here in the US, that is the way it is.  As a matter of fact, the member may find himself being brought before management and facing possible suspension.  So, I don't blame him for being upset.  However, as the host, he really should have stepped up and put a stop to the OP's actions.  OP makes this statement "I now understand that standards are different on the "private course." But I'll take those lessons to the muni, too."  No, the standards are not different.  You, sir, seem to be just a bit hard headed and belligerent, even if you are college professor...which possibly explains a lot.   JMHO
    • Day 32: worked for about 10 minutes on my drill. Filmed it as well for a check in. I think it’s slightly better but still seeing some issues. 
    • Day 44 (26 Dec 25)  -  played in the Friday men’s shootout with a twist - used the Toney Penna persimmons and MacGregor blades - had a blast playing these clubs.  They really help in zoning in on making solid ball contact.  Scoring was solid - had several looks at birdie and had a few par saves.  Overall a day of focused course management. 
    • Day 2: 2025.12.27 Eighteen holes at Kauri Cliffs. Focusing on trying to keep flex in right leg during backswing.
    • Day 136 12-26 Had a different practice planned today but life happened. Worked on "wide to wide" and still working on remaining flowy. Starting the club head in front of the ball as a drill, is helping with the flow of the swing.
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.