Jump to content
Check out the Spin Axis Podcast! ×
Note: This thread is 2439 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

  • Administrator
Posted

@rehmwa, if the blue area is the hole, then the purple line is way too high - the ball has to be below the LIP of the putting green, not the putting green an inch or even half an inch from the hole itself.

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted (edited)

I didn't think the picture is that unclear..... anyway - purple line is the extension of the putting green - blue is the plastic insert (always below the level of the green

the curved line is your sloppy edge to the cup

 

I'm just looking to see if I got the concept correct.  learning

Edited by rehmwa

Bill - 

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator
Posted

It has to be below the edge of the cup. Your purple line is wrong.

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted (edited)

go ahead and delete my last two graphics if it's not clear.

I don't think I can do that.

thanks

Edited by rehmwa

Bill - 

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator
Posted

It’s clear. They’re just wrong.

Your purple line is too high. It’s at the lip. Not above it.

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

What happens if the flagstick is removed here (or even straightened)?  Are we in agreement that the ball would fall?  It very much looks to me like it is being upheld by an out of position flag.

Assuming that we are in agreement, go ahead and try to replace the ball exactly where it was once the flag is removed - as stated by the rules.  That dang thing keeps falling in the hole.  There is a reason for that.  What is the rationale for calling it not holed in that case?

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

It is cruel, but from what I have read about the rule and the pictures above it is likely not a hole in one.  That being said I do not like the rule and believe that the pin should be removed and the ball placed back in the same spot - if it falls in the hole then ace, otherwise tap in birdie.  But, I don't make the rules!

3 minutes ago, Cantankerish said:

What happens if the flagstick is removed here (or even straightened)?  Are we in agreement that the ball would fall?  It very much looks to me like it is being upheld by an out of position flag.

Assuming that we are in agreement, go ahead and try to replace the ball exactly where it was once the flag is removed - as stated by the rules.  That dang thing keeps falling in the hole.  There is a reason for that.  What is the rationale for calling it not holed in that case?

I was typing as your post came up and I almost duplicated your post!  Sorry.  

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Moderator
Posted
27 minutes ago, Cantankerish said:

What happens if the flagstick is removed here (or even straightened)?  Are we in agreement that the ball would fall?  It very much looks to me like it is being upheld by an out of position flag.

Assuming that we are in agreement, go ahead and try to replace the ball exactly where it was once the flag is removed - as stated by the rules.  That dang thing keeps falling in the hole.  There is a reason for that.  What is the rationale for calling it not holed in that case?

The rules are clear on this:

Screenshot_20190321-154153_USGA Rules.jpg

It doesn't say replace the ball "exactly" in its original spot. It says on the lip.

Bill

“By three methods we may learn wisdom: First, by reflection, which is noblest; Second, by imitation, which is easiest; and third by experience, which is the bitterest.” - Confucius

My Swing Thread

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

Ace - that shot falls if the pin moves, whether removing or straightening.  @Rustuk, please give us details on hole, shot, club, GREAT SHOT !


  • Moderator
Posted

I'm not happy that we're arguing about (OK, discussing) the definition of "below the surface of the putting green."  I can understand each of the definitions offered, but I can't tell which one the rules specifically envision.  Or more probably, the rules don't envision a worn or depressed area immediately surrounding the hole, which is sadly a too common occurrence.  Less common is that severely tilted flagstick.  If I was in your group, I'd have called it an ace, and had a pint on you.

Dave

:callaway: Rogue SubZero Driver

:titleist: 915F 15 Fairway, 816 H1 19 Hybrid, AP2 4 iron to PW, Vokey 52, 56, and 60 wedges, ProV1 balls 
:ping: G5i putter, B60 version
 :ping:Hoofer Bag, complete with Newport Cup logo
:footjoy::true_linkswear:, and Ashworth shoes

the only thing wrong with this car is the nut behind the wheel.

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

If in @RustUK's opinion part of the ball was in the hole, then it is a hole-in-one in my book.  Photos are not 3 dimensional and often are misleading.  He was there and it is his and his playing companion's call. The fact that he bought drinks just further confirms my opinion. 😉

Congratulations.

 

  • Like 1

Brian Kuehn

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted (edited)
1 hour ago, billchao said:

The rules are clear on this:

Screenshot_20190321-154153_USGA Rules.jpg

It doesn't say replace the ball "exactly" in its original spot. It says on the lip.

It is specific, as you say.  But the part about replacing the ball on the lip follows an intervening “if”.  That is, you are referencing a procedure to follow “if” the ball is not holed.  I say it is holed, so I don't get to that "if".  I look at that image and I see a ball being propped up by a flag.  That can only happen if it is beyond 50% over the hole.  Rehmwa may have goofed the pics, but the basic mathematics of his argument are entirely correct.  If the ball is beyond 50% over the hole, it must, by mathematical reasoning, have some portion below the surface of the green.  

 

Of course, a simple test would just be to straighten the flag.  The ball will only fall if it is indeed beyond 50% over the hole.

Ace.

Edited by Cantankerish
fat finger
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

Rule 13.2

a. Leaving Flagstick in Hole

If you make a stroke with the flagstick left in the hole and the ball in motion then hits the flagstick, there is no penalty and the ball must be played as it lies.

The decision to have the flagstick in the hole must be made before your stroke, by either leaving the flagstick in the hole or having a removed flagstick put back.

In either case, you must not try to gain an advantage by deliberately moving the flagstick to a position other than centred in the hole. If you do so and the ball in motion then hits the flagstick, you get the general penalty.

 

So you are allowed to center it before your stroke but after would not effect that stroke just played.

I guess the closest way to tell if any part of the ball is below the hole is to take your scorecard and slide it over the hole from the opposite side of the ball and if it touched the ball before reaching the other side of the hole, part of the ball is below the surface.  So back to the OP, if in his determination any part of the ball was below the hole and his opponent or fellow competitors with him don't disagree it is deemed hole.

Rob Tyska

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Moderator
Posted
2 hours ago, burr said:

Ace - that shot falls if the pin moves, whether removing or straightening.  @Rustuk, please give us details on hole, shot, club, GREAT SHOT !

That's not how the rule is written. It no longer says anything about straightening or removing the pin.

1 hour ago, DaveP043 said:

If I was in your group, I'd have called it an ace, and had a pint on you.

Yes, my opinion might be different if I was in his playing group as well 😉

1 hour ago, Cantankerish said:

I look at that image and I see a ball being propped up by a flag.  That can only happen if it is beyond 50% over the hole.

It's just a ball wedged under a leaning flagstick. Why can that only happen if more the half the ball is in the hole?

1 hour ago, Cantankerish said:

Of course, a simple test would just be to straighten the flag.  The ball will only fall if it is indeed beyond 50% over the hole.

Or if there's a depression on the lip. Pretty clear by the picture that hole does not have a clean lip.

Maybe moving flagstick away causes the ball or oscillate off of a blade of grass just enough to get it to move a millimeter or two and into the hole. There are reasons that ball would move when you move the flagstick other than "it must be holed".

Bill

“By three methods we may learn wisdom: First, by reflection, which is noblest; Second, by imitation, which is easiest; and third by experience, which is the bitterest.” - Confucius

My Swing Thread

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted (edited)
12 hours ago, mcanadiens said:

Isn't the procedure to carefully remove the flag stick and see if it drops? 

It's not good as is, but it looks like it's got a chance to me.

By the way @RustUK, good job getting that ball there. Also, I haven't seen that shade of green in several months now.

I thought that if the flagstick was leaning excessively due to wind or being improperly replaced in the hole, you were allowed to "center" the flagstick in the hole and if the ball fell in, hole in one! 

EDIT: OK, quoted mcanadiens from the first page, and came here and saw Cantankerish's post with a quote of the rule. "If any PART of the ball is in the hole BELOW THE SURFACE OF THE PUTTING GREEN, the ball is treated as holed even if the entire ball is NOT below the surface. 

A plain reading of this says that if even a 1 micron thickness of the ball lies below the surface of the green, the ball is holed. All right! Let's get out our microscopes and micrometers! And what constitutes the surface of the putting green? The top of the grass growing from the soil, or the soil from which the grass is growing! How can these things be determined? 

If the quote is from the New, Improved, SIMPLIFIED rules of golf well, way to simplify things guys! 

Edited by Buckeyebowman
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Moderator
Posted
14 minutes ago, Buckeyebowman said:

I thought that if the flagstick was leaning excessively due to wind or being improperly replaced in the hole, you were allowed to "center" the flagstick in the hole and if the ball fell in, hole in one! 

That was the old rules, the new ones are revised in that regard.

Dave

:callaway: Rogue SubZero Driver

:titleist: 915F 15 Fairway, 816 H1 19 Hybrid, AP2 4 iron to PW, Vokey 52, 56, and 60 wedges, ProV1 balls 
:ping: G5i putter, B60 version
 :ping:Hoofer Bag, complete with Newport Cup logo
:footjoy::true_linkswear:, and Ashworth shoes

the only thing wrong with this car is the nut behind the wheel.

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator
Posted
13 minutes ago, Buckeyebowman said:

I thought that if the flagstick was leaning excessively due to wind or being improperly replaced in the hole, you were allowed to "center" the flagstick in the hole and if the ball fell in, hole in one! 

For the umpteenth time now, no. It’s 2019. The Rules changed.

It is not holed and replacing it on the lip requires a second stroke.

@DaveP043 the definition is at the lip. The “corner” there. If it’s soft, it’s soft and thus lower than it would be otherwise. But it’s that “corner.”

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Moderator
Posted
4 minutes ago, iacas said:

For the umpteenth time now, no. It’s 2019. The Rules changed.

It is not holed and replacing it on the lip requires a second stroke.

@DaveP043 the definition is at the lip. The “corner” there. If it’s soft, it’s soft and thus lower than it would be otherwise. But it’s that “corner.”

I respect your superior knowledge and experience with the rules, but the rules do not make that definition.  The definition of the putting green doesn't provide any clarification.  I am doing my best to read just what the words say, and interpret them accordingly.

Dave

:callaway: Rogue SubZero Driver

:titleist: 915F 15 Fairway, 816 H1 19 Hybrid, AP2 4 iron to PW, Vokey 52, 56, and 60 wedges, ProV1 balls 
:ping: G5i putter, B60 version
 :ping:Hoofer Bag, complete with Newport Cup logo
:footjoy::true_linkswear:, and Ashworth shoes

the only thing wrong with this car is the nut behind the wheel.

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Note: This thread is 2439 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • TST Partners

    PlayBetter
    Golfer's Journal
    ShotScope
    The Stack System
    FitForGolf
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct: Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package.

    Coupon Codes (save 10-20%): "IACAS" for Mevo/Stack/FitForGolf, "IACASPLUS" for Mevo+/Pro Package, and "THESANDTRAP" for ShotScope. 15% off TourStriker (no code).
  • Posts

    • Wordle 1,638 5/6* ⬜⬜🟨⬜🟨 🟨🟩⬜🟩⬜ ⬜🟩🟩🟩🟩 ⬜🟩🟩🟩🟩 🟩🟩🟩🟩🟩
    • Wordle 1,638 3/6 🟨⬜⬜⬜🟨 ⬜⬜🟩🟩🟩 🟩🟩🟩🟩🟩
    • It may not have been block practice, though, is one of the main points here. You may have been serving and from the same place, but you were likely trying to do slightly different things. It seems that would only be blocked practice if you were trying to hit the same exact ball hit to you to the same exact place in the far court. I'm not sure that's as random as if the ball that you're given to hit is at different places, too, but again…
    • I played tennis in college. I thought block practice was great for serves because you were starting the point and  you could easily adjust where you wanted to place the ball based off the same motion. I equate those to tee balls. I despised block practice for groundstrokes once you reached a certain level and your fundamentals were good. To me, hitting a 100 crosscourt backhands in a row was silly because I would never do that in a match. I needed to randomize it by hitting some deep, some angled, all with different speeds and spins. I share that same thought about iron play. Because we seldom hit the same approach shots hole after hole, I prefer to practice irons randomly. 
    • Wordle 1,638 2/6* 🟨⬛🟨🟨🟨 🟩🟩🟩🟩🟩
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.