Jump to content
IGNORED

The Cheating Thread


ChetlovesMer

Recommended Posts

1 hour ago, Double Mocha Man said:

1) But I think you're beating a dead horse

2) and you will only lose friends, albeit dishonest friends.  

1) Agree....as he said....seems to be a cultural thing and not just a few cheaters who won't play by the rules of golf.

2) who said he was friends with these clowns?....I never got the impression he liked these tools.

I belonged to a club in the mid 80's back in Ontario....you absolutely didn't want a reputation as a cheat.....a couple of guys were labeled and no one wanted to play golf with these fools.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


1 hour ago, reidsou said:

I haven't given up. Just need some strategy ideas to deal with rampant cheating. There are other members who don't like it either. I think the culture comes from the top, not sure. 

It's interesting that this is a private club. I also belong to a club at a public golf course where the players are much more honest. 

Glad you're not giving up...kudos!

Ok...here my advice/strategy.

After the next event with rampant cheating....I assume after the event.....it will be busy in the bar/lounge with lots of participants....stand up and get everyone's attention and ask:

"Is there anyone else in this room who is sick and tired of all the members here who can't and won't play by the rules of golf to properly win"

Two things will likely happen:

1) You'll feel better for getting this off your chest

and/or

2) These cheatin idiot members will be so mad and complain..... and within a few days you'll be called into the office of the GM...along with the Club's president .....and told you're no longer welcome as a member with a check/refund of your club's initiation fee...then you can go elsewhere and be happier at a club where cheatin tools are not so prevalent..

 

Best wishes and good luck and you're welcome for my free advice.😂

Edited by Mr22putt
  • Thumbs Up 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites


5 hours ago, leftybutnotPM said:

BS.

Name "the golfer". Which tournament?

Why say "the local pga stop" or "the golfer""?

If "everybody did it"  or if it happened once every 6 months it'd be noticed by dozens of people who would do something about it.

 

Let me see if I can you help with some of this.

It was back in the late 1980s, early 1990s. It was the Las Vegas Invitational Tournament. (LVI) The course used, where I saw the infraction, was at the Spanish Trails GC. This was back when it was a 90 hole tourney, held at multiple golf courses around the valley. 

As for the golfer in question, I don't remember his name.  

Btw, I gave you a "like" point for your retort........lol

 

In My Bag:
A whole bunch of Tour Edge golf stuff...... :beer:

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

6 minutes ago, Mr22putt said:

Glad you're not giving up...kudos!

Ok...here my advice/strategy.

After the next event with rampant cheating....I assume after the event.....it will be busy in the bar/lounge with lots of participants....stand up and get everyone's attention and ask:

"Is there anyone else in this room who is sick and tired of all the members here who can't and won't play by the rules of golf to properly win"

Two things will likely happen:

1) You'll feel better for getting this off your chest

and/or

2) These cheatin idiot members will be so mad and complain..... and within a few days you'll be called into the office of the GM...along with the Club's president .....and told you're no longer welcome as a member with a check/refund of your club's initiation fee...then you can go elsewhere and be happier at a club where cheatin tools are not so prevalent..

 

Best wishes and good luck and you're welcome for my free advice.😂

Good one! 

  • Thumbs Up 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

21 minutes ago, Patch said:

Let me see if I can you help with some of this.

It was back in the late 1980s, early 1990s. It was the Las Vegas Invitational Tournament. (LVI) The course used, where I saw the infraction, was at the Spanish Trails GC. This was back when it was a 90 hole tourney, held at multiple golf courses around the valley. 

As for the golfer in question, I don't remember his name.  

Btw, I gave you a "like" point for your retort........lol

 

Vijay????😂

Link to comment
Share on other sites


3 hours ago, Patch said:

 

It was back in the late 1980s, early 1990s. It was the Las Vegas Invitational Tournament. (LVI) The course used, where I saw the infraction, was at the Spanish Trails GC. This was back when it was a 90 hole tourney, held at multiple golf courses around the valley. 

 

 

Great.

But if you'd added  

" .... but this was 30 or 40 years ago"

it would've made a difference to your original post. 

It certainly doesn't happen "all the time" because if a player moves his ball a tenth of an  inch now he'll hold up play for 20 minutes to let us all know how honest he is. More cameras now, obviously.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • 1 month later...

In our 18-hole conference championship last year, I played with a guy who not only cheated, he lost his temper a lot too. It seemed as though he got ultra angry at any shot he wasn’t happy with. His cheating made me keep a close watch on him (I played with him once earlier in the season) and I kept track of his strokes so he doesn’t cheat. Not a bad guy off the course, but when we were playing, he wasn’t fun to play with. Even told my coach about it that night, and he said at regionals, we wouldn’t play with him or his team at all.

I think the Patrick Reed incident would be great for this topic. Up for discussion?

WITB:
Woods: Cleveland Launcher (Driver, 17 degree, 22 degree)
Irons: Titleist T200 (4-PW)
Wedges: Callaway Jaws (50/54/60)
Putter: Odyssey White Hot

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

3 hours ago, Groucho Valentine said:

I was hoping this thread would have some pointers...

Well, you only need to read all the posts.  But since you want some 😁

Foot wedge

Gimmes

Forgetting addition

"Finding" your ball

I have seen all these and many more.  It really bugs me because I keep score honestly as a judge of how I am playing.

What's in the bag

  • Taylor Made r5 dual Draw 9.5* (stiff)
  • Taylor Made Rescue 2H (stiff)
  • Cobra Baffler 4H (stiff)
  • Taylor Made RAC OS 6-9,P,S (regular)
  • Golden Bear LD5.0 60* (regular)
  • Aidia Z-009 Putter
  • Inesis Soft 500 golf ball
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • 3 years later...

Bumping this old thread to post a cheating story from the club championship this weekend.

Another player and I hit balls in the same general area of the rough. We find his ball first. He can't tell for certain if it's his ball. He gets down low to examine it. Still can't tell. Then, he picks it up and it's his ball. My ball is nearby, and we find it quickly. 

Anyway, I go to double check the rule before I tell him about the penalty. I confirm that he should have marked the ball, and it's one stroke penalty. I tell him before his next shot around the green. He gets pissed, and says it wasn't a penalty because he marked his ball. I was less than 5 feet from him, and there's no way he marked. I tell him I was right there and he didn't mark, but we'll figure it out after the round. He's in the running for money, so I need to protect the field here.

Guess what happens? He continues to deny that he didn't mark, and it's his word against mine, so no penalty. Even though it's one stroke, and it doesn't make a difference in anything. 

The cheating bit is denying the penalty when he definitely incurred it. To nobody's surprise, this guy has a reputation in the club. In reviewing the last couple of times I played with him, I remember a questionable point of entry for a drop from a PA, and having to do the let's review your strokes on the last hole to make sure you got the right number (that one I'll generally give a pass to; but maybe not with him). We are definitely looking for ways to kick him out at this point. We need to catch him with more than just one person. I will be watching him like a hawk next time I play with him.

Besides the point, but he also has the worst rules takes. He thinks we should be able to move the ball out of divots in the fairway and that you should get line of sight relief from immoveable obstructions. And his arguments for both of those things are ridiculous.

  • Like 1
  • Thumbs Up 1

-- Daniel

In my bag: :callaway: Paradym :callaway: Epic Flash 3.5W (16 degrees)

:callaway: Rogue Pro 3-PW :edel: SMS Wedges - V-Grind (48, 54, 58):edel: Putter

 :aimpoint:

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

2 hours ago, DeadMan said:

Bumping this old thread to post a cheating story from the club championship this weekend.

Another player and I hit balls in the same general area of the rough. We find his ball first. He can't tell for certain if it's his ball. He gets down low to examine it. Still can't tell. Then, he picks it up and it's his ball. My ball is nearby, and we find it quickly. 

Anyway, I go to double check the rule before I tell him about the penalty. I confirm that he should have marked the ball, and it's one stroke penalty. I tell him before his next shot around the green. He gets pissed, and says it wasn't a penalty because he marked his ball. I was less than 5 feet from him, and there's no way he marked. I tell him I was right there and he didn't mark, but we'll figure it out after the round. He's in the running for money, so I need to protect the field here.

Guess what happens? He continues to deny that he didn't mark, and it's his word against mine, so no penalty. Even though it's one stroke, and it doesn't make a difference in anything. 

The cheating bit is denying the penalty when he definitely incurred it. To nobody's surprise, this guy has a reputation in the club. In reviewing the last couple of times I played with him, I remember a questionable point of entry for a drop from a PA, and having to do the let's review your strokes on the last hole to make sure you got the right number (that one I'll generally give a pass to; but maybe not with him). We are definitely looking for ways to kick him out at this point. We need to catch him with more than just one person. I will be watching him like a hawk next time I play with him.

Besides the point, but he also has the worst rules takes. He thinks we should be able to move the ball out of divots in the fairway and that you should get line of sight relief from immoveable obstructions. And his arguments for both of those things are ridiculous.

That's a tough one.  GOlf is to be a game of honor and his "word" should suffice but unfortunatley you saw reality and you understand he has no honor.  

I was out with some of my league buddies (not actual league play) and one guys shot stopped behind a tree.  He simply says, "League rules, I can move it 6 inches and I'll have a shot".  I tell him I've never heard that league rule and he says "We do it all the time".  At the tee box I mentioned it to the others in foursome and they said "Oh yeah, we all do that on the A-Flight".  Now I understand why they are A-Fligth and I am B-Flight.....THEY ALL CHEAT!

 

Stuart M.
 

I am a "SCRATCH GOLFER".  I hit ball, Ball hits Tree, I scratch my head. 😜

Driver: Ping G410 Plus 10.5* +1* / 3 Hybrid: Cleveland HIBORE XLS / 4,5 & 6 Hybrids: Mizuno JP FLI-HI / Irons/Wedges 7-8-9-P-G: Mizuno JPX800 HD / Sand Wedge: Mizuno JPX 800 / Lob Wedge: Cleveland CBX 60* / Putter: Odyssey White Hot OG 7S / Balls: Srixon Soft / Beer: Labatt Blue (or anything nice & cold) 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Image

  • Funny 3

:ping: G410 Driver/Fairway  :titleist: 5-AW  :vokey: 52/56 SM9 :wilsonstaff: 21deg driving iron:scotty_cameron: Newport Special Select 2

:snell: MTB Prime X, :adidas: Tour360 22

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

 

On 8/28/2023 at 12:25 PM, snapfade said:

Image

 When someone wants to assure you and re-assure you that he is not lying or cheating, he is probably lying or cheating.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • 1 month later...
On 8/28/2023 at 6:01 AM, DeadMan said:

Bumping this old thread to post a cheating story from the club championship this weekend.

Another player and I hit balls in the same general area of the rough. We find his ball first. He can't tell for certain if it's his ball. He gets down low to examine it. Still can't tell. Then, he picks it up and it's his ball. My ball is nearby, and we find it quickly. 

Anyway, I go to double check the rule before I tell him about the penalty. I confirm that he should have marked the ball, and it's one stroke penalty. I tell him before his next shot around the green. He gets pissed, and says it wasn't a penalty because he marked his ball. I was less than 5 feet from him, and there's no way he marked. I tell him I was right there and he didn't mark, but we'll figure it out after the round. He's in the running for money, so I need to protect the field here.

Guess what happens? He continues to deny that he didn't mark, and it's his word against mine, so no penalty. Even though it's one stroke, and it doesn't make a difference in anything. 

The cheating bit is denying the penalty when he definitely incurred it. To nobody's surprise, this guy has a reputation in the club. In reviewing the last couple of times I played with him, I remember a questionable point of entry for a drop from a PA, and having to do the let's review your strokes on the last hole to make sure you got the right number (that one I'll generally give a pass to; but maybe not with him). We are definitely looking for ways to kick him out at this point. We need to catch him with more than just one person. I will be watching him like a hawk next time I play with him.

Besides the point, but he also has the worst rules takes. He thinks we should be able to move the ball out of divots in the fairway and that you should get line of sight relief from immoveable obstructions. And his arguments for both of those things are ridiculous.

According to rule 1.3b(1), the penalty for "deliberately fails to apply a penalty" is DQ. Good on you for standing up to him.  

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • TST Partners

    TourStriker PlaneMate
    Golfer's Journal
    ShotScope
    The Stack System
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct: Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package.

    Coupon Codes (save 10-15%): "IACAS" for Mevo/Stack, "IACASPLUS" for Mevo+/Pro Package, and "THESANDTRAP" for ShotScope.
  • Posts

    • Day 78 (29 Feb 24) - Leap year day at the golf course - my son and I had it pretty much to ourselves.  Shot a solid 40 front / 41 back for 81.  It was a good day to play….
    • I have a feeling that for a spell Woody Austin (who from memory may have led the Masters after the first round on about 14 occasions) was putting one-handed, while looking at the hole and pointing at the hole with his other hand. Golfers are crazy people. To add - when I played with people I didn't play with often and was doing the heads up putting, it was always a few holes in that someone would say incredulously "wait - were you looking at the hole when you hit that?" Actually made me feel a little self conscious while doing it - in a "I wonder if they'll notice it this time" way
    • Wordle 985 3/6 🟩⬜🟩⬜🟩 🟩⬜🟩⬜🟩 🟩🟩🟩🟩🟩
    • I seem to remember Jordan Spieth did this for a while. Not sure if he still does. 
    • A serve in tennis is a better analogy I think. The ball is fairly static and you're hitting it with an implement of some description and if you don't hit it with the right part of the implement, it's not going to end well.  I've tried heads up putting a few times. I think I'm backwards from most. I find it much more useful on the shorter ones than longer putts. I'm better at starting it on line and speed is less likely to be off using it. On longer putts where speed is more important, I apparently judge speed by watching (at least peripherally) my putter head. If I'm not looking at it, I lose speed control, even though that's the bit that is allegedly improved by heads up putting.
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...