IGNORED

Anyone Play a Driving Iron?

I got a 24 degree Adams Pro DHY for 10 dollars. Considering I can only hit it 205, and I usually play 6800 yard courses and up, is there any point of this club?  Not many 350 yard holes

1 hour ago, StefanUrkel said:

I got a 24 degree Adams Pro DHY for 10 dollars. Considering I can only hit it 205, and I usually play 6800 yard courses and up, is there any point of this club?  Not many 350 yard holes

The key is $10 that you paid for the club.

That pretty much sums up the utility of that club, and for many of us, 205 is about what a decent 4i shot can do.

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Not a true driving iron, but I use a 4i for tight tee shots when my 4 hybrid is not working.

On longer par 3 holes earlier this week, I hit one green and had a tap-in up and down par from off the fringe on the other.

Once in a while, I have a 21° Adams DHY I put in on windy days. Mine is kind of like a 3.5 iron, It also plays double duty when I carry 5 wedges, which is once in a great while.

Edited by onthehunt526

On 8/30/2017 at 2:18 PM, Lihu said:

The key is $10 that you paid for the club.

That pretty much sums up the utility of that club, and for many of us, 205 is about what a decent 4i shot can do.

That's kind of what I was thinking. What is a "driving iron" doing with 24 degrees of loft?! That's a 4 iron!

I've bought more than a few "driving irons" from purveyors of thrift.  Two three bucks...why not?  They work fine if your primary consideration is dollars per yard.  

12 minutes ago, Buckeyebowman said:

That's kind of what I was thinking. What is a "driving iron" doing with 24 degrees of loft?! That's a 4 iron!

What's funny is that some paid $200 for something like that. . .I tried a used one out but was able to sell it back for the same price because it belonged to some famous baseball player. :-P