Jump to content
Note:Β This thread is 2462 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic.Β Thank you!

Recommended Posts

  • Administrator

Let's say this is the result ofΒ your second shot on a par four.

What do you score for the hole and how?


The coach of another college asked me this yesterday, after a player sent him this post. I gave him the answer, but I thought it might be fun to discuss it here.

Go ahead, have at it.

Erik J. Barzeski β€” β›³Β I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. πŸŒπŸΌβ€β™‚οΈ
Director of InstructionΒ Golf EvolutionΒ β€’Β Owner,Β The Sand Trap .comΒ β€’Β Author,Β Lowest Score Wins
Golf DigestΒ "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17Β &Β "Best in State" 2017-20Β β€’ WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019Β :edel:Β :true_linkswear:

Check Out:Β New TopicsΒ |Β TST BlogΒ |Β Golf TermsΒ |Β Instructional ContentΒ |Β AnalyzrΒ |Β LSWΒ | Instructional Droplets

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

(edited)

I’m noΒ rules buff, but wouldn’t you mark the ball, remove the stick, replace the ball and if it goes in it’s an eagle?Β 

Ive seen this happen where a ball stays in its pitch mark on a slope of a green. The guy marked, fixed the pitch mark, replaced his ball and picked up the coin before it started rolling.Β 

Edited by kpaulhus

Kyle Paulhus

If you really want to get better, check outΒ Evolvr

:callaway:Β Rogue ST 10.5* |Β :callaway:Β Epic Sub Zero 15* | :tmade:Β P790 3 Driving Iron |:titleist:Β 716Β AP2Β | Β :edel:Β Wedges 50/54/68 |Β :edel:Β Deschutes 36"

Career Low Round: 67Β (18 holes),Β 32Β (9 holes)

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

1 minute ago, kpaulhus said:

I’m noΒ rules buff, but wouldn’t you mark the ball, remove the stick, replace the ball and if it goes in it’s an eagle?Β 

Ive seen this happen where a ball stays in its pitch mark on a slope of a green. The guy marked, fixed the pitch mark, replaced his ball and picked up the coin before it started rolling.Β 

@iacas, I think he's right. It's got to be a 2. Why can't it be a second shot on a par-5, Erik?

Anyway, by the time you mark the ball, remove the twig, and replace the ball, the ball will not come to rest without the twig there, especially the way the ball is hanging over the hole... You might as well consider it holed.

What's in Shane's Bag?Β  Β  Β 

Ball: 2022 :callaway:Β Chrome Soft Triple Track Driver: :callaway:Paradym Triple Diamond 8Β° MCA Kai’li 70s FW: :callaway:Paradym Triple DiamondΒ Β H: :callaway:Β Apex Pro 21 20Β°I (3-PW) :callaway: Apex 21 UST Recoil 95 (3), Recoil 110 (4-PW). Wedges: :callaway:Β Jaws Raw 50Β°, 54Β°, 60Β° UST Recoil 110Β Putter: :odyssey:Β Tri-Hot 5K Triple Wide 35”

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Would you have to remove the flag? Β Seems like you could mark the ball, remove the twig, and drop the ball in the hole. Β Replacing the ball isn't a stroke; so contact with the flag shouldn't matter.

In der bag:
Cleveland Hi-Bore driver, Maltby 5 wood, Maltby hybrid, Maltby irons and wedges (23 to 50) Vokey 59/07, Cleveland Niblick (LH-42), and a Maltby mallet putter.Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β "When the going gets tough...it's tough to get going."

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator

I'll share the answer when many people have shared their opinions, or someone else who knows the rule points it out and spoils it for everyone else. ;-)

BTW we had a similar discussion back on… June 11, 2015 about this.

82576

Just now, Piz said:

Would you have to remove the flag? Β Seems like you could mark the ball, remove the twig, and drop the ball in the hole. Β Replacing the ball isn't a stroke; so contact with the flag shouldn't matter.

FWIW the ball is not touchingΒ the flagstick. The twig appears to be, but could be stuck in the ground behind the flagstick. I don't know.

Erik J. Barzeski β€” β›³Β I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. πŸŒπŸΌβ€β™‚οΈ
Director of InstructionΒ Golf EvolutionΒ β€’Β Owner,Β The Sand Trap .comΒ β€’Β Author,Β Lowest Score Wins
Golf DigestΒ "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17Β &Β "Best in State" 2017-20Β β€’ WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019Β :edel:Β :true_linkswear:

Check Out:Β New TopicsΒ |Β TST BlogΒ |Β Golf TermsΒ |Β Instructional ContentΒ |Β AnalyzrΒ |Β LSWΒ | Instructional Droplets

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Loose impediment on the green can be moved without penalty, and the shot was from off the green so hitting theΒ flagstick is no issue.Β  Move the twig, if the ball falls in its holed.

Bryan

:wishon:Β  919, Aldila Voodoo Β :callaway:Β Razr X Tour 3h Β :callaway:Β Razr Hawk 3w, Aldila NV Β :callaway:Β Razr X Forged 4-PW, KBS Tour Β :wishon:Β  52, 56, 60, KBS Tour
Β :odyssey:Β White Ice 330, 33inΒ Β :aimpoint:Β  Β Β :true_linkswear:

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

My guess would be the ball must be marked first. Then remove the loose impediment, then replace the ball to it's original position which then the ball would drop into the hole and considered holed out.

I would certainly call an official to request a ruling before taking any action if playing in a sanctioned event.Β 

Johnny Rocket - Let's Rock and Roll and play some golf !!!

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Since the ball is on the green, the loose impediment (the twig) can be removed without penalty. The ballΒ has to be replaced once the loose impediment is removed, and if the ball moves once it is placed then it has to be placed at the nearest spot no closer to the hole where it wont move when placed, so on the lip of the hole.Β 

Rule 20-3 Section D

If a ball when placed fails to come to rest on the spot on which it was placed, there is no penalty and the ball must be replaced. If it still fails to come to rest on that spot:

(i)Β except in aΒ hazard, it must be placed at the nearest spot where it can be placed at rest that is not nearer theΒ holeΒ and not in aΒ hazard;

(ii) in aΒ hazard, it must be placed in theΒ hazardΒ at the nearest spot where it can be placed at rest that is not nearer theΒ hole.

  • Like 1

Driver:Β :callaway:Β Rogue Max ST LS
Woods:Β Β :cobra:Β Darkspeed LS 3Wood
Irons: :titleist: U505 (3)Β Β :tmade:Β P770 (4-PW)
Wedges:Β :callaway:Β MD3 50Β  Β :titleist: SM9 54/58 Β 
Putter:Β :tmade:Β Spider X

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

30 minutes ago, kpaulhus said:

I’m noΒ rules buff, but wouldn’t you mark the ball, remove the stick, replace the ball and if it goes in it’s an eagle?Β 

Ive seen this happen where a ball stays in its pitch mark on a slope of a green. The guy marked, fixed the pitch mark, replaced his ball and picked up the coin before it started rolling.Β 

This seems logical, but I think I've seen where you have to place the ball wherever you can get it to stay, so you'd have to keep moving back until it wouldn't fall in the hole, then you'd have to tap in for a 3.

  • Like 1
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Rule 16-2. The ball is at rest, sadlyΒ ;-)

The golfer must make a stroke.Β 

Lets say the golfer moves the stick. He suffers a 1 stroke penalty because his ball moved. He must replace the ball. Which can’t be replaced since it would fall into the hole. I guess he thenΒ would incur a one stroke penalty and is deemed holed out as per rule 16-2.Β 

Matt Dougherty, P.E.
Β fasdfaΒ dfdsafΒ 

What's in My Bag
Driver;Β :pxg:Β 0311 Gen 5,Β  3-Wood:Β 
:titleist:Β 917h3 ,Β  Hybrid:Β  :titleist:Β 915 2-Hybrid,Β  Irons: Sub 70 TAIII Fordged
Wedges: :edel:Β (52, 56, 60),Β  Putter: :edel:,Β  Ball: :snell:Β MTB,Β Β Shoe: :true_linkswear:,Β  Rangfinder:Β :leupold:
Bag:Β :ping:

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Ball needs to be below the lip to be considered holed. Β You can move the flagstick to let a ball come to rest under the lip but I think that to have to mark the ball and replace it (above the lip) on the edge of the hole. Β I’m guessing it’s like when you have a ball that is wedges against the flagstick and not below the lip...if you remove the flagstick and the ball comes out then the ball has to be placed on the lip with no penalty. Β You haven’t made a stroke to put that ball under the lip.

Fairways and Greens.

Dave
Β 

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Not sure if this applies to the situation.

Ruling.PNG

Johnny Rocket - Let's Rock and Roll and play some golf !!!

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Moderator

You can't move the stick without moving the ball, so you have to play it as Matt said. It is not resting against the flag stick, so that rule doesn't apply.

Scott

Titleist, Edel,Β Scotty Cameron Putter, Snell - AimPoint - Evolvr - MirrorVision

My Swing Thread

boogielicious - Adjective describing the perfect surf wave

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

(edited)
7 minutes ago, saevel25 said:

Rule 16-2. The ball is at rest, sadlyΒ ;-)

The golfer must make a stroke.Β 

Lets say the golfer moves the stick. He suffers a 1 stroke penalty because his ball moved. He must replace the ball. Which can’t be replaced since it would fall into the hole. I guess he thenΒ would incur a one stroke penalty and is deemed holed out as per rule 16-2.Β 

Even though the ball is at rest, the golfer is still able to remove the loose impediment since the ball is on the green

From Rule 23-1

Except when both theΒ loose impedimentΒ and the ball lie in or touch the sameΒ hazard, anyΒ loose impedimentΒ may be removed without penalty.

If the ball lies anywhere other than on theΒ putting greenΒ and the removal of aΒ loose impedimentΒ by the player causes the ball toΒ move, RuleΒ 18-2Β applies.

"Loose impediments" are natural objects, including:

  • stones, leaves, twigs, branches and the like

@boogieliciousΒ the ball is on the green, so in my mind, I can mark the ball, remove the loose impediment, then replace the ball in the exact spot where it was before the impediment was removed. Since the ball would move after being placed twice, then rule 20-3 comes into play in my opinion/interpretation.

Edited by klineka

Driver:Β :callaway:Β Rogue Max ST LS
Woods:Β Β :cobra:Β Darkspeed LS 3Wood
Irons: :titleist: U505 (3)Β Β :tmade:Β P770 (4-PW)
Wedges:Β :callaway:Β MD3 50Β  Β :titleist: SM9 54/58 Β 
Putter:Β :tmade:Β Spider X

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

5 minutes ago, klineka said:

Even though the ball is at rest, the golfer is still able to remove the loose impediment since the ball is on the green

I agree

Quote

If the ball lies anywhere other than on the putting green and the removal of a loose impediment by the player causes the ball to move, Rule 18-2 applies.

On the putting green, if the ball or ball-marker is accidentally moved in the process of the player removing a loose impediment, the ball or ball-marker must be replaced. There is no penalty, provided the movement of the ball or ball-marker is directly attributable to the removal of the loose impediment. Otherwise, the player incurs a penalty of one stroke under Rule 18-2.

Rule 18-2 states that if the player caused the ball to move they suffer a one-stroke penalty and then must replace the ball. A player can not say they accidently move the ball when they intently moved loose impediment with the ball against it like that. Unless accidently include knowing the ball will move, and doing it anyways because the intent is not to move the ball.

Β 

Matt Dougherty, P.E.
Β fasdfaΒ dfdsafΒ 

What's in My Bag
Driver;Β :pxg:Β 0311 Gen 5,Β  3-Wood:Β 
:titleist:Β 917h3 ,Β  Hybrid:Β  :titleist:Β 915 2-Hybrid,Β  Irons: Sub 70 TAIII Fordged
Wedges: :edel:Β (52, 56, 60),Β  Putter: :edel:,Β  Ball: :snell:Β MTB,Β Β Shoe: :true_linkswear:,Β  Rangfinder:Β :leupold:
Bag:Β :ping:

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Rule 16-2 (Ball Overhanging Hole?

Β 

Johnny Rocket - Let's Rock and Roll and play some golf !!!

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

(edited)
2 minutes ago, saevel25 said:

I agree

Rule 18-2 states that if the player caused the ball to move they suffer a one-stroke penalty and then must replace the ball. A player can not say they accidently move the ball when they intently moved loose impediment with the ball against it like that. Unless accidently include knowing the ball will move, and doing it anyways because the intent is not to move the ball.

What if I mark the ball, pick the ball up, remove the loose impediment, then attempt to place the ball again?

Also from rule 18-2

Under theΒ RulesΒ there is no penalty if a player accidentally causes his ball toΒ moveΒ in the following circumstances:

Edited by klineka

Driver:Β :callaway:Β Rogue Max ST LS
Woods:Β Β :cobra:Β Darkspeed LS 3Wood
Irons: :titleist: U505 (3)Β Β :tmade:Β P770 (4-PW)
Wedges:Β :callaway:Β MD3 50Β  Β :titleist: SM9 54/58 Β 
Putter:Β :tmade:Β Spider X

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Note:Β This thread is 2462 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic.Β Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • TST Partners

    TourStriker PlaneMate
    Golfer's Journal
    ShotScope
    The Stack System
    FitForGolf
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct: Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package.

    Coupon Codes (save 10-20%): "IACAS" for Mevo/Stack/FitForGolf, "IACASPLUS" for Mevo+/Pro Package, and "THESANDTRAP" for ShotScope. 15% off TourStriker (no code).
  • Popular Now

  • Posts

    • Wordle 1,257 6/6* 🟨🟩⬜🟩⬜ ⬜🟩🟩🟩⬜ ⬜🟩🟩🟩⬜ 🟨🟩🟩🟩⬜ ⬜🟩🟩🟩🟩 🟩🟩🟩🟩🟩
    • Wordle 1,257 4/6 🟩🟩🟩⬜⬜ 🟩🟩🟩⬜⬜ 🟩🟩🟩⬜⬜ 🟩🟩🟩🟩🟩
    • Wordle 1,257 4/6 ⬜🟨⬜🟨⬜ ⬜🟩⬜⬜⬜ 🟩🟩🟩🟩⬜ 🟩🟩🟩🟩🟩
    • Played Sunday and implemented the Mayo spinner. Hit my second shot long and left on three to a bare lie. I have seen this shot to a tucked pin but I don’t swing across it enough and hit it too far with a ton of spin but it rolled into the bunker. I pulled my approach short and left on ten to a horrible lie with about 3’ of rise to a tucked pin maybe 5’ on the green. Ball is in a damp lie with debris behind and in front of the ball. Hit it to 3.5’ but horseshoed the putt around the right edge, which was a common miss. I hooked my tee shot into an unplayable lie in the hazard on the left side of the par 5 16th. Hit a great recovery that rolled to about 45 yards short of the back right pin. Hit the spinner over a bumpy green that rolled just over the ridge to 3’. Sank the straight 2.5’ putt. Felt like I had good control of these shots!
    • Wordle 1,257 3/6* β¬›πŸŸ¨β¬›πŸŸ¨β¬› πŸŸ©β¬›πŸŸ©β¬›β¬› 🟩🟩🟩🟩🟩
Γ—
Γ—
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...