• Announcements

    • iacas

      Visit FlagstickRule.com   03/13/2017

      Visit the site flagstickrule.com to read about and sign a petition for the USGA/R&A regarding the one terrible rule in the proposed "modernized" rules for 2019.
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Break80

Can I claim this Double-Eagle?

15 posts in this topic

OK, I admit, I didn't hit both shots, so the obvious answer is no. But hear me out ...

Backstory: Playing in a scramble, we were put on Hole No. 12 at Pleasant Valley Golf Club in Stewartstown, PA. I was playing with my three brothers, and one of them hit the best drive of the group. It was a nice little draw around the dogleg that left us about 185 yards in. I was third to hit, and knocked a nice iron towards the green, which is a somewhat blind shot. Much to our surprise, we got to the green, and my ball was in the hole. We were actually 3-under par after 1 hole!

So, I say that anyone can knock a drive around a corner, and the hard part is sinking it from 185 yards. My brothers don't agree, and they ignore my claims of making a Double-Eagle, which I usually only make to get under their skin. (I'm the youngest so, I've got many of years of being picked on to make up for)

What says the group?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Sign up (or log in) today! It's free (and you won't see this ad anymore)!

Sign up (or log in) today! It's free (and you won't see this ad anymore)!

I almost have a similar story.  I used to play in a fund-raiser golf tournament with a friend for his alma mater's athletic department.  Lucky for me, his alma mater was UCSD, and for a few years the tournament was held at Torrey Pines South.  To raise even more money, they had the guys from the UCSD golf team standing on the 6th tee willing to hit your drive for you for an extra $5.

Now, I don't remember the exact distance he left us, but it was in the middle of the fairway and somewhere in the vicinity of 220, and I hit a 2-iron (not particularly beautiful - low and running but straight) to about a foot for a tap-in eagle.

Had that gone in, I certainly wouldn't answer with an unqualified yes when the question of double eagles ever arose ... but you can be darn sure I'd tell the story every time. :beer:

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I'll go with the "It's easy to assume you could have hit that nice draw-drive. . ."

Assuming you hit from the Blues on Number 12 450 yards with 185 left implies something like a 240 to 250 yard drive?

Let them know that even a 18 handicap could do that!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Oh that was YOU? I was on the 12th green that morning, and some ball conked me in the head from a blind shot from around the corner. I f'ed with you and put the ball in the hole.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I would say " Your "Team" made the DBL Eagle and you made a great shot to hole out from the fairway.

If it would had been your drive and approach shot Cu doos, congrats !!!!

It still was probably a very fun moment under all circumstances.

Club Rat

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

if its goofing on your brothers, then absolutely.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

if its goofing on your brothers, then absolutely.

Here's to older brothers! :beer:

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

OK, I admit, I didn't hit both shots, so the obvious answer is no. But hear me out ... Backstory: Playing in a scramble, we were put on Hole No. 12 at Pleasant Valley Golf Club in Stewartstown, PA. I was playing with my three brothers, and one of them hit the best drive of the group. It was a nice little draw around the dogleg that left us about 185 yards in. I was third to hit, and knocked a nice iron towards the green, which is a somewhat blind shot. Much to our surprise, we got to the green, and my ball was in the hole. We were actually 3-under par after 1 hole! So, I say that anyone can knock a drive around a corner, and the hard part is sinking it from 185 yards. My brothers don't agree, and they ignore my claims of making a Double-Eagle, which I usually only make to get under their skin. (I'm the youngest so, I've got many of years of being picked on to make up for) What says the group?

Perfectly legit double eagle to me, you should have bought the clubhouse a round.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

From personal experience it depends on the company whether it's worth bringing up at all, legit or not. I have never made an albatross and likely never will. But I managed 5-6 eagles last year, 3 on the same hole. Even though they were legit most people's attention to the tale waned when I mentioned it's a 480 yd par 5. I spent more time describing how the hole plays and why it's difficult than it's worth. Same course has an even shorter par 5 and I've never gotten there in two because of the way it's laid out. They always pay more attention the eagles I made on the longer par 5's even though I mention those holes are easier to play.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Congrats on the shot, but I'd have a hard time claiming that's a double eagle.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Oh that was YOU? I was on the 12th green that morning, and some ball conked me in the head from a blind shot from around the corner. I f'ed with you and put the ball in the hole.

Aah, that explains it.

Actually though, it was a shotgun, and we were the first ones out on 12. However, if you were in 17 fairway, I might have hit you with my massive slice I hit off the tee. I left that part out of the story purposely!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

No.

That's a good (and lucky) shot. Nothing else.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

For the sake of messing with your brothers, then absolutely yes, it is an albatross.

For the purposes of claiming it to others, the answer is sadly no, but I think you knew that already! ;-)

About 4 years ago, my scramble group eagled a par 5 using all 3 of my shots. Even then I couldn't bring myself to consider it a "real" eagle. It's one thing to pull your 3 wood when your partner has already laid up to 50 yards in the middle, and a whole different beast when you have to deal with the consequences of a bad shot. Somehow, the O.B. on the left didn't look so daunting when I knew that we would be looking at a likely birdie regardless of how well or poorly I hit it.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2017 TST Partners

    PING Golf
    Leupold Golf
    Snell Golf
    Talamore Golf Resort
    Lowest Score Wins
  • Posts

    • First round foursome clubchampionship was yesterday. First round is to cut the field to 16 pairs, format Stableford without handicap. You get 3 points for a birdie, 2 for a par, 1 for a bogey. Worse than bogey is zero points. My playing partner had the tee off on hole 1 and hit it left in the water. I had a shot avoiding some trees at 140y from the flag and hit it at 3 feet, par.  After 5 holes 9 points (1 bogey), but then a streak of 3 bad holes and still 9 points. But then 3 pars in a row and all together 11 pars and two bogeys (24 points) was enough to end 5th (best team 31 points).  Next weekend we will play against the team that ended 13th. That will be matchplay. 
    • Does it make sense to write ".........combined together"? Why not just write "............combined"? Let's not call the kettle black. Anyway..... the following are excerpts from The Australian Golf Club's Dress Code. They are not typical of what is expected in Australia, but  some of the snootier clubs are very strict and do little to change the stuffy reputation of the game. ‘Sporting attire’. Collared shirts which must be tucked in at all times. Tailored shorts to the knee, with a belt, may be worn. Closed in shoes must be worn with socks at all times (see Definitions for appropriate socks).  Men - Collared shirts which must be tucked in at all times. Trousers must be tailored and worn with a belt. Tailored shorts to the knee, with a belt, may be worn. When wearing shorts on the course, Members must wear long socks or short white socks which are either plain or which bear only a Golf Club logo. Anklet type socks are not acceptable. Shoes must be of a type which have been specially manufactured for the playing of golf.  Jeans of any description are not acceptable anywhere in the Clubhouse or on the Course. Children 12 years or younger are exempt.  If you turn up here wearing socks with a small Nike logo they will sell you a pair of plain white ones for about $30.
    • May 27th:- 10 mins full swing practice (Driver). Moved the tee further forward in the stance, and concentrated on sliding the hips to initiate the through swing.  
    • Whether I score better riding vs. walking depends on who I am with. I have two friends who are VERY slow players and if I am in the cart with them for some reason it cost my 5 strokes a round.
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Blog Entries

  • Today's Birthdays

    1. bigtosh90
      bigtosh90
      (27 years old)
    2. dopplegvnger
      dopplegvnger
      (25 years old)
    3. Frank62
      Frank62
      (55 years old)
  • Get Great Gear with Amazon