IGNORED

Possible to Take Too Many Lessons?

TussinMan
Note: This thread is 1554 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Took a hiatus but want to get back into golf.

Was thinking about doing weekly lessons for the foreseeable future (I know golf is a complicated game and there's plenty to learn).

Have heard mixed things about lessons. I know the whole "figuring it out on my own" narrative is huge in golf but most of the high level golfers in my area are people that had years of coaching whether it's been through highschool/college or through years of building/practicing through an actual structured coach.

How much is too much ?

I have had a ton of self taught people tell me "you'll develop a natural feel yourself as you practice" or "oh we just read books and watch youtube videos" yet most of these teenage kids at my local course that have 2 years or less of coaching are out-scoring 95% of these people...... (it's like there narrative isn't matching reality).

I'm very green so that's why i'm leaning towards structure. I don't have a consistent plane, swing, grip, and don't really know much about golf besides a few group classes i've done. I know most people do lesson as needed but how does that work in my situation when I have no base skillset ? (I could see lessons monthly if your trying to polish your game but how do you do lessons when you literally do NOT have a game ?). 

• Administrator

I often have people come for lessons every 3-6 weeks. Weekly is really often.

• Like 2
  • Thumbs Up 1

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear: