Jump to content
IGNORED

Oscillating Ball


bkuehn1952
 Share

Note: This thread is 1056 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

18/2

     Ball Oscillates During Address

Q.In addressing the ball, a player accidentally causes the ball to oscillate, but it returns to its original position. Has the ball "moved"?

A.No.

In a recent tournament, my ball was on the collar.  It was close enough that the longer grass beyond the collar somewhat interfered with my intended stroke using my putter.  I stupidly decided to a. not blade a wedge and b. make a practice stroke over the top of the ball.  In making the practice stroke I slightly touched the ball.  It visibly rocked but remained where it sat originally.

I explained to my fellow competitors that I had not been attempting to hit the ball so there had been no "stroke".  Further, as the ball had not moved from its original position, my thought was the "oscillation" Decision applied.  They agreed.  We played on.

Did we get it right?

 

Brian Kuehn

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I did the exact same thing once. I counted the stroke because, even though ball did not move, ( kind of wiggled a little)  I did "slightly" touch it with my club.  

In My Bag:
A whole bunch of Tour Edge golf stuff...... :beer:

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

33 minutes ago, Patch said:

I did the exact same thing once. I counted the stroke because, even though ball did not move, ( kind of wiggled a little)  I did "slightly" touch it with my club.  

You are allowed to touch the ball with the club as long as it doesn't move to a new position (even 1/32" is a new position under the rules).

Rick

"He who has the fastest cart will never have a bad lie."

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

4 hours ago, Fourputt said:

You are allowed to touch the ball with the club as long as it doesn't move to a new position (even 1/32" is a new position under the rules).

And I honestly can't envision a practice swing that actually contacts the ball, not resulting in some actual movement.  I don't think you could reproduce such a thing on purpose.

I would have assumed the ball had moved, and applied the penalty.

  • Upvote 1

In David's bag....

Driver: Titleist 910 D-3;  9.5* Diamana Kai'li
3-Wood: Titleist 910F;  15* Diamana Kai'li
Hybrids: Titleist 910H 19* and 21* Diamana Kai'li
Irons: Titleist 695cb 5-Pw

Wedges: Scratch 51-11 TNC grind, Vokey SM-5's;  56-14 F grind and 60-11 K grind
Putter: Scotty Cameron Kombi S
Ball: ProV1

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

13 minutes ago, David in FL said:

And I honestly can't envision a practice swing that actually contacts the ball, not resulting in some actual movement.  I don't think you could reproduce such a thing on purpose.

I would have assumed the ball had moved, and applied the penalty.

Usually a true oscillation only happens on the green.  Grass blades are too bendy to allow the ball to return to its exact previous position in anything cut longer than the green.  I would always assume that I had caused it to move.

Rick

"He who has the fastest cart will never have a bad lie."

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

1 hour ago, David in FL said:

And I honestly can't envision a practice swing that actually contacts the ball, not resulting in some actual movement.  I don't think you could reproduce such a thing on purpose.

I would have assumed the ball had moved, and applied the penalty.

My son just taught me a trick shot where you hit your 60 degree wedge under the ball and the ball does oscillates up and down back to it's original position as much as is visibly obvious. It works on the range mats, haven't tried it on the course.

In answer to the op, yes you guys did the right thing. :-)

:ping:  :tmade:  :callaway:   :gamegolf:  :titleist:

TM White Smoke Big Fontana; Pro-V1
TM Rac 60 TT WS, MD2 56
Ping i20 irons U-4, CFS300
Callaway XR16 9 degree Fujikura Speeder 565 S
Callaway XR16 3W 15 degree Fujikura Speeder 565 S, X2Hot Pro 20 degrees S

"I'm hitting the woods just great, but I'm having a terrible time getting out of them." ~Harry Toscano

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

On 6/15/2016 at 2:00 PM, David in FL said:

And I honestly can't envision a practice swing that actually contacts the ball, not resulting in some actual movement.  I don't think you could reproduce such a thing on purpose.

I would have assumed the ball had moved, and applied the penalty.

 

On 6/15/2016 at 2:15 PM, Fourputt said:

Usually a true oscillation only happens on the green.  Grass blades are too bendy to allow the ball to return to its exact previous position in anything cut longer than the green.  I would always assume that I had caused it to move.

This is incorrect. I've had many occasions when the ball would "oscillate" toward my clubhead when I attempted to ground my clubhead behind the ball in heavy rough off the green. When I lifted my clubhead, the ball would return to its original position. This is because the ball is being supported by long, heavy grass which bends when you set your clubhead down into it, thus causing the ball to oscillate.

As for taking a practice stroke "above" the ball, I don't know what that is supposed to accomplish. In a similar situation I see pros move well away from the ball and take practice swings through the rough in order to gauge it's thickness and resistance to the stroke!

Anyway, I think the OP and his group is right, since he made no attempt to "fairly strike at and move the ball". At least that's the way the rules used to read. That also rules out penalty strokes for waggles and practice swings.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Just now, Buckeyebowman said:

 

This is incorrect. I've had many occasions when the ball would "oscillate" toward my clubhead when I attempted to ground my clubhead behind the ball in heavy rough off the green. When I lifted my clubhead, the ball would return to its original position. This is because the ball is being supported by long, heavy grass which bends when you set your clubhead down into it, thus causing the ball to oscillate.

 

I would be willing to bet that the ball moved, and you simply couldn't tell because you had no proper view of it.  When my ball is in the rough, I don't even touch the grass near it at address, because if it moves at all, even if it appears to return to it's original position, I'll call the penalty on myself.  You don't get the benefit of the doubt in this situation.  As with many such situations in golf, any doubt should be resolved against the player.

Rick

"He who has the fastest cart will never have a bad lie."

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • 3 weeks later...
On 6/18/2016 at 0:04 AM, Buckeyebowman said:

 

This is incorrect. I've had many occasions when the ball would "oscillate" toward my clubhead when I attempted to ground my clubhead behind the ball in heavy rough off the green. When I lifted my clubhead, the ball would return to its original position. This is because the ball is being supported by long, heavy grass which bends when you set your clubhead down into it, thus causing the ball to oscillate.

As for taking a practice stroke "above" the ball, I don't know what that is supposed to accomplish. In a similar situation I see pros move well away from the ball and take practice swings through the rough in order to gauge it's thickness and resistance to the stroke!

Anyway, I think the OP and his group is right, since he made no attempt to "fairly strike at and move the ball". At least that's the way the rules used to read. That also rules out penalty strokes for waggles and practice swings.

This has been a nagging question of mine for a long time. 

Whenever in somewhat deep rough the ball moves a bit when I ground the club behind the ball. It's almost impossible to ground the club anywhere near the ball without a little movement. This is one of those things that I've never discussed with others but what is the ruling on such a thing? I see the pros ground their clubs in US Open rough, does their ball oscillate a little when they do so? I find it hard to imagine that it doesn't. 

Is this one of those things that happens to everyone but no one mentions it? Or am I just grounding my club too close to the ball in the rough?

- Mark

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Just now, Braivo said:

I see the pros ground their clubs in US Open rough, does their ball oscillate a little when they do so? I find it hard to imagine that it doesn't. 

It's hard to tell where they ground their club based on TV. Maybe they are grounding it a few inches behind the ball. Maybe they are still hovering it a bit so as to not have the ball move. 

 

"A good conversation is not designed to win the argument. It is designed to enjoy the exchange."

Matt "Dough", P.E.
My Game Golf Profile -
Click Here! (It's not a trap) fasdfa dfdsaf 

What's in My Bag
Driver: :callaway: GBB Epic,  3-Wood: 
:titleist: 917h3 ,  Hybrid:  :titleist: 915 2-Hybrid,  Irons: :srixon: (4-PW)
Wedges:
:edel: Trapper (52, 56, 60),  Putter: :edel:,  Ball: :snell: MTB,  Shoe: :true_linkswear:,  Rangfinder: :bushnell: Tour V2

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

41 minutes ago, Braivo said:

This has been a nagging question of mine for a long time. 

Whenever in somewhat deep rough the ball moves a bit when I ground the club behind the ball. It's almost impossible to ground the club anywhere near the ball without a little movement. This is one of those things that I've never discussed with others but what is the ruling on such a thing? I see the pros ground their clubs in US Open rough, does their ball oscillate a little when they do so? I find it hard to imagine that it doesn't. 

Is this one of those things that happens to everyone but no one mentions it? Or am I just grounding my club too close to the ball in the rough?

I don't ground my club in tangled rough.  If the ball is sitting up in the rough I never ground the club - it takes so little to make it settle, and that's a one stroke penalty. I usually treat it the same as I would in a bunker and hover the club as close behind the ball as possible.  This is a situation where you have to just read the lie and use good judgement.  I've had lies in the rough where I had to set up with the clubhead 6 inches back along the planned swing path, behind and above the ball.

Rick

"He who has the fastest cart will never have a bad lie."

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

7 hours ago, Fourputt said:

I don't ground my club in tangled rough.  If the ball is sitting up in the rough I never ground the club - it takes so little to make it settle, and that's a one stroke penalty. I usually treat it the same as I would in a bunker and hover the club as close behind the ball as possible.  This is a situation where you have to just read the lie and use good judgement.  I've had lies in the rough where I had to set up with the clubhead 6 inches back along the planned swing path, behind and above the ball.

Exactly! You're the one "on site". You are the one up close and personal who can observe the rough, and it's condition, better than anyone else can! You need to do so, and act accordingly. Now, Fourputt is out West. The grass is different out there. I'm here in the Mideast, I guess you could call it. We have a lot of Bluegrass and Fescue rough. Some of that stuff can hold a ball up in the air all day long!

Different strokes for different folks!

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • 3 years later...

I have a ruling question. I was in a round and my ball was in somewhat thick grass. I addressed the ball but wasn't looking the whole time. When I looked, I think I saw the ball just barely move. I'm not sure if I caused the ball to move or if it just oscillated. What do you do in this situation.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • Administrator
14 minutes ago, GeorgeHiggins said:

I have a ruling question. I was in a round and my ball was in somewhat thick grass. I addressed the ball but wasn't looking the whole time. When I looked, I think I saw the ball just barely move. I'm not sure if I caused the ball to move or if it just oscillated. What do you do in this situation.

You said it moved. If you caused it, you’re penalized.

“Moved” has a definition in the Rules of Golf.

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instructor Development, 5 Simple Keys®/Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins • Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 • "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 • Penn-State Behrend Head Coach • • • • • • • • • • :aimpoint: :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | 5SK.com | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

If I am reading this correctly; one can save strokes, and avoid ethical quandaries, by not paying attention to the ball.

In der bag:
Cleveland Hi-Bore driver, Maltby 5 wood, Maltby hybrid, Maltby irons and wedges (23 to 50) Vokey 59/07, Cleveland Niblick (LH-42), and a Maltby mallet putter.                                                                                                                                                 "When the going gets tough...it's tough to get going."

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Note: This thread is 1056 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Unfortunately, your content contains terms that we do not allow. Please edit your content to remove the highlighted words below.
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

 Share



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • Support TST Affiliates

    TourStriker PlaneMate
    Golfer's Journal
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct links for Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package. Save 10% on Mevo with coupon code "IACAS" as well.
  • Posts

    • That article lost me with this statement: A quick search of the PGAT 2022 money list found that #100 of 200 has earned around $1.2 million dollars. Hardly struggling, unless you have the financial acumen of a can of spam.
    • I'm not so sure that it has no standing just based on what other sports have been through and Golf has mostly avoided so far. How Long Will The PGA Handicap Its Golfers? Unlike the NBA, MLB and NFL, the PGA Tour considers golfers to be independent contractors, and they have to pay their own expenses, including extensive travel, caddy and coaching costs, entry fees, and even a $50...    
    • I wish this was the case for me. being just shy of 5'-9" I find that the driver swing is much different that say my PW. With the PW I am standing much closer to the ball and my swing plane is more vertical. My driver seems much more horizontal and I also work to hit up on it. Maybe I am too 1-plane? I know it might be a little off-topic.
    • Okay, I did this today. Perhaps I did it just a little differently than everyone else. I put 5 balls in a circle around the hole at 8 feet. (Sort of the "clock drill" everyone is familiar with but with only 5 balls and at 8 feet.) Then after I putted those, I did the exact same thing, but put the 5 galls in a circle around the hole at 12 feet. Here are my results: 8 foot - past the hole - 2 putt = +1 points 8 foot - past the hole - 2 putt = +1 points 8 foot - made it = +4 points 8 foot - past the hole - 2 putt = +1 points 8 foot - 3 putt = - 4 points 12 foot - past the hole - 2 putt = +1 points 12 foot - made it = +8 points 12 foot - past the hole - 2 putt = +1 points 12 foot - not past the hole - 2 putt = -1 points 12 foot - past the hole - 2 putt = +1 points Total = 13 points.  I look forward to trying this again to improve upon that 13 points.   
    • I doubt it was really intentional, but...    
  • Today's Birthdays

    1. JoeInPI
      JoeInPI
      (49 years old)
    2. meenman
      meenman
      (53 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...