• Announcements

    • iacas

      Visit FlagstickRule.com   03/13/2017

      Visit the site flagstickrule.com to read about and sign a petition for the USGA/R&A regarding the one terrible rule in the proposed "modernized" rules for 2019.
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Kieran92

Provisional shot better than first shot

18 posts in this topic

hey, I'm just wondering how many people also find that their provisional shot always seems to end up in a better position that their first shot. I know that having to take a provisional in the first place must mean that your fist shot was pretty bad and that the chances of having two bad shots is slim.. but i thought it is an interesting thing and was wondering is it a mindset that improves the second shot, and if so, how can I achieve this mindset consistently?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Sign up (or log in) today! It's free (and you won't see this ad anymore)!

Sign up (or log in) today! It's free (and you won't see this ad anymore)!

No such luck. I played an out-of-town course a few years back. I was having a wild month off the tee, so I hit three provisionals after exciting drives on various holes. I was specifically hitting provos with a digit "4" on them to tell them apart from the first drive.

All three first tee shots somehow ended up in bounds, but I lost all three provisionals.

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

hey, I'm just wondering how many people also find that their provisional shot always seems to end up in a better position that their first shot. I know that having to take a provisional in the first place must mean that your fist shot was pretty bad and that the chances of having two bad shots is slim.. but i thought it is an interesting thing and was wondering is it a mindset that improves the second shot, and if so, how can I achieve this mindset consistently?

One can hit many bad shots in a row. I once hit seven OB before finding the fairway.

I think it was Dr Bob Rotella's "Putting Out Of You Mind" that suggests hitting shorter putts as if they have been conceded. I do not recall if he suggested a mind trick to help you hit them as if they are good, but I do try to remind myself that if "this put" had been conceded, I'd put a good, free, stroke on the ball. Same on the tee. We play "hit two choose one" on the first tee (disagree with that in another thread if you wish). I find I almost never hit a second ball and think much of that is knowing it is there if I want it. Move to the second tee (much more forgiving tee shot) and I tense up and often pull my drive left. It is defiantly a "mindset" thing.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

For me it's because I'm unlikely to make the same mistake (in the same direction) twice in a row.

I might miss the other way (and often do) but not the same way. Thankfully I don't play a lot of holes with OB on both sides and I'm pretty lucky on those holes anyway.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I think MS256 pretty much has it.  Given a second chance - you might correct the mistake.  Also, 2 chances to get one in play always beat 1 chance to hit one in play - the odds are just more on your side when hitting 2.

I also think there might be a perception of how often that second ball goes well that might be over represented.  When seeing someone hit a good provisional, I often hear "the second one is always great" or something similar.  But I also see a bunch of provisionals that are bad and no one says anything.  Maybe we just remember the good ones?

Regarding Rusty's rules violation - I recall in a thread you wrote that if you didn't hit a provisional and ended up lost, that you would most certainly return to the tee for a re-hit despite holding up those behind you because "I'm the guy playing by the rules." I guess just the rules you want to use, huh?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I think MS256 pretty much has it.  Given a second chance - you might correct the mistake.  Also, 2 chances to get one in play always beat 1 chance to hit one in play - the odds are just more on your side when hitting 2.

I also think there might be a perception of how often that second ball goes well that might be over represented.  When seeing someone hit a good provisional, I often hear "the second one is always great" or something similar.  But I also see a bunch of provisionals that are bad and no one says anything.  Maybe we just remember the good ones?

Regarding Rusty's rules violation - I recall in a thread you wrote that if you didn't hit a provisional and ended up lost, that you would most certainly return to the tee for a re-hit despite holding up those behind you because "I'm the guy playing by the rules." I guess just the rules you want to use, huh?

Don't wish to highjack thread. Group plays "hit two choose one" and a few years ago it cost us a player who could not abide. So, yes. I play by the rules I wish. For example, I will not go through a multi-drop procedure when I know the first drop will not matter (e.g. end up on a cart path). But as the 54 year old youngest player in our 20+ year old group, I play by that group's rule on the first tee. And I have lost the hole many times to a guy who has used his second shot, and the stroke I'm giving him, to win the hole.

Back to OP, I agree that the second one is better theory is over represented. I seen lots of bad provisionals. When playing match play, I seen many-a surrender while standing on the tee.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I also find my 2nd ball is usually better than my first.  It's not always great, but I can only remember a few times where I've actually put the 2nd ball OB as well and had to hit a 3rd. Oftentimes my experience is just like you describe.  Just Saturday on the 2nd hole, first driver of the day, got snappy and pulled my 1st drive OB.  2nd drive was one of my best of the day, pumped down the middle.

I totally agree with Rustyredcab's mental stuff though.  I often find my best shots are non-stock ones, whether I need to hit it low/high, a big fade or draw, or like an 85% shot or something.  I think that's because it forces me to not let mechanical thoughts or other outside thoughts creep in cause they don't really apply to the shot at hand, and I'm freer and just envisioning my shot and whatnot.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

hey, I'm just wondering how many people also find that their provisional shot always seems to end up in a better position that their first shot. I know that having to take a provisional in the first place must mean that your fist shot was pretty bad and that the chances of having two bad shots is slim.. but i thought it is an interesting thing and was wondering is it a mindset that improves the second shot, and if so, how can I achieve this mindset consistently?

Not necessarily. How many times have you been playing with somebody who hits a bad drive and has to hit a provisional and says, "Oh, I don't have another ball. Anybody got one?" And he hits your ball in a worse place? It is almost guaranteed. :~(

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If I use the same club I will often make the same mistake out of some sort of panic mode.  I usually will now pick a different club if I need to play a provisional just to get a different feel.

edit:  Also another reason I love the Driveway!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

hey, I'm just wondering how many people also find that their provisional shot always seems to end up in a better position that their first shot. I know that having to take a provisional in the first place must mean that your fist shot was pretty bad and that the chances of having two bad shots is slim.. but i thought it is an interesting thing and was wondering is it a mindset that improves the second shot, and if so, how can I achieve this mindset consistently?

I agree that more often the provisional ball is a better shot, but I can recall one time in particular where that wasn't so.  I yanked my drive left into the 2-3 foot native rough, played 3 provisionals almost identically before finally getting the 5th ball in play.  In the area where my first 4 balls went, I don't even bother to look because even if found there is no way you can make a swing.  If I have the time, I may go look after I play my approach, but I'm not about to accidentally find one of the balls out there and have to go back to the tee after already mucking up the hole so badly.  If I look at all, I make sure first than none of them can be the ball in play.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Well, given that the first shot was so bad that it resulted in the need for a provisional in the first place, I would hope that the provisional would be better more often than not! :-)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

My buddies and I joke that our B player's close to turning pro.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Not necessarily. How many times have you been playing with somebody who hits a bad drive and has to hit a provisional and says, "Oh, I don't have another ball. Anybody got one?" And he hits your ball in a worse place? It is almost guaranteed.

LOL.   I ran into one such guy who had to borrow a ball from me.  He ran out of his balls on front 9 but didn't lose the borrowed ball and finished the round with it.

Back to OT - I usually (not always) hit better on 2nd shot.   But I've hit 2nd one into OB before.   I dare not hit 3rd in fear of holding up the group behind.   So, I don't have too many experience hitting 3 OBs in a row, well, not any more ;-) .

In tournament play, I wonder, what others have seen for most consecutive provision balls hit by one player?   3, 4, 5, or more?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

LOL.   I ran into one such guy who had to borrow a ball from me.  He ran out of his balls on front 9 but didn't lose the borrowed ball and finished the round with it.

Back to OT - I usually (not always) hit better on 2nd shot.   But I've hit 2nd one into OB before.   I dare not hit 3rd in fear of holding up the group behind.   So, I don't have too many experience hitting 3 OBs in a row, well, not any more .

In tournament play, I wonder, what others have seen for most consecutive provision balls hit by one player?   3, 4, 5, or more?

I would hope that someone who has already gone OB 3 times would just take out a 9i or something and get one in play.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

hey, I'm just wondering how many people also find that their provisional shot always seems to end up in a better position that their first shot. I know that having to take a provisional in the first place must mean that your fist shot was pretty bad and that the chances of having two bad shots is slim.. but i thought it is an interesting thing and was wondering is it a mindset that improves the second shot, and if so, how can I achieve this mindset consistently?


My second shot used to always better than my first.

The problem is that...

After working so hard for this past month hitting ball after ball to get a much more consistent swing, my second shot ends up in the same bad place as my first.

I need to learn to :censored: aim before hitting.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Yes but only because I play conservative usually making a club change to ensure it stays in play.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

The provisional is almost always perfect..........LOL

It's like missing that 4' putt........then raking it back, and it always goes in center cut once it doesn't matter.  One of my former playing partners seemingly always re-putted after missing.....and he almost always made it the 2nd time.  I'd always say something to the effect of ........."Damn, that other guy is a good putter". LOL

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2017 TST Partners

    PING Golf
    Leupold Golf
    Snell Golf
    Talamore Golf Resort
    Lowest Score Wins
  • Posts

    • I still remember my first couple of rounds playing strokeplay from the backtees on my home course. Because I went down to under hcp 15 I had to play in cat1 group, before that I only played Stableford from the medal tees. First couple of times 100+ scores as a hcp 14. I even got so fed up with this strokeplay, I picked up a couple of times. It took me two handfull of rounds to get used to it. later I played as a single digit player twice a strokeplay tournament on a nice but to me unknown course and scored both times 103. This year I will play it for the third time, to break that record. Strokeplay, no esc will get into his head. I would bet on it.
    • Obviously keeping your left leg flexed longer is the key.  For me, the problem has been straightening the right leg, but in theory any straightening that lifts you away from the ball is not good. What I have started doing is not flexing my knees that much when setting up.  They are not locked, but they are pretty straight.  I've never done this before but it has helped to keep me balanced and not do the lift-down-lift move.  My head doesn't move as much and I can lift my left heel on the backswing without lifting my upper body.  I also feel that I'm not fighting as much to get to the left side.  I'm getting more consistent contact and it seems to be easier on my body. I have no idea if it will help you at all and I'm just throwing it out in case you can't use a drill to fix your issue. John  
    • Hi guys been having trouble with my account or I wouldn't be so spotty... Anyways I been looking to upgrade my entire bag and am slowly but surely. I just ordered my new irons 716 AP1 and can't be more excited. I was just wondering what you guys thought on how hard it's going to be to adjust to them coming from TM Burner plus irons. I'm sure they will be a half to a full club longer due the stronger lofts, but how much more forgiving could they be. I really hope the long irons will be a tad bit easier to hit than mine currently are. Thanks for any and all feedback and remember the goal is to keep it in the short grass lol 
    • I love grilling steaks. I've cooked them caveman style right on the charcoal, a grate over my chimney starter, reverse sear, 700* grill, you name it I've done it. I haven't tried the sous vide method yet, but it's similar to a reverse sear in the oven then 30 seconds on a hot grill grate. My favorite cut is a big 3lb cowboy ribeye. I'll eat a filet at a steakhouse, but the ribeye is king when I'm grilling at home. 
    • 5/24:  Another rainy day (and my yard is soaked), so kept it light, and indoors.  Looks good to play tomorrow, finally, though.
      5 mins. wall drill indoors, no club; focus on keeping backside into wall through impact
      A couple of mins. in front of mirror; focused on checkups for setup position, then at each position through impact
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Blog Entries

  • Today's Birthdays

    1. Golfgirl10543
      Golfgirl10543
      (43 years old)
    2. jkettman
      jkettman
      (28 years old)
    3. old man1953
      old man1953
      (64 years old)
  • Get Great Gear with Amazon