IGNORED

Golf and Alcohol

Tim Williamson
Note: This thread is 1006 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Alcohol and Golf  

131 members have voted

1. 1. How much do you drink when you play?

• Not at all
    • Rarely
    • Occasionally
    • Often
    • Always or nearly all the time

To what extent is alcohol a part of your golf game? Some of the guys I have played with start working on their buzz as soon as they get to the course in the early morning. One of them told me that he plays better when he's had a mixed drink to start things off. He went on to say that the more he drinks the better he plays. I consider some of them functioning alcoholics. How can being impaired help your golf game? When I started playing with this group I partook in the post game libations. I soon realized that this is not fun, especially the next day hangover. I love golf but I can do without the alcohol. I decided that the only way I can join in any post game gathering is with a non-alcoholic brew. Playing with a group where a good number of players use alcohol as part of their ritual has made me examine how I feel about the mixture of golf and alcohol. I see golf as an athletic pursuit. It requires focus and stamina. 

• Thumbs Up 1
It is important to expect nothing, to take every experience, including the negative ones, as merely steps on the path, and to proceed.”. Ram Dass

I do not drink and thus don't mix the two, but I really feel anyone that says they play better the more they drink are fooling themselves.  I remember back in high school where kids would say that they actually drive better when drinking, and we know how delusional that is.

:adams: / :tmade: / :edel: / :aimpoint: / :ecco: / :bushnell: / :gamegolf: / 

Eyad

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades