IGNORED

Why Isn't Golf Taught Like Skiing?

Note: This thread is 2667 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

There will always be good and bad teachers as long as there is no standard lesson plan.

I'm going to keep pounding this drum until I get a decent hearing. The Professional Ski Instructors of America twenty-five years ago had it right. There was a way to teach skiing which could be standardized and mastered and anyone can fit somewhere on the learning curve from absolute beginner to the bumps and race course. I could teach someone to bring their skis parallel from a wedge, taught by someone who got them up on skis the first time. Then another pro could take them and teach them how to start their skis parallel, and maybe how to absorb a mogul. It's a process. Golf, I believe, is no different. It has a learning curve which can be broken down and taught from beginner who knows scratch to golfer who plays to scratch. 

I'm a really good student. I've got chops when it comes to learning. I'm seeing the similarities from Hogan to (insert name here). There is no top ski pro. There are lots and lots of experts, all about equal in voice because they are singing from the same songbook, and even more who are like I was--who got the newbies up on skis, to the towline, and down the hill, safely. Those who took advantage of beginner lessons kept skiing. Those who were taught by their fathers or boyfriends did not come back after the first time. See the comparisons at all?