IGNORED

Is it possible to play off scratch from 30 in 18 months?

Mjrowe1
Note: This thread is 3047 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Is it possible to go from a 30 to a scratch in 18 months?   

53 members have voted

1. 1. Is it possible to go from a 30 to a scratch in 18 months?

• Yes
    • No

I started playing golf at the beginning of the year and got a Golf Australia handicap of 27.5 in April, I have set myself a goal of getting to scratch in 18 months. 8 months later I have a GA handicap of 13.7. Is my goal possible? Is there anyone out there that has done the same who can give some solid advice?

image.jpeg

That's awesome progress.  Can you make it scratch in 10 months . .sure.  Statistically speaking it's not likely but it depends on your natural talent and you obviously have some.  You're obviously practicing in a way that is effective, too.  If I were you, I wouldn't necessarily worry about making scratch in X number of months . .just keep doing what you're doing until you stop steadily improving.  If you're not already, take a lesson or two . .some people are naturally athletic enough to shoot pretty decently with poor technique but it's limiting to their overall progress.  Good luck!   

• Upvote 3

@Rainmaker pretty much covered it.  It's certainly not very likely, but obviously not impossible.

I especially echo what he said about not worrying about specific numbers, just that you're progressing.  I've improved every year since I started playing again and it's immensely satisfying, even when it's only a stroke or less in a year.  (Overall I've gone from just upwards of 10 to a 5 in about 3 1/2 years of dedicated play and practice.)

Would I like to get to scratch?  Of course.  But I'm not focused on it - I'm focused on getting better.

Good luck!

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades