• Announcements

    • iacas

      GAME GOLF Ryder Cup Contest   09/22/2016

      Join our GAME GOLF Ryder Cup Challenge to win an autographed GAME GOLF, a Pebble Steel watch, and many more great prizes!
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Captincoby

Big Cup hole-in-one

0  

  1. 1. Is a hole-in-one in a big cup still a hole-in-one?

    • Yes
      9
    • No
      22

Please sign in or register to vote in this poll.

34 posts in this topic

Hello all. First time poster, long time reader. Last season I lipped out a hole-in-one in a big cup tournament.  Even though it didn't go in the experience was still pretty exciting and have told a few of my fellow golfers about it. Each time I have told the story they have asked "does that still count?"  I would have to say its a matter of opinion and would like to hear what you guys think.  Would you say you had a hole-in-one if it was with an oversized cup?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Want to get rid of this advertisement? Sign up (or log in) today! It's free!

No. The absurdly small size of a regulation golf hole is what makes a true hole in one the mythical beast that it is. But hey if it still says 1 on the card it is still a heck an accomplishment.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Hello all. First time poster, long time reader. Last season I lipped out a hole-in-one in a big cup tournament.  Even though it didn't go in the experience was still pretty exciting and have told a few of my fellow golfers about it. Each time I have told the story they have asked "does that still count?"  I would have to say its a matter of opinion and would like to hear what you guys think.  Would you say you had a hole-in-one if it was with an oversized cup?

Welcome to the forum!  Thanks for posting.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Welcome to the forum ... The traditionalist will say no ... I would just say I got a hole-in-hole during a big cup turnament ... Let the listener label it how they want to ... Hell I wish I could get that close ... I usually lay up somewhere off the green on par 3's. So not an issue for me ...
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Nope, I wouldn't count a big-holer. I'd mention it in discussions about aces, but in good conscience, I wouldn't consider it to be a true hole-in-one.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Nope, I wouldn't count a big-holer. I'd mention it in discussions about aces, but in good conscience, I wouldn't consider it to be a true hole-in-one.

Nope, nice shot though. Hell, I made one from 99 yards with a regulation cup but I don't count it cuz it was at a par 3 course.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Nope, nice shot though.

Hell, I made one from 99 yards with a regulation cup but I don't count it cuz it was at a par 3 course.

Elaborate when you say "didn't count"

I think I would take Isukgolf's perspective- tell people about it and let them decide for themselves.  Yesterday, I made an "eagle" two at a scramble- my drive and my second shot, but I picked up my original ball and played the 2nd from a preferred lie after my partners hit.  I don't talk about eagles often, but if anyone asks me if I have eagled that hole, I will tell them the circumstances.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Elaborate when you say "didn't count" I think I would take Isukgolf's perspective- tell people about it and let them decide for themselves.  Yesterday, I made an "eagle" two at a scramble- my drive and my second shot, but I picked up my original ball and played the 2nd from a preferred lie after my partners hit.  I don't talk about eagles often, but if anyone asks me if I have eagled that hole, I will tell them the circumstances.

Nice. What I mean is when asked if I've ever made an ace, I say no but I did once hole one from 99 yards at a par 3 course. Some people say it should count but I just can't legitimize in my own head.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I'd have to say no, but I would still tell folks I had an ace in that particular "Big Cup" tournament. Especially if it were a sanctioned event by some ruling body. Any  score card with a ("1")  on it deserves to be framed, and hung on a wall some where. I have the score cards of my first Ace, Eagle, Birdy, and Par put a way.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Would you say you had a hole-in-one if it was with an oversized cup?

The National Golf Foundation would put an asterisk * beside our name, just as professional baseball would do if we had hit 400 home runs while using steroids.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

The National Golf Foundation would put an asterisk [SIZE=16px][COLOR=800000]*[/COLOR][/SIZE] beside our name, just as professional baseball would do if we had hit 400 home runs while using steroids.

Wish this were the case, don't think Bonds, ARod, Sosa, or McGwire have asterisks but they should.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

It is what it is. Certainly, nothing to be ashamed about. I would not personally count it, but would not look down on someone for considering it a hole in one. I have wanted to try a course set up with the big holes to see what it is like to play.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I voted yes. It's still an awfully damn hard thing to do, and hey, if you think the answer is "yes" then who is anyone else to tell you "no"?

I don't think I'd count it myself, but it'd still be great fun to see.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Quote:
Originally Posted by iacas View Post

I voted yes. It's still an awfully damn hard thing to do, and hey, if you think the answer is "yes" then who is anyone else to tell you "no"?

I don't think I'd count it myself, but it'd still be great fun to see.

Not trying to nitpick but I'm confused as to why you voted "yes".  We often talk on here about golf as a gentleman's game and importance of self policing of the rules.  The Rules of Golf define a "hole" as;

Quote:

The “ hole ’’ must be 4 1⁄4 inches (108 mm) in diameter and at least 4 inches (101.6 mm) deep. If a lining is used, it must be sunk at least 1 inch (25.4 mm) below the putting green surface, unless the nature of the soil makes it impracticable to do so; its outer diameter must not exceed 4 1⁄4 inches (108 mm).

While it is still a great achievement, if all our golf achievements are based on playing by the ROG, then in theory it's a hole in one but not a hole in one in accordance with the Rules of Golf which is what I believe the OP was asking.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I don't understand these types of questions.  What do you mean by "counts?"  Counts towards what?  As far as I know, it's not being logged in a registry somewhere at PGA or USGA headquarters with some "Official" stamp on it, is it??  And it's not bowling where your 300 game has to be sanctioned before you can get your ring.  Nobody is giving out awards for your hole-in-one, so it counts as much as you want it to count.  That said, I voted yes because, if it was me, the next time somebody asked me about holes-in-one after I did something like this my answer would be different than it is now.  Now, my answer would be "I have one."  After having done this, my answer would be something more like "I have one normal hole-in-one, and I also have one in a 'big cup' tournament that isn't nearly as impressive, but hey, it's still a one."

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

It counts as a hole in one in a 'big cup' format

It doesn't count as a hole in one in regular golf

so what - pretty cool anyway

aside - par 3 course or not - 99 yards or not - that's a hole in one

This made me think about my first eagle (I've had two now in the last year, but the FIRST one I forgot about).  You let me remember it - an asterisk moment as a result of this thread...THANKS....

my first "eagle" is from a long time ago at Andrews AFB (mid-90's?) - one of the courses.  It was a par 5, we were playing scrambles and the best tee shot we had (not mine) went right and into the junk.  I hit a hard bend to the green and also sank the really long and turny putt.  I know it's not official, but it was pretty cool anyway.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

In 45+ years of playing, I've never had an ace. I can think of at least 2 that would have gone in a 15 inch hole in the last 6 months alone though..... Just sayin'..... I don't know that I could afford the bar bills though! ;-)
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0