Jump to content
iacas

A Rules Sequence: 2018 vs. 2019

14 posts in this topic Last Reply

Recommended Posts

Questions:

1) How many penalty strokes did this player incur in 2018? What are they?

2) How many penalty strokes would this player incur in 2019? What are they?

Notes:

  • Don't look at the answers before giving your own answer. Here (below) or on Twitter.
  • I think that the drop he takes to start the sequence is allowed in 2018 (and 2019). I'm not sure why he's dropping, though; maybe the ball is embedded in a closely mown area? Every answer I've seen takes no issue with that part.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Want to hide this ad? Register for free today!

Drop
2018 - 1 stroke penalty for incorrectly dropping the ball and not correcting it by dropping correctly 
2019 - No penalty 

Incorrectly substituting a ball - Not sure this one counts. It looks like the original ball might be embedded and he subbed in a new ball. 
2018 - 2 stroke penalty for substituting a ball
2019 - 1 stroke penalty 

Double Hit 
2018 - 1 stroke penalty for hitting the ball twice
2019 - No penalty

Accidentally causing the ball to move
2018 - 1 stroke penalty
2019 - No penalty 

Touching the line of his putt to fix a spike mark or other imperfection. 
2018 - 1 stroke penalty
2019 - No penalty

Ball striking the flagstick
2018 - 2 stroke penalty
2019 - No penalty 

Totals
2018 - 8 strokes
2019 - 1 stroke

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

10 hours ago, saevel25 said:

Drop
2018 - 1 stroke penalty for incorrectly dropping the ball and not correcting it by dropping correctly 
2019 - No penalty 

Incorrectly substituting a ball - Not sure this one counts. It looks like the original ball might be embedded and he subbed in a new ball. 
2018 - 2 stroke penalty for substituting a ball
2019 - 1 stroke penalty 

Double Hit 
2018 - 1 stroke penalty for hitting the ball twice
2019 - No penalty

Accidentally causing the ball to move
2018 - 1 stroke penalty
2019 - No penalty 

Touching the line of his putt to fix a spike mark or other imperfection. 
2018 - 1 stroke penalty
2019 - No penalty

Ball striking the flagstick
2018 - 2 stroke penalty
2019 - No penalty 

Totals
2018 - 8 strokes
2019 - 1 stroke

 

I believe a ball can be substituted for any relief in 2019.  

Edited by dennyjones

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Here are the things I see happening during the sequence of play.

1. Does not play original ball.
2. Did not take NPR.
3. Double hit chip shot.
4. Accidently moved ball and did not place back to original position.
5. Tap line of putt.
6. Struck flagstick. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

cropped-rgfavicon.png?fit=240%2C240&ssl=

Under the 2018 Rules, players are only allowed to substitute a ball when taking relief under a few specific Rules. Substitution is allowed when taking penalty relief, such as when a ball is lost in…

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

7 hours ago, Club Rat said:

Here are the things I see happening during the sequence of play.

1. Does not play original ball.
2. Did not take NPR.
3. Double hit chip shot.
4. Accidently moved ball and did not place back to original position.
5. Tap line of putt.
6. Struck flagstick. 

So what's your answer to the two questions?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I'll start from @saevel25list, which I think is pretty good. But I'll make some changes (in bold).

Drop
2018 - 1 stroke penalty for incorrectly dropping the ball and not correcting it by dropping correctly 
2019 - No penalty 

Incorrectly substituting a ball
2018 - 2 strokes penalty for incorrectly substituting a ball
2019 - no penalty: a ball can be substituted with any relief (free or penalty relief)

Double Hit 
2018 - 1 stroke penalty for hitting the ball twice
2019 - No penalty

Accidentally causing the ball to move: he did replace it, though, so only the one stroke.
2018 - 1 stroke penalty
2019 - No penalty 

Touching the line of his putt to fix a spike mark or other imperfection. 
2018 - 2 strokes penalty - he did it twice!
2019 - No penalty

Ball striking the flagstick
2018 - 2 stroke penalty
2019 - No penalty 

Totals
2018 - 9 strokes
2019 - 0 stroke

Wow! What a difference!! 🙂

Edited by sjduffers

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

For 2018, following penalties:

1 stroke for incorrect drop.

2 strokes (general penalty) for illegal ball substitution.

1 stroke for double hit (Chen Chen)

1 stroke for accidentally causing the ball to move.

1 stroke if they tried to tamp down a spike mark but none if a previous ball mark imperfection.

2 strokes for hitting the flagstick.

Total: 8 or 7 (depending on type of mark fixed)

2019: No penalties for any of the 'infractions'.

Damn.. I know the odds of all this happening in reality the above sequence is very very slim, but that is a massive difference.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I'll start from @saevel25list, which I think is pretty good. But I'll make some changes (in bold).

Drop
2018 - 1 stroke penalty for incorrectly dropping the ball and not correcting it by dropping correctly 
2019 - No penalty 

Incorrectly substituting a ball
2018 - 2 strokes penalty for incorrectly substituting a ball
2019 - no penalty: a ball can be substituted with any relief (free or penalty relief)

Double Hit 
2018 - 1 stroke penalty for hitting the ball twice
2019 - No penalty

Accidentally causing the ball to move: he did replace it, though, so only the one stroke.
2018 - 1 stroke penalty
2019 - No penalty 

Touching the line of his putt to fix a spike mark or other imperfection. 
2018 - 2 strokes penalty - he did it twice!
2019 - No penalty

Ball striking the flagstick
2018 - 2 stroke penalty
2019 - No penalty 

Totals
2018 - 9 strokes
2019 - 0 stroke

Wow! What a difference!! 🙂

Duplicate post: oops!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

1 hour ago, iacas said:

So what's your answer to the two questions?

I use Red for prior to 2018 and Blue for new rulings in 2019
I also omitted the proper drop in previous answer and have added it at the end of the list.

1. Does not play original ball. 2 strokes - Did not realize the rule had changed
2. Did not take NPR. 2 strokes - Not sure of the correct penalty but would guess 1 stroke
3. Double hit chip shot. 1 stroke - NP
4 A. Accidently moved ball and did not place back to original position. 2 strokes  - 2 strokes
5. Tap line of putt. 2 strokes - NP
6. Struck flagstick.  2 strokes - NP
7. Improper drop. 2 strokes - 1 stroke
4 B. Accidently moved ball. 1 stroke - NP if moved back to original position

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

FYI pretty sure the answer is 8 in 2018 and 0 in 2019.

Drop From Knee Height
2018 - 1 stroke (should be dropped from shoulder height)
2019 - No penalty
(Note: this one's a bit tacky, because if you dropped from shoulder height in 2019 this would be flipped.)

Substituting a Ball
2018 - 2 strokes
2019 - No penalty

Double Hit
2018 - 1 stroke
2019 - No penalty

Accidentally Moving the Ball on the Putting Green
2018 - 1 stroke (unless the Local Rule is in play, which it probably is)
2019 - No penalty 

Touching The Line of Putt
2018 - 1 stroke
2019 - No penalty

Ball Striking the Flagstick
2018 - 2 strokes
2019 - No penalty 

Totals
2018 - 8 strokes
2019 - Nada

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

55 minutes ago, iacas said:

Touching The Line of Putt

2018 - 1 stroke
2019 - No penalty

 

26 minutes ago, Vinsk said:

What about @sjduffers statement on touching line of putt twice? Does it not matter?

I’m guessing that it’s touching the same line of putt, so one infraction (otherwise, each small tap would need to be counted).

But isn’t touching line of putt rule 16-1, so two strokes?

(Not that it matters much, since it only applies for the next 22 to 32 hours or so, depending on your location.)

Edited by Missouri Swede

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

In my view, he touched the line of putt (eg repairing spike marks) in 2 different locations, each one with multiple taps, so I would call it 2 infractions in 2018 and of course none in 2019.

If I saw that wrong, yes, i agree with 8 stokes in 2018 and 0 in 2019.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now



×

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...