or Connect
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Rules of Golf › Noh Assessed Two-Stroke Penalty for Playing from the Wrong Green
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

Noh Assessed Two-Stroke Penalty for Playing from the Wrong Green

post #1 of 47
Thread Starter 

http://www.pgatour.com/content/pgatour/tourreport/2014/08/22/noh-assessed-two-stroke-penalty-for-hitting-from-green.html

 

Quote:

PARAMUS, N.J. -- Seung-Yul Noh was assessed one of the more rare two-stroke penalties during Friday's second round of The Barclays after playing his second shot on the 11th hole from the third green.

Noh hit his tee shot so far right on the par 4 that it landed on the putting surface of the adjacent hole.

After waiting for the group on No. 3 to putt out, Noh hit his next shot from the green.

Under USGA Rule 25-3, if a player's ball is on a wrong putting green, he must take relief and drop within one club length not nearer the hole than the nearest point of relief. The nearest point of relief must also not be in a hazard or on a putting green.

post #2 of 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rulesman View Post
 

http://www.pgatour.com/content/pgatour/tourreport/2014/08/22/noh-assessed-two-stroke-penalty-for-hitting-from-green.html

 

Quote:

PARAMUS, N.J. -- Seung-Yul Noh was assessed one of the more rare two-stroke penalties during Friday's second round of The Barclays after playing his second shot on the 11th hole from the third green.

Noh hit his tee shot so far right on the par 4 that it landed on the putting surface of the adjacent hole.

After waiting for the group on No. 3 to putt out, Noh hit his next shot from the green.

Under USGA Rule 25-3, if a player's ball is on a wrong putting green, he must take relief and drop within one club length not nearer the hole than the nearest point of relief. The nearest point of relief must also not be in a hazard or on a putting green.

Wow!  That is an easy one to remember.  Shame on him.

post #3 of 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by boogielicious View Post
 

Wow!  That is an easy one to remember.  Shame on him.

Interestingly enough, neither his caddy nor the announcers seemed to be aware of this rule either. At least, I didn't hear the announcers say anything about a possible infraction. Also the guy speaking with the official afterwards asked if it was a LR or ROG. Seems like it's not that well known at all!

post #4 of 47

 

I at least cringed when he took a divot! 

 

Also the grounds crew got out the fancy equipment and mini green roller to help fix that. :-D 

post #5 of 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by saevel25 View Post
 

 

I at least cringed when he took a divot! 

 

Also the grounds crew got out the fancy equipment and mini green roller to help fix that. :-D 

I would have been so freaked out at taking a swing on a green that I'd probably totally choke and take 13 inch divot that starts 7 inches behind the ball, or maybe even one of these classics:

post #6 of 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ernest Jones View Post
 

Interestingly enough, neither his caddy nor the announcers seemed to be aware of this rule either. At least, I didn't hear the announcers say anything about a possible infraction. Also the guy speaking with the official afterwards asked if it was a LR or ROG. Seems like it's not that well known at all!

 

Agreed the lack of knowledge of the caddy was surprising, but I'm not surprised about the announcers at all.  In general, there's a relationship:  the more vehemently an announcer argues about a rules issue, the more wrong he is about the actual rule.

post #7 of 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ernest Jones View Post
 

Interestingly enough, neither his caddy nor the announcers seemed to be aware of this rule either. At least, I didn't hear the announcers say anything about a possible infraction. Also the guy speaking with the official afterwards asked if it was a LR or ROG. Seems like it's not that well known at all!

 

 

Quote:
Originally Posted by wadesworld View Post
 

 

Agreed the lack of knowledge of the caddy was surprising, but I'm not surprised about the announcers at all.  In general, there's a relationship:  the more vehemently an announcer argues about a rules issue, the more wrong he is about the actual rule.


Too bad there's no little booklet, or maybe even a website or smartphone app, that could make this information available to those broadcasting. :-X 

post #8 of 47

As seldom as this happens, especially on the tour level,  I'm not surprised the golfers, caddies, or announcers did not know the rule.

post #9 of 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dormie1360 View Post
 

As seldom as this happens, especially on the tour level,  I'm not surprised the golfers, caddies, or announcers did not know the rule.

I'm not surprised. the other day I heard a commentator (and ex PGA Tour winner and British Open playoff loser, Jack Newton) insisting that you get three drops before placing your ball if it rolls out of the legal range. He was very surprised when the player placed it after two drops, thinking there must have been a rule change. Amazing.

post #10 of 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by Missouri Swede View Post
 

 

 


Too bad there's no little booklet, or maybe even a website or smartphone app, that could make this information available to those broadcasting. :-X 

Far too sensible :-D 

post #11 of 47
I am surprised that they didn't inform him before hitting the shot in some way.
post #12 of 47

I didn't know about that rule. Not surprised they didn't know about it. Seems pretty obscure. 

post #13 of 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbishop15 View Post
 

I didn't know about that rule. Not surprised they didn't know about it. Seems pretty obscure. 

 

I don't know how obscure it is, but virtually every golfer I ever played with was probably aware of it. Juniors tend to just try to hit the ball hard - so it often winds up on other greens. :)

post #14 of 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbishop15 View Post
 

I didn't know about that rule. Not surprised they didn't know about it. Seems pretty obscure. 

Obscure?

 

One need look no further than the Table of Contents. 

 

Blimey, there it is in black and white ... Rule 25, Abnormal Ground Conditions, Embedded Ball and Wrong Putting Green.

post #15 of 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbishop15 View Post
 

I didn't know about that rule. Not surprised they didn't know about it. Seems pretty obscure. 

Are you kidding?

Every player I've ever seen hit onto the wrong green knows not to hit from it.

post #16 of 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shorty View Post

Are you kidding?
Every player I've ever seen hit onto the wrong green knows not to hit from it.
Well he obviously didn't Noh. Seung Yul just didn't Noh....I'm sorry, I really need to stop.
post #17 of 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by iacas View Post
 

 

I don't know how obscure it is, but virtually every golfer I ever played with was probably aware of it. Juniors tend to just try to hit the ball hard - so it often winds up on other greens. :)

Not sure if obscure was the right choice of word. I meant more common knowledge than anything. 

Quote:
Originally Posted by Asheville View Post
 

Obscure?

 

One need look no further than the Table of Contents. 

 

Blimey, there it is in black and white ... Rule 25, Abnormal Ground Conditions, Embedded Ball and Wrong Putting Green.

Thank you for telling me nicely.

 

Quote:

Originally Posted by Shorty View Post
 

Are you kidding?

Every player I've ever seen hit onto the wrong green knows not to hit from it.

No, I wasn't kidding. I didn't know. How many players have you seen hit from the wrong green? I haven't ever experienced something like that happening, so I just assumed it was along the same lines of hitting onto a different holes fairway and the like. 

post #18 of 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by RJH999 View Post

Well he obviously didn't Noh. Seung Yul just didn't Noh....I'm sorry, I really need to stop.
Quote:
Originally Posted by RJH999 View Post

OH NOH!...I'm sorry somebody had to do it.
*Crickets*
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
  Back to Forum: Rules of Golf
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Rules of Golf › Noh Assessed Two-Stroke Penalty for Playing from the Wrong Green