IGNORED

Clubs? I’m a beginner and I’m shopping for clubs

Note: This thread is 1863 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

• Administrator

You can find a generation or two old set of clubs on eBay pretty inexpensively.

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

28 minutes ago, iacas said:

You can find a generation or two old set of clubs on eBay pretty inexpensively.

Thank you for this. Some put down eBay for first clubs. And many will say a person starting out should go get fitted with top line clubs from the get-go. 

For me @Drew2185, maybe you could do some Google research of reviews of game improvement clubs for beginners; then compare those clubs on Maltby Playability Factor; then search for your choices on eBay, being careful to study the condition of the clubs, the seller's reputation and the condition of sale. And before buying, go to a golf shop that has a swing monitor to get an idea of swing speed.

Research different shafts. Try to match the flex of the shafts of your clubs to your swing speed. Also, try to swing shafts of different weights and get similar shafts in your clubs. You may be surprised that you can snag really premium clubs that you will be happy with for a long time. Anyway, the search for clubs that somehow sing your name is part of the joyful mystery of golf. Best wishes in it, -Marv