Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
ProV1xMan

Hole in One on a Mulligan

67 posts / 12428 viewsLast Reply

Recommended Posts

Hi my name is chris and i just joined the forums.  I just started started golfing april of 2010.  i went out with some family in october to a course called cedar hills. was having a pretty good day for me.  we got to the 16 hole which is a par 3. the four of us all hit a bad shot off the tee and decided we should all hit a mulligan. everyone lands on the green and its my shot. a friend of mine hit his ball about a foot away from the hole and i said to him how can i hit now after that lol.  i took out my pitching wedge and took aim at the flag my ball hit the front of the green and rolled forward right by his ball hit the flag and dropped in. no one could see my ball but we all heard it hit the pin. i said theres no way it went in. we drove up to the green got out and sure enough my ball was in the hole. everyone went crazy even the guys waiting on the next tee. should i feel good about it? it was a mulligan so technically not a true hole in one.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Obviously not a hole in one. I don't know what you mean when you say "technically not" a hole in one. It was not an ace. Simple as that. You weren't playing by the rules. It wasn't your first and only shot on the hole. Not sure how you would even consider this as an ace, You may as well say you have one putted after missing a putt and having a practice putt and holing it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Just take it as a great shot and be happy with it.  It is fun when you have shots like that because you know that you can do it and it's not a fluke.  It will make you a more confident golfer.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

It's a good shot, but only a par for you. Hope you didn't waste your only HIO on that shot. :-P

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Great shot, and any way you slice it, holing out from the tee box is something to be proud of.  If I were you, I'd just hurry up and get a "real" one so you don't have to explain the asterisk next to your ace.  After all, you've done it once, how hard can it be?  :-P

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Great shot is a great shot. But still not an ace, you got a par though thats good.

Its funny my friend holed out from 200 yesterday on a par4, only problem is it was for double bogey lol. He took three Tee shots 2 went in the woods and his 3rd in the rough 200 out and he nailed it right into the cup. We went nuts but still gave him a 6 lol.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You could call it a hole in one, but every time you tell the story you'd have to lie, and the golf goods frown upon lying. Your be fighting you own conscious as well.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

just curious, what did you put on your card?

Who puts anything on a card when they're taking mulligans?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Man do I wish I could get this statement to sink in with some of my friends.

Originally Posted by Shorty

Quote:

Originally Posted by mck

just curious, what did you put on your card?

Who puts anything on a card when they're taking mulligans?



Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

the four of us all hit a bad shot off the tee and decided we should all hit a mulligan.

If your ball was not in a hazard or out of bounds, you didn't make any score on the second ball because you didn't hole out the ball that was in play.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'll tell you why this thread has REALLY got me annoyed.

It's one thing to have debates about how far we hit the ball and which putters are best - that's all good fun.

But here we have the game debased to the point where when the inevitable non golfer says "Have you ever had a hole in one?" the answer becomes "yes" , when in actual fact, the person hasn't even parred the damn hole.

And then to have the hide to say that "technically" it's not an ace as a sort of disclaimer, but claiming it nevertheless.

And who the hell plays mulligans   - especially after saying he was having a good day up until the 16th?  Why throw away your score by "technically" being a cheat?

No wonder the handicaps of so many people are regarded as a complete joke by those who actually play by the rules.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites



Originally Posted by Texian

the four of us all hit a bad shot off the tee and decided we should all hit a mulligan.

If your ball was not in a hazard or out of bounds, you didn't make any score on the second ball because you didn't hole out the ball that was in play.



I disagree.  You can always just declare a ball unplayable and take the option of rehitting at a penalty of stroke and distance.  It was a legitimate par.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades





I disagree.  You can always just declare a ball unplayable and take the option of rehitting at a penalty of stroke and distance.  It was a legitimate par.





He didn't declare it unplayable. They all just hit another off the tee because they felt like it. You can be pretty sure that if he'd duffed iit he would have gone and played his original. Do you seriously think he would have said "shit! Now I'm lying three and my first ball is near the green!" The logic of his argument is that if you stand on the tee and hit a thousand balls and one goes in it's an ace. Pretty weird.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  



×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...