Advertisement
Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Break80

Can I claim this Double-Eagle?

15 posts in this topic

OK, I admit, I didn't hit both shots, so the obvious answer is no. But hear me out ...

Backstory: Playing in a scramble, we were put on Hole No. 12 at Pleasant Valley Golf Club in Stewartstown, PA. I was playing with my three brothers, and one of them hit the best drive of the group. It was a nice little draw around the dogleg that left us about 185 yards in. I was third to hit, and knocked a nice iron towards the green, which is a somewhat blind shot. Much to our surprise, we got to the green, and my ball was in the hole. We were actually 3-under par after 1 hole!

So, I say that anyone can knock a drive around a corner, and the hard part is sinking it from 185 yards. My brothers don't agree, and they ignore my claims of making a Double-Eagle, which I usually only make to get under their skin. (I'm the youngest so, I've got many of years of being picked on to make up for)

What says the group?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Sign up (or log in) today! It's free (and you won't see this ad anymore)!

Sign up (or log in) today! It's free (and you won't see this ad anymore)!

I almost have a similar story.  I used to play in a fund-raiser golf tournament with a friend for his alma mater's athletic department.  Lucky for me, his alma mater was UCSD, and for a few years the tournament was held at Torrey Pines South.  To raise even more money, they had the guys from the UCSD golf team standing on the 6th tee willing to hit your drive for you for an extra $5.

Now, I don't remember the exact distance he left us, but it was in the middle of the fairway and somewhere in the vicinity of 220, and I hit a 2-iron (not particularly beautiful - low and running but straight) to about a foot for a tap-in eagle.

Had that gone in, I certainly wouldn't answer with an unqualified yes when the question of double eagles ever arose ... but you can be darn sure I'd tell the story every time. :beer:

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I'll go with the "It's easy to assume you could have hit that nice draw-drive. . ."

Assuming you hit from the Blues on Number 12 450 yards with 185 left implies something like a 240 to 250 yard drive?

Let them know that even a 18 handicap could do that!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Oh that was YOU? I was on the 12th green that morning, and some ball conked me in the head from a blind shot from around the corner. I f'ed with you and put the ball in the hole.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I would say " Your "Team" made the DBL Eagle and you made a great shot to hole out from the fairway.

If it would had been your drive and approach shot Cu doos, congrats !!!!

It still was probably a very fun moment under all circumstances.

Club Rat

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

if its goofing on your brothers, then absolutely.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

if its goofing on your brothers, then absolutely.

Here's to older brothers! :beer:

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

OK, I admit, I didn't hit both shots, so the obvious answer is no. But hear me out ... Backstory: Playing in a scramble, we were put on Hole No. 12 at Pleasant Valley Golf Club in Stewartstown, PA. I was playing with my three brothers, and one of them hit the best drive of the group. It was a nice little draw around the dogleg that left us about 185 yards in. I was third to hit, and knocked a nice iron towards the green, which is a somewhat blind shot. Much to our surprise, we got to the green, and my ball was in the hole. We were actually 3-under par after 1 hole! So, I say that anyone can knock a drive around a corner, and the hard part is sinking it from 185 yards. My brothers don't agree, and they ignore my claims of making a Double-Eagle, which I usually only make to get under their skin. (I'm the youngest so, I've got many of years of being picked on to make up for) What says the group?

Perfectly legit double eagle to me, you should have bought the clubhouse a round.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

From personal experience it depends on the company whether it's worth bringing up at all, legit or not. I have never made an albatross and likely never will. But I managed 5-6 eagles last year, 3 on the same hole. Even though they were legit most people's attention to the tale waned when I mentioned it's a 480 yd par 5. I spent more time describing how the hole plays and why it's difficult than it's worth. Same course has an even shorter par 5 and I've never gotten there in two because of the way it's laid out. They always pay more attention the eagles I made on the longer par 5's even though I mention those holes are easier to play.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Congrats on the shot, but I'd have a hard time claiming that's a double eagle.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Oh that was YOU? I was on the 12th green that morning, and some ball conked me in the head from a blind shot from around the corner. I f'ed with you and put the ball in the hole.

Aah, that explains it.

Actually though, it was a shotgun, and we were the first ones out on 12. However, if you were in 17 fairway, I might have hit you with my massive slice I hit off the tee. I left that part out of the story purposely!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

No.

That's a good (and lucky) shot. Nothing else.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

For the sake of messing with your brothers, then absolutely yes, it is an albatross.

For the purposes of claiming it to others, the answer is sadly no, but I think you knew that already! ;-)

About 4 years ago, my scramble group eagled a par 5 using all 3 of my shots. Even then I couldn't bring myself to consider it a "real" eagle. It's one thing to pull your 3 wood when your partner has already laid up to 50 yards in the middle, and a whole different beast when you have to deal with the consequences of a bad shot. Somehow, the O.B. on the left didn't look so daunting when I knew that we would be looking at a likely birdie regardless of how well or poorly I hit it.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

Advertisement
Advertisement


  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2017 TST Partners

    PING Golf
    Leupold Golf
    Snell Golf
    Talamore Golf Resort
    Lowest Score Wins
  • Posts

    • Because everyone gets bored of blue skies now and again! Crazy winds and serious mood-lighting! First hole has the signature lighthouse behind the green and a great linksy fairway, second is a 114 yard par three that played about 140 yesterday.  
    • A good afternoon of birthday practice yesterday. Did a lot of short game work and went out to the course way after the last tee time to put them in practice in 'real' situations. Finally I did a nice putting drill to gauge areas to focus on - this will be a bit of a regular thing that I go back to now and again to judge progress. A few photos from on-course work: Downwind - 15mph and dispersion from shots at 125 yards, 115, 100 and 75. Nearly pulled the wedge from 75 into a bunker, which would have been horrendous, so that's a bit worse than it looks. Delighted with the rest and all on the middle tier of a three tier green. After about 10 minutes of practising, from 50 yards using a variety of clubs (furthest to nearest) - putter, wedge, hybrid chip. Had to come up a big tier, so pretty pleased with this. Hybrid chip was the right play in that it took the tier out of play, but my default would have always been wedge. Just nice to add another shot to my game - although it will need more practice. Putting: Just need to make more inside 10 feet. Great not to have any 3 putts though! Hole Ft Break Score 1 Score 2 Score 3 Score 4 Score 5 1.         3ft Straight 1         2.         6ft R/L uphill 1         3.         9ft L/R downhill 2         4.         12ft R/L downhill 2         5.         15ft L/R 2         6.         4ft slight break downhill 1         7.         8ft R/L 2         8.         12ft L/R 2         9.         16ft L/R downhill 2         10.     20ft L/R uphill 2         11.     5ft slight break 2         12.     10ft L/R 2         13.     15ft R/L 2         14.     20ft Straightish 1         15.     25ft Double Break 2         16.     6ft R/L downhill 2         17.     33ft Slight uphill 2         18.     45ft Slight downhill 2         Total 32         Strokes Gained -2.81        
    • 26/2/17 - more slow takeaway work. Heading to the range later and will spend time really working on transitioning this work to full swing. I think the feel needs to be that my left arm is glued to my stomach, but will check with video later.
    • Thank you! Got out for a few holes so it was a good day in spite of work!
    • 2/25: Played two rounds today with dad at a different course than usual. Shot 96 and 93. A few nice strings of pars and made several amazing putts (). Mostly bogeys other than that but managed a couple of absolute blow-up holes in each round that helped to guarantee 90+ scores from an otherwise very nice day of golf. I could complain about "sand-traps" sans-a-single-spec-of-sand with 10-foot wide puddles in them, or mushy fairways, or waiting 5-minutes for the 4-some in front of you on every shot, but there wasn't a notes field on the scorecard.  Practice is paying off, though. Hit my drives farther than ever, draws when I wanted them, and the fade didn't let me down when I needed it. 3/4 "flighted" shots are the new go-to approach of choice all the way out to 160+ with my 3-iron, and (n)GIRs have jumped up considerably. I've rambled on about my short-game improvements before, but it continues. Holed a pitch shot from about 10 yards and stopped 2 others 6 inches from the pin. Gotta play some more rounds from the front so I get used to stringing pars together. Realized today that I don't just get nervous about it, I also get cocky. Weird combination. 
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Blog Entries

  • Today's Birthdays

    1. Catcher20
      Catcher20
      (27 years old)
    2. JD15
      JD15
      (52 years old)
  • Get Great Gear with Amazon