Jump to content
IGNORED

Embedded Ball Holed?


iacas
 Share

Recommended Posts

47 minutes ago, iacas said:

Given five seconds of thought, more than highly unlikely: almost impossible, given that there's going to be a plastic or metal cup liner in there, preventing any part of the ball from being "inside" the circumference of the hole. No?

First, to confirm, I was only referring to Bonvivant's dashing red ball, the original picture issue is very clear cut as previously discussed.

And as I posted, and you clearly agree, the likelihood is about as remote as remote can be. But on your hole liner point - which I agree plays a role in that very low likelihood - I simply note it doesn't prevent the possibility because: 1)  there is no requirement under the rules for a hole to have a liner and 2) if used, the requirement is that it be sunk at least one inch below the level of the green.

So even just for hypothetical discussion, I think Bonvivant's picture poses interesting rules issues. And questions that the Rules do not or cannot unambiguously answer in their current form are very few and far between.

  • Like 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • 1 month later...
  • Moderator

It looks like it’s touching the flagstick. But doesn’t look like it hit the bottom of the hole. This is from the golf subreddit.

3AB4E543-03BB-4464-AF14-42A650B28B30.jpeg

 

Steve

Kill slow play. Allow walking. Reduce ineffective golf instruction. Use environmentally friendly course maintenance.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

That’s a tough one to decide. If I was in this situation during a round (and I know you can’t do this because it’s a pic), I would’ve centered the flagstick if it wasn’t already. If it dropped, it’s considered holed. If not, then I’d play it from there.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

10 hours ago, nevets88 said:

It looks like it’s touching the flagstick. But doesn’t look like it hit the bottom of the hole. This is from the golf subreddit.

3AB4E543-03BB-4464-AF14-42A650B28B30.jpeg

 

It's not the bottom of the hole that's relevant. If it is not touching the flagstick, is the ball at rest and the entire ball below the surface of the green?

Link to comment
Share on other sites


11 hours ago, dagolfer18 said:

That’s a tough one to decide. If I was in this situation during a round (and I know you can’t do this because it’s a pic), I would’ve centered the flagstick if it wasn’t already. If it dropped, it’s considered holed. If not, then I’d play it from there.

Just for information, this rule changed slightly in 2019, and @Rulesman has given you the current information.  You might want to double-check the definition of "holed" in the current rules, which also refer you to Rule 13.2c for situations where the ball is touching the flagstick.

https://www.usga.org/content/usga/home-page/rules/rules-2019/rules-of-golf/rules-and-interpretations.html#!ruletype=fr&section=rule&rulenum=3&subrulenum=3

Dave

:callaway: Rogue SubZero Driver

:titleist: 915F 15 Fairway, 816 H1 19 Hybrid, AP2 4 iron to PW, Vokey 52, 56, and 60 wedges, ProV1 balls 
:ping: G5i putter, B60 version
 :ping:Hoofer Bag, complete with Newport Cup logo
:footjoy::true_linkswear:, and Ashworth shoes

the only thing wrong with this car is the nut behind the wheel.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator

From the article linked in the first post, again:

Quote

“When dealing with a ball embedded in the side of the hole, we are only concerned with the entire ball being below the surface of the green, even is part of the ball is outside the circumference of the hole,” he wrote in an email. “If the entire ball is below the surface, the ball is holed. If the entire ball is not below the surface, the ball is not holed.”

He added that the “Definition of Holed” section of the rulebook takes precedence. Rule 13.2c, he said, exists for those times the ball is leaning against the flagstick but hasn’t fallen to the bottom of the cup — but isn’t embedded.

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instructor Development, 5 Simple Keys®/Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins • Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 • "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 • Penn-State Behrend Head Coach • • • • • • • • • • :aimpoint: :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | 5SK.com | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • 3 months later...

Hi all,,new to these forums,,

So heres my first post,,,guys at club asking if this is holed or not,,(hope you can see picture).

I suggested rule13.2c...

But we're still discussing said shot.

Cheers

IMG-20200607-WA0002.jpg

Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • Moderator
45 minutes ago, scobo said:

Hi all,,new to these forums,,

So heres my first post,,,guys at club asking if this is holed or not,,(hope you can see picture).

I suggested rule13.2c...

But we're still discussing said shot.

Cheers

IMG-20200607-WA0002.jpg

I moved your post to this thread where we have already discussed the shot in question.

Bill

“By three methods we may learn wisdom: First, by reflection, which is noblest; Second, by imitation, which is easiest; and third by experience, which is the bitterest.” - Confucius

My Swing Thread

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

17 hours ago, scobo said:

Thanks,,and I can see it caused a lot of discussion too,,,,

The previous discussion covered multiple side issues. The original article also had a nice 4 part summary which is all you need.

1. Embedded, not leaning against the flagstick, not fully submerged: NO ACE

2. Embedded, leaning against the flagstick, not fully submerged: NO ACE

3. Embedded, not leaning against the flagstick, fully submerged: YES ACE

4. Not embedded, leaning against the flagstick, fully or partially submerged: YES ACE

Another quirky photo popped up here: 

Of course, two dimensional photos may not give you everything you need to fit the picture into the four categories above. In this case, while the consensus of commentators is ball is not holed, per the interpretation Holed/1 (category 1 or 2 above), I note that depends on whether that ball is actually embedded in ground outside the line of the cup itself. If it merely damaged the ground on the way to being inside the hole cup then it may not remain embedded in the side of the hole. If that is the case, then the ball would be holed if it is touching the flagstick (category 4 above).

I suggest it is a much clearer/easier call if you are on the spot, rather than viewing a photo.

 

Edited by fredf
Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • 2 months later...

Can't find the ruling right now, but I recall a ruling about a large leaf being over a hole and a ball coming to rest on the leaf that is over the hole. If I recall the ruling stated to mark the ball, move the leaf and replace the ball in the hole and consider it holed. 

I know that this is its own case, but certainly on the spectrum of this discussion. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites


4 hours ago, 2bgood-II said:

Can't find the ruling right now, but I recall a ruling about a large leaf being over a hole and a ball coming to rest on the leaf that is over the hole. If I recall the ruling stated to mark the ball, move the leaf and replace the ball in the hole and consider it holed. 

I know that this is its own case, but certainly on the spectrum of this discussion. 

Yes, different situation, and the ruling has changed post Jan 2019. The question was raised again recently - ball overhanging hole but held up from dropping by a stick/leaf or whatever - and has been answered by the R&A and the USGA. This from the USGA facebook page:

United States Golf Association - USGA Michele - when a ball is resting on or against an object overhanging the hole (such as a ball coming to rest against a twig across the hole), the ball is NOT holed unless the Definition of Holed is otherwise met, such as when the ball is also resting against the flagstick with part of the ball below the lip of the hole. Please note, the USGA and R&A jointly write and interpret a single set of Rules that apply to all golfers worldwide and therefore, our answers are the same. Prior to 2019, the answer to this question was addressed with a very specific equity position (that no longer exists). As mentioned above, you may be interested to hear Grant Moir of the R&A discuss this question in this video: 
Link to comment
Share on other sites


For the original picture, if that was in my foursome, that player would be buying drinks. Yes, I am easily swayed. 🤣

Cobra LTDx 9* | Rad Big Tour 15.5* | Rad Tour 18.5* | Titleist U500 4-23* | 718 AP2 5-P | Vokey SM7 50/8* F, 54/10* S, 58/10* S | Scotty Cameron Squareback No. 1 | ProV1  

Link to comment
Share on other sites


22 hours ago, 2bgood-II said:

Can't find the ruling right now, but I recall a ruling about a large leaf being over a hole and a ball coming to rest on the leaf that is over the hole. If I recall the ruling stated to mark the ball, move the leaf and replace the ball in the hole and consider it holed. 

I know that this is its own case, but certainly on the spectrum of this discussion. 

That originates with a situation at my club some years ago when I asked for a ruling from the R&A. At the time the answer was as you post above.

I asked the same question a few weeks ago in the light of the rule changes and was told the ruling has now changed.

"No the answer would be different under today’s Rules.  The old answer used equity which is no longer part of the Rules.

 Just like the ruling with the twig, the same would apply for the leaf.

 Grant actually covered this question in a recent Q&A that he did.  You can see the Q&A here:

 


A special interactive edition of ‘Rules from the Garden: #AskGrant’ will be showcased by The R&A on Friday afternoon.

 The question is at about 12:40 on the above video."

 

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites


Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Unfortunately, your content contains terms that we do not allow. Please edit your content to remove the highlighted words below.
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

 Share



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • Support TST Affiliates

    TourStriker PlaneMate
    Golfer's Journal
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct links for Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package. Save 10% on Mevo with coupon code "IACAS" as well.
  • Posts

  • Today's Birthdays

    1. 65ross
      65ross
      (73 years old)
    2. Billsy
      Billsy
      (54 years old)
    3. Casey 5-Strokes
      Casey 5-Strokes
      (45 years old)
    4. djfajt71
      djfajt71
      (51 years old)
    5. golden_boar
      golden_boar
      (63 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...