• Announcements

    • iacas

      GAME GOLF Ryder Cup Contest   09/22/2016

      Join our GAME GOLF Ryder Cup Challenge to win an autographed GAME GOLF, a Pebble Steel watch, and many more great prizes!
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
DirtCheap

Do you tee off while the group ahead of you is putting out?

63 posts in this topic

If you're on a hole that offeres no chance of driving a green, do you go ahead and tee off before the group ahead of you has holed out?

Say a 320+ yard hole?

We've always done it in an effort to keep the pace of play clipping along, but I have never considered if we should.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Want to get rid of this advertisement? Sign up (or log in) today! It's free!

Yes. If the group ahead is that far out a will tee off.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

As long as they are out of your range, I say go for it. I've never had anyone say anything about it. But if you can hit 270, make sure they are at least 40 past that.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Sure.  Just make sure that they are past your "best ever" drive and there shouldn't be a problem.  If there's no one behind you, though, giving them the time to get off of the green might be preferred.  I like the feeling of having the hole, or the course, to myself or my group, even if it's just a feeling.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by Mattplusness

So you're the dude slowing down my rounds

FWIW, today in the British Open one of the guys drove the green on 16 while the group in front was still on the green.

There were no angry confrontations, cussing, or fights.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Originally Posted by DirtCheap

If you're on a hole that offeres no chance of driving a green, do you go ahead and tee off before the group ahead of you has holed out?

Say a 320+ yard hole?

We've always done it in an effort to keep the pace of play clipping along, but I have never considered if we should.

Are you asking if on a short par 4 you tee off when the group ahead is putting out?

Of course you do.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If you cannot hit the group in front, yes, there's no reason not to.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Originally Posted by DirtCheap

If you're on a hole that offeres no chance of driving a green, do you go ahead and tee off before the group ahead of you has holed out?

Say a 320+ yard hole?

We've always done it in an effort to keep the pace of play clipping along, but I have never considered if we should.

If I was hitting something that could possibly reach, then I'd wait. If I was concerned about pace of play, which I typically am, then I'd take less club and tee off accordingly.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Take the farthest shot you've ever hit with that club and add 20 yards. If they are farther than that you're good to go. If not, just wait.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If I was hitting something that could possibly reach, then I'd wait. If I was concerned about pace of play, which I typically am, then I'd take less club and tee off accordingly.

Really? We have some par 4's that, at one time or another, we've all reached, but the ball was rolling along pretty slowly by the time it got there. I'd never pull 7w or whatever in the interest of pace of play. By the same token, if a guy rolls one up on a 320 yard par 4 and I'm standing on the green, I'm going to say, "Nice shot" and watch to see if he makes eagle if I can see him from the next tee box.... ....as long as it doesn't hold up play, of course

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Sure, I do it all the time. Not that many 320 yard holes on my course, but there are a couple and I always tee off when others are on the green. I stand a 0.01% chance of getting anywhere near the green.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by LovinItAll

Really? We have some par 4's that, at one time or another, we've all reached, but the ball was rolling along pretty slowly by the time it got there.

I'd never pull 7w or whatever in the interest of pace of play. By the same token, if a guy rolls one up on a 320 yard par 4 and I'm standing on the green, I'm going to say, "Nice shot" and watch to see if he makes eagle if I can see him from the next tee box....

....as long as it doesn't hold up play, of course

Yes as long as you know the absolute best you could do is roll up on them then go ahead, anyone that would get bent out of shape over that needs a different hobby, flying it into the group is a whole different situation, its all about peoples safety and why not splurge on a laser rangefinder just so you know exactly how far you are so there is no doubt.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

On every par 4, I hit as soon as the group gets out of the range of the club I'm hitting +10-20 more yards.  Waiting any longer is just an uneccessary delay.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by LovinItAll

Really? We have some par 4's that, at one time or another, we've all reached, but the ball was rolling along pretty slowly by the time it got there.

I'd never pull 7w or whatever in the interest of pace of play. By the same token, if a guy rolls one up on a 320 yard par 4 and I'm standing on the green, I'm going to say, "Nice shot" and watch to see if he makes eagle if I can see him from the next tee box....

....as long as it doesn't hold up play, of course

exactly. A few times around between me and my friends will say "If you hit it all the way to them, they cant even be mad" and like somebody else said. Even if you do hit the elusive 300 yard drive its probably carrying 270 or so and just rolling up if the distance was questionable if you could reach it or not. I NEVER want the group in front of me or the pace of play to dictate what club I am using. My game isn't good enough as it is. I dont need to make the course longer for myself too.

Side note: deja vu. typing while on the sand trap and watching zac johnson tee off.(Im re watching the open) I guess watching golf while talking about golf isnt that rare for me though.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yes as long as you know the absolute best you could do is roll up on them then go ahead, anyone that would get bent out of shape over that needs a different hobby, flying it into the group is a whole different situation, its all about peoples safety and why not splurge on a laser rangefinder just so you know exactly how far you are so there is no doubt.

I agree 100%. Still, sometimes I'll look back at a guy standing at about 275 on a par 5 waiting on us and I'll think, 'Go for it, big boy.' That's usually followed by us watching his second roll to about 50-100 yards out as we're pulling away. Our 'incoming' rule is this: If you [b]fly[/b] one into us once, we'll chalk it up to a mistake. If it happens twice, there's going to be a discussion.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by LovinItAll

I agree 100%. Still, sometimes I'll look back at a guy standing at about 275 on a par 5 waiting on us and I'll think, 'Go for it, big boy.' That's usually followed by us watching his second roll to about 50-100 yards out as we're pulling away.

Our 'incoming' rule is this: If you fly one into us once, we'll chalk it up to a mistake. If it happens twice, there's going to be a discussion.

Naw once is one time too many IMO, not saying there needs to be a confrontation but I don't want to leave the chance of a second ball flying into us, golf balls have the potential to kill if they hit a person just right and why would anyone take the chance of ruining their own life let alone someone elses. I do believe a golfer can be found criminaly negligent if they hit and killed someone on the course if that person was in the direct line they were intending to hit their ball even if they thought there was no way they were going to hit it that far. I say the roll up on them in the absolute rarest occasions and when you absolutely know there is zero chance of carrying a shot that far.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Last time I did that I rolled a fade 320+ yards on a smooth fairway over a lake and nearly bumped one of the guy's shoes.  I caught up to apologize and turns out I knew them!  Joined them for the rest of the afternoon.

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2016 TST Partners

    GAME Golf
    PING Golf
    Lowest Score Wins
  • Posts

    • No offense, but in my opinion this makes you unprepared to discuss it.
    • Every year, something is changed in a club design.  The real differences are minimal, assuming your current clubs are from within the last 10 or so years (just throwing out a random number).

      However, I just got upgraded to the Ping G driver from the Ping G30, and the big change I noticed is the face of the driver has a bit more friction on the G (at least as I understand it).  What it seems to do is reduce side spin, while retaining normal-ish back spin (I use the low-spin tec version).  When I miss-hit a drive with my old driver vs the newer one, I see noticeably less slice or hook with the newer version.
        When I go through those articles, I mostly read through the reviews of them.  It gives a better idea of what might be better.
    • Right, but then you're just getting into however different people value different things (including money, the performance of their golf clubs, the looks of the golf clubs, the value of a name brand, etc.). People have different values. For something like this, there's rarely any agreement on those, nor is there any "right" or "wrong" answers. I use a set of muscle backs that could just as easily be from the 1950s as now. The tech on those isn't really improving much (though the shafts are undoubtedly much better).
    • We went round and round a bit on this last year, but I don't remember seeing decision 15-3b/1 mentioned.  The difference between this decision and 27/6 seems to be that B's ball is found in a timely manner.  The finding of the "other" ball makes it virtually certain that A's ball was moved by an outside agency (Player B).  In the other thread, B's ball is never found.  27/6 allows the same kind of relief as long as the "other" ball is found within the 5-minute search limit.  As I read the rules and decisions, this is a timing issue,  the rules require a decision to be made within 5 minutes of beginning the search for A's ball.  If the "other ball" isn't found, its presumed lost.   In a way this is somewhat similar to another discussion we had, where a player's ball apparently hit a cart path and went much further than anticipated.  He searched and didn't find it at the expected distance, went back and played another tee shot for the lost ball, and eventually found the original much closer to the green.  He couldn't then put the original into play and "negate" the second tee ball, as he'd already searched for 5 minutes. I don't know if the difference in the timing of the discovery is adequate justification for the different outcomes, but that seems to me to be the defining factor.  It would be interesting to get the take of some of the USGA rules experts on this, not on what the rules say, but on why they draw the distinction.
    • I'd have thought there would be a sliding scale, akin to a volume discount. Not just $x/18 = per-hole cost. Or if there are obvious points where it's not terrible to get back to the clubhouse, make 3-hole, 7-hole, 11-hole, 15-hole, and 18-hole rates. Then you could even consider the par of the holes. Heck, if the course started par 5, 4, 5 I'd be tempted to just play the first three holes three times.  I'd get more for my money than playing holes 4, 5, and 6 which are pars 3, 4, 3.
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Images

  • Today's Birthdays

    1. bandstan
      bandstan
      (46 years old)
    2. boobiemiles
      boobiemiles
      (25 years old)
    3. ElsieOlson
      ElsieOlson
      (77 years old)
    4. Matt66
      Matt66
      (26 years old)
  • Blog Entries