IGNORED

140mph + head speed, but driver is still bad.

Note: This thread is 3075 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Hi, new to the forum.

I have been playing golf for about 10 years now and have a handicap of 9. I have a reasonably fast swing and can hit the ball reasonably far. Problem is that my 3 wood usually goes further than my driver. I went into my local golf store (I live in Japan) and they measured my swing speed ,ball spin etc and I am getting about 140-150mph with a driver and 125-130mph on a 7 iron. I can hit the 3 wood over 300 yards regularly but my driver is pathetic. The guys at the shop are saying that I am getting too much spin on the ball, as I tend to hit down on the ball if you can get the picture.

How do you stop putting spin on a ball with a driver?

BTW, I dislocated my left thumb during a down swing a few months back, although I know that does not help much, but that is how much I put into each swing.

Lol. They use the metric system in Japan; that's kph which converts to about 100-106 mph.

In my Bag: Driver: Titelist 913 D3 9.5 deg. 3W: TaylorMade RBZ 14.5 3H: TaylorMade RBZ 18.5 4I - SW: TaylorMade R7 TP LW: Titelist Vokey 60 Putter: Odyssey 2-Ball

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Hi, new to the forum.