Jump to content
iacas

Would You Rather…?

201 posts / 10036 viewsLast Reply

Recommended Posts

11 hours ago, ChetlovesMer said:

 Would you rather #7:

1) Be hitting toward a green that is 25 yards wide, but only 5 yards deep? or 

2) Be hitting toward a green that is only 5 yards wide, but 25 yards deep? 

My 7 irons from the fairway over the last two years.

7 in for #1 and 6 in for #2.

7iron.thumb.JPG.19e24d98d16ed36cb648aa7d491b987f.JPG

I'll go with the percentages and say #1.

#2 would probably end up being a guide swing anyway.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Register for free today and you won't see this ad spot again!

13 hours ago, ChetlovesMer said:

You are playing the 18th hole of the final round of your club championship. You are in the fairway, exactly your 7 iron distance from the center of the green. The flag is in the middle of the green. For what ever reason, you ABSOLUTELY have to hit the green to win your championship. 

Would you rather #7:

1) Be hitting toward a green that is 25 yards wide, but only 5 yards deep? or 

2) Be hitting toward a green that is only 5 yards wide, but 25 yards deep? 

I would prefer the wide, shallow green, all other things being equal.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

14 hours ago, ChetlovesMer said:

You are playing the 18th hole of the final round of your club championship. You are in the fairway, exactly your 7 iron distance from the center of the green. The flag is in the middle of the green. For what ever reason, you ABSOLUTELY have to hit the green to win your championship. 

Would you rather #7:

1) Be hitting toward a green that is 25 yards wide, but only 5 yards deep? or 

2) Be hitting toward a green that is only 5 yards wide, but 25 yards deep? 

Really hard to say without knowing about the wind, speed & direction and if there are traps/water short/long vs. right/left.

I will say that with the information available I 'd take #1 - but in reality I'd wake up from the dream and wonder why am I playing for the club championship?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

5 minutes ago, Wally Fairway said:

Really hard to say without knowing about the wind, speed & direction and if there are traps/water short/long vs. right/left.

Even in perfectly calm, no wind situation, with as many or as few traps/water you want surrounding the green, it's still really hard to land and stop the ball within a 5 yard left/right dispersion from a full 7 iron distance.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

14 hours ago, ChetlovesMer said:

You are playing the 18th hole of the final round of your club championship. You are in the fairway, exactly your 7 iron distance from the center of the green. The flag is in the middle of the green. For what ever reason, you ABSOLUTELY have to hit the green to win your championship. 

Would you rather #7:

1) Be hitting toward a green that is 25 yards wide, but only 5 yards deep? or 

2) Be hitting toward a green that is only 5 yards wide, but 25 yards deep? 

Give me the wide green.  My distance dispersion is much less than my lateral dispersion with just about any club...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

14 hours ago, ChetlovesMer said:

You are playing the 18th hole of the final round of your club championship. You are in the fairway, exactly your 7 iron distance from the center of the green. The flag is in the middle of the green. For what ever reason, you ABSOLUTELY have to hit the green to win your championship. 

Would you rather #7:

1) Be hitting toward a green that is 25 yards wide, but only 5 yards deep? or 

2) Be hitting toward a green that is only 5 yards wide, but 25 yards deep? 

#1 all day, no question. If the green is hard enough that I can't stop a 7i within 5 yards, it's probably rolling off the side of the green in #2 case. And my depth dispersion is much tighter than my lateral dispersion for mid and short irons.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

15 hours ago, ChetlovesMer said:

You are playing the 18th hole of the final round of your club championship. You are in the fairway, exactly your 7 iron distance from the center of the green. The flag is in the middle of the green. For what ever reason, you ABSOLUTELY have to hit the green to win your championship. 

Would you rather #7:

1) Be hitting toward a green that is 25 yards wide, but only 5 yards deep? or 

2) Be hitting toward a green that is only 5 yards wide, but 25 yards deep? 

With this being the only information, 1 - 25 yards wide. My miss is an overdraw usually. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

On 11/19/2019 at 9:14 PM, ChetlovesMer said:

You are playing the 18th hole of the final round of your club championship. You are in the fairway, exactly your 7 iron distance from the center of the green. The flag is in the middle of the green. For what ever reason, you ABSOLUTELY have to hit the green to win your championship. 

Would you rather #7:

1) Be hitting toward a green that is 25 yards wide, but only 5 yards deep? or 

2) Be hitting toward a green that is only 5 yards wide, but 25 yards deep? 

1, but 5 x 25 is ridiculously small regardless of how it's oriented.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

1 hour ago, iacas said:

1, but 5 x 25 is ridiculously small regardless of how it's oriented.

Right?  5 yds is less than 2 full size pool tables!  😱

Edited by David in FL

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

7 hours ago, iacas said:

1, but 5 x 25 is ridiculously small regardless of how it's oriented.

Maybe I should I have gone with 10 x 50?
 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

You are playing the 18th hole of the final round of your club championship. You are in the fairway, exactly your 7 iron distance from the center of the green. The flag is in the middle of the green. For what ever reason, you ABSOLUTELY have to hit the green to win your championship. 

Would you rather #7:

1) Be hitting toward a green that is 25 yards wide, but only 5 yards deep?  

2) Be hitting toward a green that is only 5 yards wide, but 25 yards deep? 

 

Given these only 2 options....More often the distance is right but off to the left or right more...….

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

8 hours ago, ChetlovesMer said:

Maybe I should I have gone with 10 x 50?
 

Let's go with 100 x 500.  Then nobody EVER misses a GIR!  😁  But potentially, playing to the middle of the green could give you a 700' putt.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

On 11/22/2019 at 6:23 AM, IowaGreg said:

You are playing the 18th hole of the final round of your club championship. You are in the fairway, exactly your 7 iron distance from the center of the green. The flag is in the middle of the green. For what ever reason, you ABSOLUTELY have to hit the green to win your championship. 

Would you rather #7:

1) Be hitting toward a green that is 25 yards wide, but only 5 yards deep?  

2) Be hitting toward a green that is only 5 yards wide, but 25 yards deep? 

I'd take option 1, ten out of ten times. The distance I hit the ball is much more consistent than my aim from left to right, and the same is true for at least most of the better golfers (and I'd wager most "normal" amateurs as well).

For my 7-iron the vast majority of my shots will fly between 196-203 yards, with only outliers going further or shorter (mostly knockdown shots or punch shots going shorter, only severe wind conditions going further). The same trend applies to my other irons, where there's a clear "average" distance and then you can see most others being shorter (knockdowns and punch shots) with only a couple going further. The only place where it's not clear from my GameGolf data is in the wedges, simply because I don't make full swings with my wedges often enough to create a strong average distance (I almost always do knockdown shots with my wedges).

That said, the margin for error of being only 2.5 yards left or right is very tiny. It's incredibly difficult to get the face angle that precise at 200 yards away, or even 100 yards away for that matter.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Would you rather #8:
Assuming you had unlimited time each day.

Would you rather play 18 holes of golf 6 days per week but only go practice golf once per week? 
Or, would you rather practice golf 6 days per week and only play 18 holes once per week? 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

30 minutes ago, ChetlovesMer said:

Would you rather #8:
Assuming you had unlimited time each day.

Would you rather play 18 holes of golf 6 days per week but only go practice golf once per week? 
Or, would you rather practice golf 6 days per week and only play 18 holes once per week? 

Ultimately, I like to play golf, and I practice so that I can best enjoy my time playing golf, so since I can practice on the course (while "playing"), I'm going to have to go with 18 holes six days a week. Roughly two or three of those times I'd likely use the course to practice, thus subverting the question. 🙂

I respect those who will choose to practice six days a week, and certainly understand those who would say "well, practice costs me $0 or $10, and playing costs me $65, so I'll play once a week." But I'd like to play three days a week, and practice (some on the course) the other four, so I'll do just that. 😄

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

33 minutes ago, ChetlovesMer said:

Would you rather #8:
Assuming you had unlimited time each day.

Would you rather play 18 holes of golf 6 days per week but only go practice golf once per week? 
Or, would you rather practice golf 6 days per week and only play 18 holes once per week? 

Right now I'm in the process of trying to improve my game. I'm actually enjoying the practice. So for me, when I consider everything, I'd practice 6 and play 1 day per week.

3 minutes ago, iacas said:

I'm going to have to go with 18 holes six days a week. Roughly two or three of those times I'd likely use the course to practice, thus subverting the question. 

Hmm... kind of a non-committal commitment. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

7 minutes ago, ChetlovesMer said:

Hmm... kind of a non-committal commitment. 

No, it's answering the question. Practice on the course, the way I practice, is less valuable than time on the range. So I made the best of it while staying within your rules. You didn't say six tournament rounds per week or anything like that.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

50 minutes ago, iacas said:

Ultimately, I like to play golf, and I practice so that I can best enjoy my time playing golf, so since I can practice on the course (while "playing"), I'm going to have to go with 18 holes six days a week. Roughly two or three of those times I'd likely use the course to practice, thus subverting the question. 🙂

I respect those who will choose to practice six days a week, and certainly understand those who would say "well, practice costs me $0 or $10, and playing costs me $65, so I'll play once a week." But I'd like to play three days a week, and practice (some on the course) the other four, so I'll do just that. 😄

You feel the same way I do. I need to practice about twice the amount of time I play, so I’d prob go 1-2 days play/week, then 3-4 days practice. But given the question, I choose practice six days/week. Even if it’s just for 30 mins/day. The question doesn’t say how long you have to practice.

Edited by dagolfer18

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.




×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...