IGNORED

Textbook vs Unorthodox Golf Swing

Note: This thread is 1777 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Some of the best golfers ever never took a lesson and were self taught.  So what is better for the amateur golfer- trying to get closer to that textbook swing or just don't worry about it and focus on 5 o'clock to 7 o'clock in your golf swing as Bubba Watson says or maybe just try to hit the ball solid and figure it out on your own?  Arnold Palmer said to swing YOUR swing not what you see on TV.  Sometimes when i go into the local golf store I will see them giving someone a lesson, comparing their swing to someone like Justin Rose or Sergio Garcia.  But we all have different limitations, strengths, weakness's............so does it make since for everyone to try and replicate a particular PGA pro with a textbook swing as closely as possible?  Isn't it better to build on what someone does well in the golf swing and work around their limitations to find the best swing for them individually?  Comparing my swing to Tiger Woods frame by frame seems like a destroyer of confidence to me.  Even in professional golf I see so many different swings out there, it does not seem like there is one best way to swing a golf club, just whatever works for you to make solid golf shots.  Would we have a Jim Furyk, Lee Travino, J.B. Holmes, Bubba Watson if they tried to change to a textbook swing when they were young?  would they be as great as they are now with their unorthodox swings?  With all the changes in technology I really think this attempt to get amateurs/beginners to replicate a particular pro's golf swing frame by frame is counterproductive and can be harmful to many but not all amateur/beginner golfers.  

9 minutes ago, Farangster said: