Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
georgep

2016 Masters Prediction Contest Sponsored by PING! Win a G Driver or G Crossover!

Note: This thread is 1543 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

165 posts / 16429 viewsLast Reply

Recommended Posts

24 minutes ago, iacas said:

So correct me if I'm wrong, but I have first place as:

and second place (with the second pick) as:

Does anyone else see it differently?

bste @ post 23 has Spieth at -4, wouldn't that be the best 2nd choice?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

8 minutes ago, Quantico4th said:

bste @ post 23 has Spieth at -4, wouldn't that be the best 2nd choice?

No.  Only the winner of the tournament counts. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

On ‎3‎/‎2‎/‎2016 at 9:06 PM, georgep said:

- The Winner will be selected as the first person in the contest to correctly pick both the winner and the score. The runner up will be the second person to correctly pick the winner and score or be the first person to pick closest to the winner/score.

Wouldn't the runner-up be someone who also had Danny Willett as a pick and not who finished 2nd at the Masters (JS), unless no one had DW picked?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

54 minutes ago, Club Rat said:

Wouldn't the runner-up be someone who also had Danny Willett as a pick and not who finished 2nd at the Masters (JS), unless no one had DW picked?

@gatsby47 is the runner up because he is the first person to pick Danny Willett with his second pick. Nobody else picked him with their first.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

So this statement, listed within the rules, is actually incorrect:

- In other words, if someone chooses Joe Smith for their first choice - at any score - and you choose him for your second choice, you've wasted your choice. Additionally, if someone chooses Joe Smith at -2 for their first choice, it makes no sense to choose Joe Smith at -2 for any of your choices if you're posting after that entry (unless the person is DQed or ineligible, of course).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

3 hours ago, iacas said:

So correct me if I'm wrong, but I have first place as:

and second place (with the second pick) as:

Does anyone else see it differently?

Yes that is correct, but your post is confusing as you only show gastby47's first place pcik

 

On 3/3/2016 at 7:13 PM, rkim291968 said:

PING is going to help me be fast and forgiving with the new G Driver and Crossover!

1) Rickie Fowler - 13
2) Byeong-hun An - 13
3) Danny Willet - 13

 

On 3/9/2016 at 11:17 PM, gatsby47 said:

PING is going to help me be fast and forgiving with the new G Driver and Crossover!

1) Jordan Spieth - 12
2) Danny Willett - 12
3) Dustin Johnson -12

 

On 3/30/2016 at 10:02 AM, Nyoak88 said:

PING is going to help me be fast and forgiving with the new G Driver and Crossover!

Dustin Johnson -13

Danny Willett -12

Smylie Kaufman -11

 

On 4/6/2016 at 11:14 AM, Jcuzi said:

"PING is going to help me be fast and forgiving with the new G Driver and Crossover!"

1. Danny Willett -13

2. Martin Kaymer -13

3. Ian Poulter -13

By this it looks to me like Jcuzi is first and gatsby is second

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

1 hour ago, billchao said:

@gatsby47 is the runner up because he is the first person to pick Danny Willett with his second pick.

Without actually going through the entries and only going off this statement, are you saying that the score chosen for second or third picks isn't relevant?

12 minutes ago, DCrotty22 said:

So this statement, listed within the rules, is actually incorrect:

- In other words, if someone chooses Joe Smith for their first choice - at any score - and you choose him for your second choice, you've wasted your choice. Additionally, if someone chooses Joe Smith at -2 for their first choice, it makes no sense to choose Joe Smith at -2 for any of your choices if you're posting after that entry (unless the person is DQed or ineligible, of course).

I'm thinking there didn't used to be multiple prizes, and that's when that explanation was written.

Its also a bit of a fluke for a person to win  a major and have exactly one person choose him with their first choice - basically the only scenario that makes that paragraph invalid.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

15 minutes ago, Golfingdad said:

Without actually going through the entries and only going off this statement, are you saying that the score chosen for second or third picks isn't relevant?

The process is the same, you just keep going down the line. The next person who picked Danny Willett with their second pick threw away their selection because the same score was chosen prior.

The only other person to pick Danny Willett to win did so with their third pick which is irrelevant since a valid pick in the second round was found.

It's a weird situation since not many people picked him to win. If Jordan Spieth won, we wouldn't be looking at 2nd picks at all. First to pick the correct score would have won, then the next person who picked the same score.

So just to be clear, what happened was only one person picked Danny Willett to win with their first pick, so they won. Then we had to start going through the second round picks, where he was chosen twice. Since both members picked the same score, the first person to make the selection won.

I'm sorry if my short response caused any confusion.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

29 minutes ago, DCrotty22 said:

So this statement, listed within the rules, is actually incorrect:

- In other words, if someone chooses Joe Smith for their first choice - at any score - and you choose him for your second choice, you've wasted your choice. Additionally, if someone chooses Joe Smith at -2 for their first choice, it makes no sense to choose Joe Smith at -2 for any of your choices if you're posting after that entry (unless the person is DQed or ineligible, of course).

No, it's not.

As @billchao also said, we just go down the line.

The first-place prize was given out, so we moved on for the second-place prize. The entries were invalid for the first-place prize.

And @Wally Fairway, the post has both entries listed. I'm not sure what you're seeing.

 

Screen Shot 2016-04-10 at 10.47.55 PM.png

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

59 minutes ago, billchao said:

Since both members picked the same score, 

That cleared it up.  Your previous post was missing this phrase and that's what prompted me to ask the question. :)

Off topic, but in all my years this is probably the closest I've come to winning.  I had DJ at -10 and one person picked him at -9 ... so had he made a couple more putts today I think I'd be sporting a nice new hybrid hybrid. :P

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

7 hours ago, Golfingdad said:

That cleared it up.  Your previous post was missing this phrase and that's what prompted me to ask the question. :)

Off topic, but in all my years this is probably the closest I've come to winning.  I had DJ at -10 and one person picked him at -9 ... so had he made a couple more putts today I think I'd be sporting a nice new hybrid hybrid. :P

I can't tell if this is a misspelling or a joke based off the fact that the Crossover is a hybrid between a hybrid and an iron.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

3 hours ago, jamo said:

I can't tell if this is a misspelling or a joke based off the fact that the Crossover is a hybrid between a hybrid and an iron.

The latter latter. :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

4 hours ago, Nyoak88 said:

So who got second place, was it me or gatsby47 since we both had Willett picked second at -12?

He picked before you, so he won. But he needs to respond to the PM within the time window.

While you wait, stick around and post more in some other threads.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Note: This thread is 1543 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  



×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...